PDA

View Full Version : Higher difficulty is easier

defiant4eva
10-05-2010, 03:12 PM
Has anyone noticed the higher the difficulty the easier it seems to get.
I started my first year in a Lotus on easy with all assists, as am not the best at car games.

About halfway through I moved to medium, as it was boring and no challenge finishing first all the time. I noticed a big diffrence in the difficulty, it was easier. I put it down to manual braking and getting use to the game.

So now on my second season I moved it to Hard for more of a challenge. I just posted a 1:14:576 on prime tires at montreal and the AI was 5.6 sec slower than my time.

Has anyone else noticed this?

BrassBallz
10-05-2010, 03:59 PM
I am a racing veteran and I race with custom settings.

7-year Career / Lotus Starting Team
Manual shift, ABS, Medium Traction, Intermediate AI, Sim Tires & Fuel

With these settings, and I am a very good racer, I found it difficult to place higher than 4th with average finish of 4th-8th. Really, it's the AI settings that seem to make the biggest difference. Oh, and I never use Flashbacks.

defiant4eva
10-05-2010, 04:49 PM
The AI difficulty on Hard is professional, that is one step up on intermadiate.

So why on easy am I .5 secs quicker than AI, on medium 1.5 secs quicker and on hard around 3.5-5.3 secs quicker. At this rate by the time I get to expert which is legend AI, I will be 6-7 secs quicker.

I can only think the game reduces the AI lap speed, too balance of the reduced assists you are allowed.

vithzeral
10-05-2010, 11:07 PM
I think you are not changing the AI difficulty; its a separate setting in the menu so even though you are putting the assists on "Hard" the AI is probably still set to Amateur.

Shelton
10-06-2010, 01:32 AM
I would like to point out that the AI are better at some tracks than others. At Montreal, they're easy beats. At Catalunya, they are unbelievable. Win at Catalunya on expert, then you can complain.