PDA

View Full Version : Cable Question Regarding the Slim


Frozen x360a
07-09-2010, 04:07 PM
I’m in the UK and I’m buying the Slim next week. I have a HD television just to let you know and I’m super confused with all the cables and what not.

My question is, what’s the difference between the AV Standard Definition Cable (comes with the Slim) and a HDMI cable which you must buy separate.

Also, does the current Xbox 360’s HD cable (one with the switch) fit in with the Slim, because I do have one.

I’m not very technical so please clear answers. Cheers ;)

TsarBlandi
07-09-2010, 04:26 PM
difference between a HD-MI cable and a SD cable =/ ... em the definition, unless you mean the size in which the HDMI cable is a lot smaller than the SD cable which looks like so....

http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:Cw5pdRYkYpsXxM:http://www.adapt-mobile.com/images/products/Xbox360-AV.Cable.JPG

this fits into...

http://z.about.com/d/xbox/1/5/z/F/360back1copy.jpg

where as a HDMI is basically the same but a lot smaller and has the same connection either end... bing...

http://t2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:aan6I9wB4tGsWM:http://www.jdr.com/interact/..%5Cimages%5Cproducts%5CC%5Ccbl-hdmi-mm.jpg

and can go into...

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:YzDbwB5kCK6vOM:http://www.360drives.com/images/xbox360-hdmi.jpg(these are just to show u the ports, not from the new slim)

The HDMI cable can be of any variant, i.e. doesnt have to be the microsoft one, i picked mine up at my local supermarket for 10 (sainsburys), it IS DEFINATELY worth the extra quality if you have a HD tv especially for a tenner

if i missed the point, say, and ill try my best to answer x)

Ryot Control
07-09-2010, 04:38 PM
The quick answer is that you need the HDMI cable to play in HD 720p, 1080i and 1080p.

The Standard AV cables is just a RGB cable that lets you play at 420p. It will look like regular tv, or like you're playing a wii.

Also, all older AV cables will fit, so your AV HDMI cable will work, just make sure to switch it to HDMI.

Frozen x360a
07-09-2010, 05:04 PM
Right ok I think I understand, it says on my current cable its a COMPONENT HD/AV CABLE so I'm guessing that's the same as HDMI?..which should fit in the Slim, If so that will be my problem sorted right there..and whats all this 720p, 1080i etc?..because I think my television plays on 480p but its still HD. Will that be an issue? Otherwise thanks a lot guys and I sorry if I'm chatting complete pants.

TsarBlandi
07-09-2010, 05:05 PM
if your tv is HD it will be able to play 720p (this is the resolution) basically the higher res = higher quality, if you connect via the HD port then it should automatically be the highest resolution possible

to the component hd/ av cable question - the component cable is the same as the HDMI except rather than using the HDMI port it uses a couple other connecters much like the red yellow and white scart, i think its red, blue, white and green, another one if im not mistaken but i cant remember. The standard av cable is not the same, it uses a lower resolution

Component :

http://cegdirect.com/store2/images/Microsoft%20Xbox%20360%20Component%20HD%20AV%20Cab le.jpg

EDIT: i just looked at the back of one...

The component hd / av cable / hdmi all WILL fit, just plug it in, and upon first setup it will detect your tv's resolution and play the max possible, like Fighterspledge has mentioned, the HDMI cable can play up to 1080p where as the standard AV cable can play up to 480p, not sure about the component HD

Frozen x360a
07-09-2010, 05:09 PM
if your tv is HD it will be able to play 720p (this is the resolution) basically the higher res = higher quality, if you connect via the HD port then it should automatically be the highest resolution possible

to the component hd/ av cable question - the component cable is the same as the HDMI except rather than using the HDMI port it uses a couple other connecters much like the red yellow and white scart, i think its red, blue, white and green, another one if im not mistaken but i cant remember. The standard av cable is not the same, it uses a lower resolution

Component :

http://cegdirect.com/store2/images/Microsoft%20Xbox%20360%20Component%20HD%20AV%20Cab le.jpg

Yes! this is the exact same cable I have, I have to connect all of them in except the yellow one for some reason, otherwisre yes I'm completely clear now thanks, I don't need a HDMI ill just use this on my Slim. Thanks again mate.

TsarBlandi
07-09-2010, 05:13 PM
np, have fun with ur new Xbox x) i think i might get one soon

Frozen x360a
07-09-2010, 06:17 PM
np, have fun with ur new Xbox x) i think i might get one soon

Cheers and well I wouldn't waste money on it if your current xbox is fine, I'm only buying one because my pro got the RRoD :mad:

Sidereal
07-09-2010, 07:55 PM
Just to reiterate..

Composite cables are what standard A/V cables are. Red and White for Audio, Yellow for Video.

Component cables are HD A/V cables, Red, Blue, and Green for Video. This is why you had to use all the cables except for Yellow.

Component cables can carry 480i, 480p, 576i, 576p, 720i, 720p, 1080i, and 1080p signals.

HDMI forgoes all of those, putting both video and audio in the same port while still offering HD quality sound and picture.

I prefer HDMI myself, as I don't much care for using Red/White for Audio and then using Red/Blue/Green for video.

HDMI and Component aren't the same thing, but they serve the same purpose. HDMI is Digital, whereas component is analogue. This more than likely won't affect you in any way, so it isn't that important for what you're needing.

Damage
07-09-2010, 09:11 PM
HDMI also allow you to do some cool stuff, like it can auto-detect the optimum input setting. With a PC a TV can actually identify what model and resolution it is. It can also provide up to 7.1 Surround Sound.

As they retail for as little as 1 on the net or 3 in stores. I think its a better idea. As I mentioned many moons ago, is they not something about a HDMI allows up-scaling of DVDs and something to do with wide-screen @ 1080p also springs to mind.

Jethrow
07-10-2010, 11:32 AM
yes you can use your hd cable you got with your 360 v1, on this new 360 slim

MachineZed
07-10-2010, 02:10 PM
First off your TV/Monitor tells your Xbox or computer what resolution it can display. From there the xbox or computer sends the signal of the video and what resolution to use to the TV/Monitor.
It doesn't matter how you have your xbox connected. Component, composite, VGA, HDMI, or the rare DVI. They can all send the signal for HD. From there it the differences, are how the signals are split. Component does not split anything as a result sends the worst signal, composite splits the signal into 3 connectors and gives a better signal, VGA gives an even better signal by splitting to 15 pins. All 3 are analog signals.
HDMI or DVI I am not sure how it gets split but it sends the signal in digital, and it is believed get the best quality

Frozen x360a
07-10-2010, 11:02 PM
I'm learning a lot of here lol ok cool but I think I won't bother with A HDMI cable for now as I don't really need one.

Fullbrook
07-10-2010, 11:49 PM
This more than likely won't affect you in any way, so it isn't that important for what you're needing.

Chances are it won't, but if that's what you have been using before, then it shouldn't change anything now.

The only thing I wanted to mention.

I had problems with rockband and GH using the Composite HD. No matter how much I tinkered with the setup ingame, I could NEVER make the timing perfect. You don't notice on lower settings but I could on expert.
But with my HDMI cable, it worked just fine without tinkering.

Just a thought. But it probably doesn't happen to everyone, and if you have been playing just fine, it shouldn't matter.