PDA

View Full Version : Good ethernet cable?


D Phillips Xx
09-29-2010, 04:10 PM
i ordered an ethernet cable ( fist 1 ive had )

can any 1 say if my bandwith and connection will improve like it says?

30M Cat5e Shielded Network Cable, 30 Metre, FTP, Grey: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

RYARNI
09-29-2010, 04:25 PM
Jeez man youve literally posted about 10 topics on ethernet cables on fifa 11 and Halo Reach forums. What gives?

Answer: this is mildy better than a close wireless router to your xbox, if your connection if rubbish it wont make much difference. Do a speedtest.net

D Phillips Xx
09-30-2010, 12:46 AM
yh ok soz m8, jw this might be a stupid question but when i put the ethernet cable into router and xbox how do i set it up on xbox or is it automatic?

like what will stop it just connecting to wireless like before?

plz let me know

what do i have to do?

cpr
09-30-2010, 02:14 AM
yh ok soz m8, jw this might be a stupid question but when i put the ethernet cable into router and xbox how do i set it up on xbox or is it automatic?

like what will stop it just connecting to wireless like before?

plz let me know

what do i have to do?

Didn't you get an ethernet cable with the 360? (I can't remember I bought it a while ago) I just use the cheapest ones I can. I don't think it really makes THAT much difference to your connection although I could be wrong...


it should automatically use the wired connection once its all plugged in, but if it doesn't you'll just have to go to Settings > System Settings > Network Settings and set it to wired connection.

vithzeral
09-30-2010, 03:26 AM
It plugs in the same place as your wireless adapter so you will only be using the wired connection. It should detect everything automatically, at least it does for me.

D Phillips Xx
09-30-2010, 03:29 AM
cheers i got new slim xbox so its bulit in wireless

so u think i dont have to set it up?