PDA

View Full Version : 120 GB / Data Transfer Kit Question

Fire Mage
12-29-2009, 08:22 PM
Alright, so I've never used one of the transfer kits before, nor ever had a bigger hard drive than the 20 GB that came originally, and I still don't have them yet.

I want to get a 120 GB so I can finally store stuff without having to delete a lot. Guitar Hero / Rock Band songs and a few add-ons to games here and there kill the 20 GB pretty fast. So I wanted to get a new bigger hard drive.

Yet when I was reading about the Data Transfer kit for the 120 GB, it said something about erasing saves, but I'm not sure I read it right.

I have the original 20 GB hard drive, with my profile, all my saves, and all my add-ons on it right now. I want to buy a new 120 GB, then transfer all my 20 GB stuff to my 120 GB. Will this erase saved games I've had on my 20 GB all this time?

If so, I think that's completely ridiculous. But I'm not sure if I read it right.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Logansrun
12-29-2009, 08:31 PM
I think it erases the data on the HD you are transferring from,although I am not to sure.I can not remember when I did it with my 20GB to 60GB.I do know once you have done the transferring you can not transfer back.
When you get your free transferring kit from Microsoft it will have instructions in there explains it all out to you,so don`t worry friend.

CaptainSpanner
12-29-2009, 08:43 PM
I ordered one about a month ago and still havent recieved my cable.
It gets rid off all data from your old HD and puts it on to your 120GB HD.

Fire Mage
12-29-2009, 09:03 PM
Yeah, I know it erases it off the old hard drive and moves to the new one.

But I meant, like saved games, does it erase those in the process? Like they're not carried over to the new drive? Because I thought I read that.

brooks2000
12-29-2009, 09:10 PM
Its not surposed to erase save games, when i did mine no saves were deleted.