PDA

View Full Version : 120 GB Transfer to 250.


vI-Youneek-Iv
01-05-2010, 06:13 AM
I haven't seen anything about this but was wondering if you can transfer Data from a 120 GB to a 250 GB HDD. Any help would be grateful.

Starstrukk X360A
01-05-2010, 06:40 AM
I don't see why you couldn't.

BarbaricGoose
01-05-2010, 06:59 AM
Yes. Yes you can.

Taken from the official Xbox website:

Content can be moved only to a destination disk that is the same size as or larger than the source disk. Also, the content can be moved only one time. For example, the following Xbox 360 Hard Drive pairings enable data transfer from source to (">") destination:

20GB > 20GB
20GB > 60GB
20GB > 120GB
20GB > 250GB
60GB > 60GB
60GB > 120GB
60GB > 250GB
120GB > 120GB
120GB > 250GB
250GB > 250GB

MadVirus
01-05-2010, 10:29 AM
Yes. Yes you can.

Taken from the official Xbox website:


Thanks for the information but is there is a limitation of the copy right games that will be copied or moved to the new 250GB... Because I got alll titles and icon in Strett Fighter 4 and some saved games I do not want to lose them...

Xenization
01-05-2010, 01:58 PM
Sweet Jesus! They are making a 250 GB HDD. It took me years to fill up the 20 GB. I can't imagine what people are doing to fill up the others.

Seany Show
01-05-2010, 02:08 PM
Sweet Jesus! They are making a 250 GB HDD. It took me years to fill up the 20 GB. I can't imagine what people are doing to fill up the others.

I believe these hard drives are currently only on Special Edition consoles, such as the Modern Warfare 2 console. Gives you an extra incentive to purchase a new console.

Link345
01-05-2010, 05:26 PM
Sweet Jesus! They are making a 250 GB HDD. It took me years to fill up the 20 GB. I can't imagine what people are doing to fill up the others.
Having Final Fantasy XI on my harddrive took up most of my space, and then even just a few map packs meant that I couldn't download anything else. Now with the option to install games to the HDD as well, they can fill up PDQ.
That being said, 120GB is doing me rather well so far, and it'll be interesting to see if the 250GB will ever go on sale.
@MadVirus, I don't think there's any sort of limitations on downloads or data on the drive being transferred. When I transferred, I didn't have any sort of problems with data being lost, and I haven't really heard any horror stories.

Infection Ftw
01-05-2010, 05:44 PM
Having Final Fantasy XI on my harddrive took up most of my space, and then even just a few map packs meant that I couldn't download anything else. Now with the option to install games to the HDD as well, they can fill up PDQ.
That being said, 120GB is doing me rather well so far, and it'll be interesting to see if the 250GB will ever go on sale.
@MadVirus, I don't think there's any sort of limitations on downloads or data on the drive being transferred. When I transferred, I didn't have any sort of problems with data being lost, and I haven't really heard any horror stories.

To quote some old post of myself:

http://www.zerogame.nl/xbox-360-hard-disk-250gb-p-143.html (http://www.zerogame.nl/xbox-360-hard-disk-250gb-p-143.html) was looking at play.com and got this advert link.

iKhaotic
01-05-2010, 08:43 PM
Sweet Jesus! They are making a 250 GB HDD. It took me years to fill up the 20 GB. I can't imagine what people are doing to fill up the others.

i have the 60GB that came with my pro. i install games that i currently play often to the HDD so i don't get that annoying loud roar when the 360 reads the games :) an average game is 3-4GB and i usually have anywhere from 3-4 at a time on my HDD. then i have a few DLCs which takes up about 3-4GB. and all the other jazz that's on the HDD takes up another 3ish GB. (themes, updates, profiles, etc.)

vI-Youneek-Iv
01-06-2010, 01:48 AM
I've transferred from 20>120 and now I'm trying to transfer 120>250.

Deviantelf
01-06-2010, 08:18 AM
According to MS you can, and it doesn't matter if you actually bought the Modern Warefare edition or not. I have a friend who thinks it's too much disk and sold it to me cheap (crazy guy! Gimme a hard drive and I can fill it!).

Beforehand I called MS and asked them if that was ok, and the guy said it was fine as long as the hard drive was from Microsoft for Xbox, then everything will transfer and work fine. (no, I'm not holding my breath, but once I get the transfer cable I will post and state how it worked/didn't work). I have some DLC and saved games on my 120GB. I don't care if I have to re-save to HDD for games I have saved on it (instead of listening to the DVD drive take off and land), but they are supposed to transfer to. And I plan on testing the DLC when I'm NOT online to make sure that worked too.

I ordered the cable from MS, since I didn't want to deal with worrying if I'd get a real one on eBay, and at $12.90 US, plus tax, it didn't seem a bad price. They said 2-3 weeks to get it and it was only a few days ago.

jonegomes
01-06-2010, 11:28 AM
I'm also trying to transfer 120 GB to 250 but most of us who perform day to day computing on a PC are most likely to have a Flash Disk or External hard disk as their source of backup or data transfer from one PC to another. And with the Price per GB at its lowest , in today's market, why not have a bigger storage for a cheaper price than it was a few years back right. So you go out happily and buy a 250 GB hard disk, or any other size for that matter. Now when you get home, and first plug in the hard drive and you open My Computer, you are shocked to see that your 250GB hard disk has 232 GB of free space. And your hard disk is brand new and completely EMPTY.

nagal
01-06-2010, 03:57 PM
I transfered all my data from a 120 to a 250 with a transfer kit and there was no problems.. 198gb free :) If i remember right you get 220 from a 250 i think

vI-Youneek-Iv
01-06-2010, 05:29 PM
When I come up to the screen to press "A" to start transferring it won't let me press "A" when I'm doing my 120>250 but when I put in my brothers 20 and try to do 20>250 it would let me.

OILFAN 79
01-07-2010, 11:52 PM
where can i request one of these cables? i looked on xbox.com but couldnt find it

Deviantelf
01-08-2010, 05:24 AM
I called 1-800-4my-xbox (469-9269), I live in the US.

DENAz666
01-08-2010, 05:28 AM
Yeah just give xbox support a call and they'll send you one out. Very easy process, but just beware, the bigger your gamerscore/profile is, the longer it will take. My 120>250 took a couple of hours to do

vI-Youneek-Iv
01-13-2010, 02:04 AM
Can anyone list the stuff you need and do like a step by step instruction or a video on how to do it?

FourChan
01-13-2010, 06:17 AM
My bro just got the kit for his and transferred all his stuff, after Microsoft sent it to the wrong address...then had to reorder it. Took a lot.

iKiddo
01-13-2010, 09:04 AM
Can anyone list the stuff you need and do like a step by step instruction or a video on how to do it?

Step by step that even my mum could follow it.

Leave your HDD in your console.
Attach your NEW HDD (Data going to this one) In to the usb adapter.
Run the disc
Done.

vI-Youneek-Iv
01-14-2010, 08:58 PM
Now it says it's not a valid Xbox 360 Hard Drive when I plug in my 250.

AltruismIsDead
01-14-2010, 09:47 PM
Sweet Jesus! They are making a 250 GB HDD. It took me years to fill up the 20 GB. I can't imagine what people are doing to fill up the others.

I have less than 8 gigs left on my 120gb HD. But that's also because I download every XBLA game demo they release and also have a couple original Xbox titles downloaded and some 360 games on my HDD.

Which reminds me I need to do some cleaning up now. Luckily I don't rip any music to store on my 360, I stream it from my Mac using "Connect360" which saves a ton of space :)

Deviantelf
01-15-2010, 01:47 AM
Step by step that even my mum could follow it.

Leave your HDD in your console.
Attach your NEW HDD (Data going to this one) In to the usb adapter.
Run the disc
Done.

I agree, the program on the disc even shows you a picture of how to hook it up. I just got my cable today (from MS $12.90 plus US tax), took right at 2 weeks, came UPS. Went from 120 to 250.

Works just like my original drive. Everything seems the same, played Oblivion (with DLC... visited DLC dungeon), The Maw (DLC), Fable (DLC). I had heard about having to change licenses on DLC, but I guess that's only if you're changing console (yippee). Everything worked perfect, until I remembered I hadn't plugged my network adapter back in lol. Then it did the update for Oblivion, like when I first played the game, and it only did it once.

My 120 drive had 67.5 GB free and in MS's wonderful guessing of time, it said it would take 3 hours and 33 minutes. It took 2 hours and a couple minutes. 228 GB free before transfer.

PeaceThruWar
01-15-2010, 01:53 AM
I've transferred from 20>120 and now I'm trying to transfer 120>250.

Ah, so the 120GB > 250GB transfer is the second time you've transferred data over from one HDD to another? I already went from 20GB > 120GB when I brought a new HDD on it's own, but since I got an Elite, I've always been unsure whether you can do a second transfer to a new HDD. Thought it wasn't possible until I read something recently on another site. Can't remember the URL though. Can anyone clarify that?

III Steaith III
01-15-2010, 03:15 AM
Whats the point of having a 250 GB HD if u already have a 120 GB HD, my 120GB HD has been well used in the last 2 years, and still has 80 GB left on it

I haven't seen anything about this but was wondering if you can transfer Data from a 120 GB to a 250 GB HDD. Any help would be grateful.

veece16
01-15-2010, 03:21 AM
You'd be suprised. I have a friend that has only 100 GB left on his, although he has every game under the sun.

Deviantelf
01-15-2010, 04:26 AM
Whats the point of having a 250 GB HD if u already have a 120 GB HD, my 120GB HD has been well used in the last 2 years, and still has 80 GB left on it

???

I haven't even had xbox360 long, and filled up the drive half way with a few DLC games/content and a handful of games I like to play regularly. I could easily see filling up 250 without trying much.

I especially like putting games on the hard drive, as the DVD disc reading is loud... reminds me of a dual processor server I had with several fans in it, my friends teased me it sounded like an airplane taking off when I started it... ok, it's not THAT bad... but bad enough.

I figure playing the game from the hard drive will extend the life of the DVD drive, and though I've seen lots of issues with the DVD drives needing replaced, I haven't heard of much issues with the HDDs.

vI-Youneek-Iv
01-15-2010, 10:18 PM
I have 20.3 GB left on my 120, that's why I'm trying to transfer it to 250.

balance13
01-16-2010, 12:03 AM
ok I have some question...

I have a 12 GB hard drive it doesn't say that you can transfer these on MS site is it possible? I want to pick up a 60 GB if possible.
Another question why doesn't MS just sell these transfer kits at stores or when you buy a new hard drive instead of having to order from them?

vI-Youneek-Iv
02-20-2010, 02:25 PM
I'm guessing since it is not valid anymore (my 250 GD HDD all of a sudden) guess I'm going to take it to the shooting range unless I can do something else with it.

dh4645
02-23-2010, 08:19 PM
anyone selling their cable/disc?
i might be going from 20->120 and need the cable

Bubble Supreme
02-23-2010, 11:26 PM
anyone selling their cable/disc?
i might be going from 20->120 and need the cable

That won't work you can only use a cable once to transfer from one HDD to another. If you have one used already and wish to transfer to another HDD it won't work, as in my case. :(

Farsight
02-23-2010, 11:51 PM
The cable doesn't magically know if it's been used before. It's the HD that records that.

Bubble Supreme
02-24-2010, 12:10 AM
The cable doesn't magically know if it's been used before. It's the HD that records that.

Have you been able to re-use a cable then? Along with the CD?

grim0187
02-24-2010, 01:09 AM
I plan on getting the FFXIII special edition console, because I LOVE me some Final Fantasy, and also because of the huge harddrive. I've had a 20 gig for 2 years and still have 4 gigs left. I delete useless crap right when Im done with it.

Saving games to the harddrive is a complete waste of space. With a surround sound system or some decent headphones, you cant hear the 360 at all. Not to mention the loading isnt that much faster.