PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a good quality modem-router


Andr0077
10-12-2010, 09:45 AM
I'm sure the term 'Strict' Nat sends shivers down a lot of X-box gamer's backs, I normally have to mess around with port-forwarding to get online.
With three consoles in the house connected to Live, the limits of port-forwarding are apparent, only one console gets the 'open' setting.
So, I'm after a new broadband router, but which one? Are there any that are notably Xbox Live friendly without hindering the performance to other connected devices?
Surely this is an issue that others have faced?

stucazedmacca
10-12-2010, 10:16 AM
you dont say where you live?

so.. http://www.dabs.com/category/networking,routers-and-switches/11302

Andr0077
10-12-2010, 10:48 AM
you dont say where you live?

so.. http://www.dabs.com/category/networking,routers-and-switches/11302

Thanks for the link, Any particular suggestions from these?

In the UK and using a BT line btw.

mitchcraft1980
10-12-2010, 05:09 PM
Belkin is good for BT but it can be a bit of a turd to set up at times but its really good for port forwarding for each appliance you have connecting to the net . And of course CISCO is the dogs balls of all routers but expect to spend at least 150 upwards for a cisco but believe me they are 5 star

Pez
10-12-2010, 05:17 PM
And of course CISCO is the dogs balls of all routers but expect to spend at least 150 upwards for a cisco but believe me they are 5 star

Cisco now own Linksys so I'd suggest looking into them as they're a bit more household friendly than Cisco's original products.

mitchcraft1980
10-12-2010, 05:39 PM
yeah they are a good branch of the cisco and a little cheaper too, i had the wireless G which was really good but a bit outdated now.

Something else to think of is the range of all wireless appliances when buying a router for instance we went for a wireless n which is wide enough to go through the house but if we had say an out house we would of needed a stronger signal so keep that in mind when buying

mitchcraft1980
10-12-2010, 05:41 PM
can i ask where in the UK are you because you might be able to get better than just standard broadband

try this site for a speed test also http://www.speedtest.net/

and try here for BT INFINITY http://www.productsandservices.bt.com/consumerProducts/displayTopic.do?topicId=25795&s_cid=con_FURL_broadband/faster

just follow the instructions and you might be able to get fibre optic and then you are laughing ;)

Andr0077
10-13-2010, 09:39 AM
can i ask where in the UK are you because you might be able to get better than just standard broadband

try this site for a speed test also http://www.speedtest.net/

and try here for BT INFINITY http://www.productsandservices.bt.com/consumerProducts/displayTopic.do?topicId=25795&s_cid=con_FURL_broadband/faster

just follow the instructions and you might be able to get fibre optic and then you are laughing ;)

Yeah that would be pretty sweet, but not for me, not yet, as I'm in a semi-rural part of the country. Hopes are high that because third parties can now upgrade BT lines something might improve quality wise. I also heard of plans to use sewage pipes to lay new fibre-optic cables which might be interesting!

Andr0077
10-13-2010, 09:41 AM
I did have a linksys router which cost roughly 30-40. Lasted a while but was prone to overheating.
Frustratingly I seem to have found plenty of cable routers which are recommended for Windows Live, but no ADSL modem/routers :\

mitchcraft1980
10-13-2010, 01:43 PM
you could get one of the more expensive linksys routers , mine lasted years until i got drunk and spilt beer on it lmao

Pez
10-13-2010, 05:45 PM
Check out this one:

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/191547

I have the WAG160N which I assume is a step up from that one but I've no idea how Linksys structure their build numbers. The only problem is, if you find it a problem anyways, they expect you to know what they mean in the settings. In other words expect to see a lot of technical jargon during setup.

Alyx
10-13-2010, 07:13 PM
If you really getting at it, get one of these: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps9926/index.html

I got the exact same one and it works great.