PDA

View Full Version : Nightwish anyone?

Dark Reality
04-22-2010, 03:07 AM
I know it sounds cheesy, but when I was in high school, I listened to Metallica, but I also liked some classical, and wondered, not being a musician, why a guy like Kirk Hammett couldn't play some Beethoven or something. I thought it would have sounded pretty sweet. I wish somebody would have handed me Nightwish's second album, "Oceanborn", which came out the year I graduated, because that's exactly the sound I was looking for. Though I didn't discover them until late 2003, years later, just before their last album came out before firing their vocalist.

After playing their CDs dozens of times over, I went looking for similar bands. I discovered Within Temptation, and of course, they're alright. I discovered a lot of lesser, forgettable bands. And just recently, Amberian Dawn as they made their way onto the Rock Band Network. I got their CD and it's pretty good. Nightwish (1998-2002) is still my favorite, and listening to the newest stuff, I can't shake the feeling that they're now just another band trying to live up to what Nightwish was around the turn of the century. At least we got three amazing albums and two decent ones, though.

Any other fans?

PHIL 421
04-22-2010, 03:30 AM
Never heard them but a lot of guitarists are classically trained. Kyle Gass of Tenacious D is an awesome guitarist who plays classical.

Dark Reality
04-22-2010, 03:44 AM
Well, here's the first I heard of them. Actually didn't want to get into them at first, there was a Russian guy who wouldn't stop talking about them on a forum I was a member of. But I was going through an AMV (anime music video) phase, and accidentally happened upon one of their songs in a video for Final Fantasy VIII.

Nightwish -- "The End of All Hope" -- Final Fantasy VIII