PDA

View Full Version : Thought you guys would enjoy this read

kokirilink1
04-02-2009, 12:59 PM
Achievement Guides: Boon or Bane (http://www.xboxinsider.net/achievement-guides-boon-or-bane/)

Check it out and leave us some feedback :)

B1GM13
04-02-2009, 01:46 PM
Im So Bane!

KFZ Scrubs
04-02-2009, 01:57 PM
Well guess i'm a boon because i'm not really good with surprises.
Also i'd hate to find out that i did everything in the game except what i was supposed to do to get the achievement. Plus they can help you get those achievements that might be missable... so yeah i like the guides.

OneSweetShannon
04-02-2009, 04:09 PM
I have an appreciation for individuals who put the effort into creating them, and the community for the shared knowledge base. While I don't always use them, I like guides and see nothing wrong with them. Plus, if guides are bad, then discussing the achievements should be considered equally as bad. Every man for himself, you know.

I don't know why the writer would suggest controlling the use of achievement guides by some individuals. Just seemed a wierd comment to me. But he seemingly thinks all 100K+ gs are through cheating as well. So since it's not guides themselves he has a problem with, maybe it's with individuals who have a high score getting even higher scores? That's just kinda lame imo. Other than that, I thought it was an interesting and enjoyable read.

My husband uses guides & walk-throughs consistently for anything that's not a sports game, but I use them less frequently. I like to figure out stuff/find stuff on my own first usually. That being said, I love the roadmaps feature on this site because I will look at a roadmap (when available) to see if there's anything missable or that I should otherwise be aware of before I start a game, particularly a longer one.

Frostylongcat
04-02-2009, 04:26 PM