PDA

View Full Version : I Need Help With the Bioshock Series

LickableLemons7
09-27-2010, 12:36 AM
I'm a noob with Bioshock, and I'm having trouble deciding to buy 1 and 2 or not. I think I can get Bio 1 cheap at gamestop, around $20 or so. I heard Bio 1 was a very outstanding game, and 2 was a little bit worse(my friend's opinion). Can someone try to fill me in on what's going on? I know that the first two take place in some underwater city, Raptar, I think. I'd like to get some more info on these games, cuz they seem interesting, and I'd love to give them a try before Infinite comes out. But I still have quite some time, right?:p I'd love to hear some opinions on these games.

Edit: 11/11/12

It's been over two years since I posted the above. I've never finished Bioshock on my Live profile, but I've finished it when I was vacationing with a friend over a year ago. I found it underwhelming and predictable in terms of the plot. I've seen too many movies and read too many books to know what could happen. And no, I didn't get the story spoiled for me before I played the game.

However, Rapture is one of the best damned gaming worlds I've ever wasted my time in. The underwater setting is something I've never experienced before. I'll admit, I don't feel like playing through the story again, but I have a used copy from GameStop that I bought for $5 dollars, and I boot it up from time to time just to watch the opening and stare through windows and watch fish swim by.

Rapture is really great, as is the wild west in Red Dead Redemption, or the nuclear wastelands of Fallout 3. Really unique. I still get a stupid kick out of the game. And I'm looking forward to Bioshock Infinite. In game character interaction with Elizabeth and Booker looks and sounds flawless. I've preordered the premium edition, but I'm debating as to whether or not I should just switch to the Ultimate Songbird edition. I want to have money for Aliens: Colonial Marines, GTA V, and Watchdogs too.