PDA

View Full Version : Power brick problem

hitman08
06-07-2009, 10:39 AM
Hi, turned my xbox on this morning and the power brick made a loud whirring noise, blew the dust off of it, but it is still very loud, is it broken?

pinksheets
06-07-2009, 10:42 AM
I'm not an electrical expert, but I would probably disconnect it entirely. You can pick up used power bricks at gamestop for like $40. Take a look at your current power brick before you replace it to make sure you get the right one. They'll let you return it if isn't right, though. Only time I've seen them in stores brand new was an Intec one at Game Crazy for $100.

Jethrow
06-07-2009, 11:08 AM
appearently the power bricks light changes color too if its failed. call MS, i remember the one time they were asking me what color the brick would change during certain tests, and when i asked why they told me about the color change

hitman08
06-07-2009, 11:27 AM
The light on the powerbrick still changes to green when i turn on the 360, and it boots up fine, Im just wondering why its making this noise. Thanks for the replies.

CyberSh3ff
06-07-2009, 11:34 AM
make sure the power plug is in properly and that it has enough space to 'breathe'

keep an eye on the colour of the power pack light over the next few days, if it goes red you may need to call microsoft.

hitman08
06-07-2009, 11:42 AM
The 360 and the power brick are on a 3 layer table unit kinda thing, the 360 is on the top shelf and the power brick is on the bottom shelf, i spent an hour and a half this morning sorting out the 1000 wires that are tangled and cleaning the shelves getting rid of the dust, i also cleaned all of the dust off of the power brick, i just remebered that its happened before, and i cleaned the dust off of it and it stopped making the noise, fingers crossed that when i turn it on again the noise will have stopped.

Rowey 94
06-07-2009, 11:51 AM
(Colour Of Light And Syntom's)