PDA

View Full Version : Need a little help setting up my account...

stratguy620
07-19-2010, 08:18 PM
So I tried setting up my Live account today. When I got to the section asking me to set up my Gamertag, I tried using the same name that I had been using for my profile (I've been playing offline for a year or so with that profile). It told me that the profile name already existed on my XBOX, and asked if I wanted to replace it. A friend of mine told me not to, as it would erase all my achievements and junk, so I just made up a different name.

So now I have 2 profiles on my XBOX...the old one I used offline with all my Gamer points, and the one hooked up to Live, with no kind of history on it. Is there any way to combine the two, or a way that I can use Live with the old profile? Sorry if this is confusing...like I said, I just set it up now and I'm pretty new to it...

EmporerDragon
07-19-2010, 08:22 PM
No, you do not lose all achievements when you turn an offline profile into an online one. The only thing you lose is your old name.

As for merging the two profiles, it can't be done.

stratguy620
07-19-2010, 08:30 PM
Ok...well if that's the case what do I do now? Would I have to get all my achievements over again on the online profile in order for them to show on my live account?

EmporerDragon
07-19-2010, 08:32 PM
Ok...well if that's the case what do I do now? Would I have to get all my achievements over again on the online profile in order for them to show on my live account?

That, or turn your offline profile into a live account and use that one instead.

stratguy620
07-19-2010, 08:37 PM
Will they charge me again if I try to do that? Sorry, like I said, I'm new at this...:confused:

gamerguy69
07-19-2010, 08:41 PM
That, or turn your offline profile into a live account and use that one instead.

This.

Just sign in to that Profile and look for the "Join Xbox LIVE" link. There was no need to create a new profile in the first place.