PDA

View Full Version : Disc Read Error


bmstinton93
05-06-2010, 02:41 PM
This message comes up loads now. Its done it on BF:BC2, MW2, FIFA 10 and 2010 FIFA World Cup. Has this happened to someone else? It only does it when you start a game as well. Is it the Xbox?

bapae
05-06-2010, 02:43 PM
Ur disk drive might be going bad in your 360.

bmstinton93
05-06-2010, 02:51 PM
Ur disk drive might be going bad in your 360.

yeah i thought the same but im too lazy to try and get it repaired or anything.

SSJ3
05-06-2010, 03:26 PM
yeah i thought the same but im too lazy to try and get it repaired or anything.


After a bit you won't be able to play any games.

mosin360
05-06-2010, 05:13 PM
Yeah, would appear your dvd drive is having issues. You can find a replacement drive on ebay for $35-45. Make sure to buy the exact same type of drive. Open the dvd cases and swap the circuit board and you are good to go.

Rowey 94
05-06-2010, 05:32 PM
Replace the disk drive, 10 minute job if youve got one at the ready :)

sak7395
05-06-2010, 10:23 PM
send it away to microsoft

Burning Karma
05-07-2010, 01:45 AM
Try installing the games to the harddive and see if they play that way.

mickspawn
05-07-2010, 02:07 AM
clean the laser

xI C0uch P0tat0
05-07-2010, 02:21 AM
My disc tray will often say 'open tray' when there is clearly a game in the tray. Recently it has been saying 'play DVD' when there is also clearly a video game in the tray. Is this bad?

PointPlaceWI
05-07-2010, 02:39 AM
My disc tray will often say 'open tray' when there is clearly a game in the tray. Recently it has been saying 'play DVD' when there is also clearly a video game in the tray. Is this bad?

Mine has always done that. I just clean the disc and retry and it usually works. Still no RROD.. yet.

Madfrog0
05-07-2010, 04:15 AM
the lens might be toast

tinkslodey
05-07-2010, 04:27 AM
My disc tray will often say 'open tray' when there is clearly a game in the tray. Recently it has been saying 'play DVD' when there is also clearly a video game in the tray. Is this bad?

Mine has done this since I bought it from a friend. It also RROD on me first time I turned it on. I did the X clamp fix when I first got it and it hasn't RROD since, but disk drive definately needs to be replaced. I think I'm gonna find exact same one and swap the boards. Maybe it'll fix all the "disk read error" messages. Now if only I could get a decent high speed ISP. I'm on my local DSL, but it usually boots me 10 minutes into any MP game.