PDA

View Full Version : Arcade Reset and Medals Lost


Padapolis
04-30-2010, 07:56 PM
I just launched the GFWL Game Room client and it didn't show any of my medals and my arcade was empty. So I turned that off, and turned on my Xbox to launch the Game Room client from there. And now even on my Xbox my medals are gone and my arcade was empty! WTF! :mad:

My excitement and confidence in this product is diminishing rapidly.

Kuefler
05-06-2010, 04:04 PM
I just launched the GFWL Game Room client and it didn't show any of my medals and my arcade was empty. So I turned that off, and turned on my Xbox to launch the Game Room client from there. And now even on my Xbox my medals are gone and my arcade was empty! WTF! :mad:

My excitement and confidence in this product is diminishing rapidly.
This happened to me too, I had all gold....

RudeBoy TK
05-06-2010, 05:01 PM
is this GFWL Game Room client the game for windows pc?

littlejay
05-06-2010, 05:04 PM
gfwl means "games for windows live" so i think that's a yes :p
ps: dont play the windows version anymore if you like medals :p

RudeBoy TK
05-06-2010, 05:11 PM
lucky me my windows cannot open or install windows live :locked haha ive i lost my medals i gonna call ms and ask my money back

SirVexBruzer
05-06-2010, 05:32 PM
I lost all medals and ratings!!! level 10 now 1 an zero gold.

shadaik
05-06-2010, 05:51 PM
The same just happened to me, but without the GFWL client in between. I just downloaded both the mandatory update and Games Pack 03, then all my medals were erased and my Arcade undecorated.
Highscores where still there, though. I'm pissed, especially because of the Time Spender medals, they (obviously, cue the name) take forever.

MACdanstaface
05-06-2010, 06:27 PM
This is really weird. it didn't happen to me, so I'm no expert, but how could a server problem cause all medal to disappear?

When you go in the memory section, and see inside the game room files, there's a my medals/arcade file separate from the game room file, the game packs and the "play anywhere" info. All this data is saved in the HDD. as long as you still have the info, there has to be a way somehow to retrieve it.

SirVexBruzer
05-06-2010, 07:04 PM
There no clear answer for this... and im getting my ass handed to me for talking about it... It might be windows live...it might be servers it might have been temporary. What ever it is i dont like it.

papoose
05-15-2010, 11:59 PM
o god this just happened to me too any news on getting a refund/ fixing the issue? i love game room but this is srlsly bullshit

SirVexBruzer
05-28-2010, 09:17 PM
I tried to tell xbox live the game froze, and then they had me delete all game room on hard drive. Well I lost all medals blah blah. So I had a running dialog for like a week a with upper management telling them all I did was what you told me to do. So what happens? Nothing. "we're sorry".
Yeah me too. Now I won't buy any games OR microsoft points. They couldn't replace my ranking or medals. So i won't support game room, which really bums me out. The customer service from those guys ISN'T.
Oh and the above post. Xbox sells more consoles cause everyones breaks. So take off like 65% from the xbox sold #.

littlejay
05-30-2010, 09:49 PM
they replace most broken systems silly. they dont count those as systems sold

TNTJudbud
06-04-2010, 04:16 PM
This happened to me last night, I had been playing breakout :( in gameroom on the 360 it's so bad I figured id try it on GFWL so I logged in to GFWL / GameRoom asked to update then it failed. I restarted the update, it finished with no issues this time when I started it up I noticed my rank had gone down to rank 2 and lost almost all medals. Some medals where gone only a few where still there current medals only "weird". I figured something was up so I logged out of GFWL and fired up my 360 again only to find out GFWL Update had whipped out most of my medals etc in my 360 GameRoom...

GameRoom should get the :locked

On a funny side note: This is not A Microsoft issues well it is now but it's really the guys & gals that work in "Fortitude Valley" AUSTRALIA @ Krome. File your complaints with Krome http://www.kromestudios.com/company/contactUs.php

Id be willing to put this issue to rest for a decent sized MS points card.....

ShazamFTW
06-12-2010, 04:42 AM
Well, add me to the list of people that just got ravaged by this. It's nice to see as opposed to fixing this issue, they're just letting it go farther and farther.

16+ hours of gameplay, over a dozen games all gold medaled, all gone.

I STRONGLY implore anyone who is considering purchasing this garbage coding of a game to not do so. You simply don't need that level of frustration in your life.

I am so majorly pissed right now, I don't even have the proper verbage to express it.

I truly hope everyone that programmed this dies of gonnorhea within the next 24 hours.

xhunterrrr
06-12-2010, 08:33 AM
Well, add me to the list of people that just got ravaged by this. It's nice to see as opposed to fixing this issue, they're just letting it go farther and farther.

16+ hours of gameplay, over a dozen games all gold medaled, all gone.

I STRONGLY implore anyone who is considering purchasing this garbage coding of a game to not do so. You simply don't need that level of frustration in your life.

I am so majorly pissed right now, I don't even have the proper verbage to express it.

I truly hope everyone that programmed this dies of gonnorhea within the next 24 hours.

Good god, you sound like a giant douche. Just because there is a glitch doesn't mean your world is going to end. Problems happen. They happen in most games. Move on.

ljay6880
06-12-2010, 12:36 PM
Good god, you sound like a giant douche. Just because there is a glitch doesn't mean your world is going to end. Problems happen. They happen in most games. Move on.

I donít usually knock people in a forum, though death by gonorrhea is a little extreme for an "off day" (the bad coding) at work, but I really do understand the frustration and think what you posted is just idiotic. Whether it is gold medals, leader board high scores, or achievements, these are the tools in which we officially track our goals/successes and record what we are passionate about. What if a glitch erased how many balls a man named Babe Ruth was able to hit into the audience? What if a glitch erased how many yards a man named Dan Marino was able to successfully throw in a single season? Would these men shrug it off as a silly glitch, or would they feel a strong injustice has occurred to the passion they have dedicated themselves to? There is a hall of fame, record books, and basically a whole industry to maintain the fairness and dexterity of these accomplishments because enough people feel strongly about that passion. Just because the community is not as big and people disregard the skills necessary to be successful, does not mean that recording and maintaining statistics should be done haphazardly. Though it has not happened to me, it appears that this is not an isolated incident. Therefore, the developers should identify and fix the issue, then find a way to make amends with the affected parties. It just bothers me when someone disregards a personís feelings because they feel the subject at hand is trivial.

xhunterrrr
06-12-2010, 02:47 PM
I donít usually knock people in a forum, though death by gonorrhea is a little extreme for an "off day" (the bad coding) at work, but I really do understand the frustration and think what you posted is just idiotic. Whether it is gold medals, leader board high scores, or achievements, these are the tools in which we officially track our goals/successes and record what we are passionate about. What if a glitch erased how many balls a man named Babe Ruth was able to hit into the audience? What if a glitch erased how many yards a man named Dan Marino was able to successfully throw in a single season? Would these men shrug it off as a silly glitch, or would they feel a strong injustice has occurred to the passion they have dedicated themselves to? There is a hall of fame, record books, and basically a whole industry to maintain the fairness and dexterity of these accomplishments because enough people feel strongly about that passion. Just because the community is not as big and people disregard the skills necessary to be successful, does not mean that recording and maintaining statistics should be done haphazardly. Though it has not happened to me, it appears that this is not an isolated incident. Therefore, the developers should identify and fix the issue, then find a way to make amends with the affected parties. It just bothers me when someone disregards a personís feelings because they feel the subject at hand is trivial.

Hah, comparing Babe Ruth to some random video gamer. Nice.

Reaper ECG
06-24-2010, 02:42 AM
All my medals just got reset and I've never done any thing on GFWL for this game.

ApochWeiss
07-11-2010, 12:56 PM
Yeah, happened to me too. was 42 minutes away from the final time-related achievement, level 19, and had 15 medal points left. My response to this issue through contacting Krome's customer support:

Hello, my 360 gamertag is Apoch Weiss, and I am contacting you about the outrage that is your Game Room product. I have bought a large amount of games for it, mostly due to my OCD causing me to try to obtain 1000 gamerscore on it.

The other night, I was bored at work, and decided to boot up the Game Room for the 360, in which I bought Circus Atari for both Games for Windows Live, as well as Xbox 360 compatable. However, when I got home, I found EVERYTHING had been reset. This includes 35 hours and 22 minutes worth of gaming, all levels, and medals. Due to this glitch, I now have to tack on an ADDITIONAL 36 hours of work to unlock all the achievements, if not more, which greatly angers me as I work full time and rarely get the chance to game while I'm there, as well as run a website and update it on a daily basis, which takes up a good chunk of time, leaving maybe 5 hours a week to play.

I am writing because I feel that I have been cheated by some sort of obvious glitch that should have been obvious from the day it popped up, or at least by Game Pack 6 according to some sites I referenced about this issue. As far as I'm considered, this winds up being an extreme case of False Advertising, especially since you offer the chance to play the games you buy on GFWL and the Xbox 360 arcade, but neglect to mention anywhere that, intentionally or not, you have to lose all your progress. We all only have one chance to live this life, regardless about what your beliefs are, and I simply have no intention to continue buying, supporting, or using this product and games for this unless some kind of compensation for my time and efforts, as well as money sunk into this endeavor, is provided.

Please contact me at the above address as soon as possible, or please contact me at XXXX XXX XXXX with a call back number, as soon as possible so that something can be done about this situation, preferably somehow fixing my profile on Game Room.

Wonder if I'll get a response, as this actually IS false advertising, regardless of whether it's a bug or not. Notification SHOULD have been made, and they had plenty of time to do it, as well as fix it.

thedevilman
07-17-2010, 08:37 AM
Did you ever get a reply ApochWeiss? I had the same thing happen and it's very frustrating. I noticed today when i went on that there was an update. Does anyone happen to know if it addressed this problem?

Capell
07-21-2010, 02:14 AM
Hello,

today all my medals and my arcade got reset :(:(:(

I have the Game Room only on my Xbox never had
it on GFWL :(:(:(

MACdanstaface
07-21-2010, 08:21 AM
Hello,

today all my medals and my arcade got reset :(:(:(

I have the Game Room only on my Xbox never had
it on GFWL :(:(:(

Wierd. I had a similar problem before. If you only played on your xbox 360, you should still have the "my arcade, mdeals..." (something like that) file in your hard drive (inside the game room file). What I did was delete the GR file (not the "my arcade, medals & score" file), and download it again. Then, to be safe, go in your download history and download the games you've already bought one more time.

I don't know if you already tried that, hope it helps

Capell
07-23-2010, 04:17 AM
Wierd. I had a similar problem before. If you only played on your xbox 360, you should still have the "my arcade, mdeals..." (something like that) file in your hard drive (inside the game room file). What I did was delete the GR file (not the "my arcade, medals & score" file), and download it again. Then, to be safe, go in your download history and download the games you've already bought one more time.

I don't know if you already tried that, hope it helps


Thank you for your help:)...but unfortunately it didn't worked :(

psychofox
08-01-2010, 12:54 PM
Same issue for me :(

SirVexBruzer
08-04-2010, 09:48 AM
Well, add me to the list of people that just got ravaged by this. It's nice to see as opposed to fixing this issue, they're just letting it go farther and farther.

16+ hours of gameplay, over a dozen games all gold medaled, all gone.

I STRONGLY implore anyone who is considering purchasing this garbage coding of a game to not do so. You simply don't need that level of frustration in your life.

I am so majorly pissed right now, I don't even have the proper verbage to express it.

I truly hope everyone that programmed this dies of gonnorhea within the next 24 hours.


Im with you bro. Game room sucks and so does the support. I called them and they said "sorry." I don't them I would never buy a Game Room game again and they hung up on me. So I haven't. Nothing like sinking 30 hours into a game and some asshole says I'm a duche for not being all happy about it.

mikeszetec
08-08-2010, 04:58 PM
well i lost everything @ level 20 and got a gamerscore of 980 and back to level 1. but with game pack 008 released I was able to get the last 20g fancy arcade achievement with all the free themes.

gamertag

x mikes zetec x

Kitsune Goth
09-19-2010, 06:39 AM
I had my medals and levels reset. A few times now.

One I know of is to purchase the Game Room arcade games on the Xbox 360 only. Then you go to the PC version and log into with your gamertag. Whoopee your arcade and medals/levels go poof. So avoid that.

OK, so only 24 hours of gaming lost. Now let's invest another 24 plus hours. The original medal count and levels have been surpassed. Yes, marching onto level 17.

Now... Let's log onto Xbox Live, as we know you need to be logged onto live to earn score and survivalist medals. Poof. The arcade is gone and the medals/levels are reset.

What to do? Let's contact Microsoft's Xbox support. Maybe they might know of any suggestions. Their response? Gamer scores are reset to 0 when the player abnormally obtains them by using an external device or programing and avoid playing the game. Etc. etc. etc....

Basically what the Xbox live tech support is stating that we are cheaters. Despite sending 4 replies describing what happened and that achievements are not the issue, the same reply is given. Although it does slow earning achievements when your data gets erased.

Personally I would like to know how many people were affected by the game data loss. I'm considering filing a formal complaint against the tech support for their incompetence and sending it to the corporate office. With the millions unemployed, I'm pretty sure Microsoft can find individuals who can read and appropriately answer a question.

I prefer games that do not play Russian Roulette with your save data. You can only play Break Out so many times before slipping into a vegetative state. Do not forget we are cheaters as determined by Xbox tech support for playing the game.

Eggbert Chunk
09-27-2010, 11:05 AM
This happened to me a few weeks ago, but there is a way to get all your medels back...

If you load up game room offline without the current update, the game room cannot load your profile so has to start from scratch, so you will have no medals and your arcade will be blank.. DO NOT PLAY ANY GAME OR CHANGE YOUR ARCADE IN ANY WAY, otherwise this will create a new profile which will over-right your old one..

Just exit game room, connect your profile to live, and start game room again.. You should get the update (which has your original profile saved with it) screen first. Once this has loaded, game room should open with your original profile as normal..


To sum it up, dont play game room offline without the update, otherwise the game will create a new profile that overrights your original one.. The same thing happens with Gears of War 2..

rdrunr89
12-03-2010, 07:29 PM
This happened to me a few weeks ago, but there is a way to get all your medels back...

If you load up game room offline without the current update, the game room cannot load your profile so has to start from scratch, so you will have no medals and your arcade will be blank.. DO NOT PLAY ANY GAME OR CHANGE YOUR ARCADE IN ANY WAY, otherwise this will create a new profile which will over-right your old one..

Just exit game room, connect your profile to live, and start game room again.. You should get the update (which has your original profile saved with it) screen first. Once this has loaded, game room should open with your original profile as normal..


To sum it up, dont play game room offline without the update, otherwise the game will create a new profile that overrights your original one.. The same thing happens with Gears of War 2..

I cleared cache and was able to get in to the game without the update. I then saw that everything was reset. I went and loaded my profile again and everything was still zero.

nateeasy
12-08-2010, 02:07 AM
Yup all of mine disappeared to. I didnt have a lot but im still disappointed.

G12ES D
01-05-2011, 01:37 AM
Same cleared the memory cache, because my xbox wouldn`t load. lost all medals etc. Contacted xbox support they told me to download everything again and that should fix it. It didn`t.

SevenJesterHats
01-07-2011, 06:24 AM
yep, same thing just happened to me. lost EVERYTHING!
So thats it? u just gotta accept it and start again?
no way to get all them shiny gold medals back? :(

Bones007
03-14-2011, 06:16 PM
Jeez, that sucks.

lonesquiff
03-17-2011, 06:23 AM
This just happened to me today. I was 1pt away from level 16 and wanted to work on my last 3 achvs (lvl 17, lvl 20, and medal mad).

I've only ever played on my console. I do see the save file for medals/arcade but it indicates it was created today...don't know if that's cause of an autosave or what.

In my experience the medal saves aren't tied to a console but rather a profile. There were a couple times (last year) I played Crystal Castles at a friend's house in his GR and the medals I earned were showing up for me just fine.

KnightOfTruth
03-18-2011, 01:16 PM
This just happened to me today. I was 1pt away from level 16 and wanted to work on my last 3 achvs (lvl 17, lvl 20, and medal mad).



Wow, this has got me so paranoid now that this'll happen to me. That stinks that you were so close to it too! It seems like such a waste of time when things like this happen (especially some of those "time spender" medals).

Here's to hoping they come up with a solution that WORKS or a patch that fixes the problem in the first place. I wonder if creating a "backup" of your data on a memory unit would be possible, that way if it gets wiped you could restore it back to your previous backup state?

nakanoalex2009
03-20-2011, 02:17 PM
It happens to me too... I had 42 medals and 16 hours....

Does anyone knows if would be a patch to fix it???

Kenshiro2000
03-21-2011, 09:20 PM
Hope its not still bugged. Really want to start doin some medals

SirVexBruzer
03-25-2011, 01:33 PM
I had this happen to me over a year ago and was livid. Xbox gave me the run around and it's unfortunate to say the least that :uzi:"support" and xbox in general have let one of the best ideas ever become one of the biggest dissapointments ever. I started a thread an it got very heated, in short I thank this site for still givin this community a voice.

Moxarc
03-25-2011, 05:40 PM
Same problem here :(

lonesquiff
03-29-2011, 07:18 PM
After several nightmare customer service calls I finally gave up on Microsoft. Information on here and from the Game Room forum on xboxlive (which by the way can only be found by searching, it has been taken down from the list) suggests that this A) Seems to be consistent with the freeze, unable to quit out issue and B) Chance is greatly increased if played on more than 1 system.

I only played game room on 360 but on several occasions I did play at a friend's house who had games I did not. Fortunately there was still a save file from then so I didn't have to start completely over.

Word to the wise: Backup copy is a necessity for Game Room.

Cringer85
05-01-2011, 11:47 PM
Only played on my xbox360 and only online. Today, it simply reset everything to zero. So much for investing all the time and hard-earned gold medals. but noooo. just you start from scratch and who knows? If I'm lucky this could happen again and again and again...

SpongebobRoundpants
05-13-2011, 01:16 AM
IT SEEMS EVERY FUCKING XBOX 360 GAME/ARCADE HAS SOME GLITCHED MOTHER FUKIN PROBLEM IN IT! Same problem happend to me!!!! Now im stuck at 860G. This game is broken!!!:mad::mad::mad::eek::eek::eek::mad::mad:: mad::(:(:( Srry for the language!!!

The Ultrafiend
05-25-2011, 06:01 PM
Yep, add me to the list. 5 hours away from the 36 hour achievement, 30 points away from Level 20 and now it's all fucking vanished. Everything went tits up since that last update; it was taking 3 or 4 minutes to boot off the title screen and then today, it just froze whenever I tried to get into the arcade.

Started it up offline, went back in and... everything's gone. Wonderful. There needs to be some sort of goddamn refund for this piece of shit. It's not like it's a retail game where you can at least play through the damn thing for fun even if it's glitched. No, do you think I would have spent 240MSP on fucking Centipede for anything other than progress towards an achievement? I can go and play half these goddamn games on a Java client for free but I thought to myself 'Hey, wouldn't it be fun to rack up some points on my gamerscore and play some old school titles?'. Yes it would be, if Game Room was anything other than the fucking debacle it has proved to be.

Ingen Kommentar
05-29-2011, 11:53 AM
Now this shit also happend to me.. jesus man.. it feels like total wasting of my time and money!! well that was 26 Hours ripped out of my life for nothing! oh yes, USE OF MY MONEY!

dd316
06-06-2011, 07:36 PM
Wow, the fist update to Game Room in ages is a glitch that resets everything. Nice.

BROKEN POLYGONS
07-19-2011, 12:31 AM
wow! What a disaster this thing has been

Nonfaith
10-28-2011, 04:28 AM
This happened to me a few weeks ago, but there is a way to get all your medels back...

If you load up game room offline without the current update, the game room cannot load your profile so has to start from scratch, so you will have no medals and your arcade will be blank.. DO NOT PLAY ANY GAME OR CHANGE YOUR ARCADE IN ANY WAY, otherwise this will create a new profile which will over-right your old one..

Just exit game room, connect your profile to live, and start game room again.. You should get the update (which has your original profile saved with it) screen first. Once this has loaded, game room should open with your original profile as normal..


To sum it up, dont play game room offline without the update, otherwise the game will create a new profile that overrights your original one.. The same thing happens with Gears of War 2..

This worked for me. Try this before you give up.

To make the above shorter:

1. Log in to the game offline.
2. Go back to dash at the second start screen.
3. Log into the game online.
4. Should load normally (did for me).
5. Check your profile first. Will take a second to load your medals.

Thanks a ton Eggbert Chuck.

DeadlyBLitZ
11-14-2011, 01:11 AM
Only played on my xbox360 and only online. Today, it simply reset everything to zero. So much for investing all the time and hard-earned gold medals. but noooo. just you start from scratch and who knows? If I'm lucky this could happen again and again and again...


Same here, 2 hours off 36, only 7 medals off 20 of each type. up to level 10. and GONE. i don't know if i want to play this again

furiouslyFruntn
12-01-2011, 01:04 AM
When I loaded Game Room up today, it made me download a 4MB update, so I accepted thinking maybe they're actually doing something with this program. After the update, it gives me the disclaimer that I'm not signed into Live, which I found odd considering it signed me back in after the update as they always do. Then after the load where it brings you to the main menu it tells me that my save data is corrupt and all my medals are gone and gives me an option to start over or return to title screen. Pissed me off pretty good as I was just using the program yesterday to work on some challenges and medals. Tried reloading the program with no luck, looked in the memory section and the save file now has an exclamation point stating that the save file is corrupt.

I was just thinking the other day how I should make a backup of the save file as I do recall reading something about this happening to somebody else, but I never did get around to doing so and now appears that it's too late. Never had this happen to any other of my save files, and after looking at this thread it seems to be a somewhat frequent issue with this program. I'm very disappointed to say the least and don't see myself being motivated enough to start over from scratch as I had some pretty decent progress going towards getting the achievements. I totally regret ever spending any MSP on any of these overpriced games.