PDA

View Full Version : Freezing XBOX 360


Slammin Bran 23
02-21-2006, 02:43 AM
I got my XBOX 360 January 1st...its manufaturing date is 12/13/05...it froze once on January 2nd at 1 am on halo 2 on live when i pressed the guide button and y to go back to the dashboard, i think it froze, but it might have ben taking a long time to go there but im not sure...ever since then its ben fine, so here we are today, at Febuary 20th and it freezes twice on GUN! i have ben playing most of the day to it could be over heating...but its this wood type of thing which is on a glass thing...do i have a faulty 360? am i just playing to long? do all 360 freeze if you play them to long? is it not in a proper fentilated spot, should i put it on the glass peice or the wooden peice? please help...i dont want to send it in or return it...but if i have to should i return it, or send it to MS... i know i should call them put its pretty late and i thought i should get your suggestions...please help...thanks :'(

ianc125
02-21-2006, 02:47 AM
you only have a real problem if it starts to look like this when it freezes


then you have to have it repaired

KMB 316
02-21-2006, 02:47 AM
its probally normal, guide button freezes alot its bugged, oonly worry if it starts freezing like every 10 minutes. but if you dont feel safe call M$

ianc125
02-21-2006, 02:49 AM
i like your change counter KMB :D

KMB 316
02-21-2006, 02:50 AM
i like your change counter KMB :D


hahah well since you can see im saving for my HDTV i started saving change recently, so i decided to make it(i had more i had over 25 dollars in change, but i turned it in for cash) and also my dad always saved pennies and he gave them to me(i had over 80 dollars in pennies lol)

ianc125
02-21-2006, 03:04 AM
thats alot i hope you get your hdtv Im currently using a 42" sony bravia LCD

its lots of fun

Slammin Bran 23
02-21-2006, 03:09 AM
how much was that beauty?

CrakkedOut56
02-21-2006, 03:11 AM
lookin to get a Samsung DLP HDTV....gotta pay off college tho first :'(

ianc125
02-21-2006, 03:14 AM
dont get it we had that tv and the color wheel broke so circuit city gave us a placement then it happened to the replacement so we finally went with the bravia

I'm not sure somewhere around $4000 i think but we got store credit from our broken tv

KMB 316
02-21-2006, 12:14 PM
thats alot i hope you get your hdtv Im currently using a 42" sony bravia LCD

its lots of fun


i hvae a 50 inch sony hdtv but its my parents.

Slammin Bran 23
02-21-2006, 06:01 PM
any other suggestions?

ianc125
02-21-2006, 10:43 PM
yah that bravia is my parents too lol i wish it was my own

the only suggestion i have is lay it horizontally

Slammin Bran 23
02-21-2006, 11:01 PM
it is horizontal

ianc125
02-21-2006, 11:03 PM
i had regular lock ups but thats nothing really to worry about i think even my ipod locks up?

bevan3423
02-22-2006, 04:22 AM
you only have a real problem if it starts to look like this when it freezes

Hey Ianc That kinda happen to me once you dont think anything will happen? It has Froze twice before and once it kinda looked like that.


then you have to have it repaired

Tron
02-22-2006, 05:18 PM
i had the same problem.. it only froze on Halo once, and my screen never looked that way... my full auto (until i returned it) froze on Class A second race everytime... i think it may have to do with the games itself...king kong froze on the same spot so i got another game and then it worked...

ianc125
02-23-2006, 02:43 AM
not really mine was freezing up on every game with / without the harddrive attached then I got the 3 red lights of doom lol anyway i think you should only send it in for repair if it lock ups in under 5 mins everytime your xbox is on, not just once in a while or id send it in if you get the 3 red lights and they dont go away

currenlt my xbox is in texas at their repair center

Eilujin
02-23-2006, 04:03 AM
I would, put it vertical if you have space to do so, if freezing persists I would call M$ and say my console keeps freezing they will get you to do some trouble shooting like checking the date/time/year and then send you a box to send in for repair/replacement.

ianc125
02-23-2006, 08:38 PM
i put pictures of that box in the burning 360 topic ;D

reymundo514
02-24-2006, 11:12 PM
you only have a real problem if it starts to look like this when it freezes


then you have to have it repaired




mine looks like that right now. i'm not happy.

ianc125
02-25-2006, 01:46 AM
Good luck man I also haver a solution I found on the net that might work

first unplug your hard drive and memorycards
then go through the initial setup thing in the settings section
see if your xbox locks up anymore

I didnt find this till after I sent my xbox in for repair but it wont hurt to try
the guy who wrote it said it worked

XBlyndSDragonX
01-19-2013, 06:31 PM
I think mine only freezes if the cache fills, Sometimes with loading saves on curtain games like Skyrim or Fallout NV, I don't have it vertical but I do have the newest slim version so it could be all in the box of there are a few other reasons like it is dirty, I know the old arcade ones had some really bad freezing problems.

Rickmassacre
01-19-2013, 06:35 PM
I think mine only freezes if the cache fills, Sometimes with loading saves on curtain games like Skyrim or Fallout NV, I don't have it vertical but I do have the newest slim version so it could be all in the box of there are a few other reasons like it is dirty, I know the old arcade ones had some really bad freezing problems.

thread is from 2006.
don't re-open. :uzi: