PDA

View Full Version : Keyboard On PC


jajaguy14
11-02-2010, 07:29 AM
Does anyone know a way I could use my keyboard on a MIDI program, or just play it on my PC. I have a wireless receiver, so I can already sync my keyboard with my computer. I just have no clue how to accomplish this. Curious... THANKS!

Shaynringan
11-02-2010, 03:53 PM
Howdy, just want to clarify, you want to use the RB3 keyboard on your PC just to use it as an instrument for non RB functions, right?

NathAttack
11-02-2010, 05:29 PM
Howdy, just want to clarify, you want to use the RB3 keyboard on your PC just to use it as an instrument for non RB functions, right?

If you want to use it as a MIDI device for your PC, you will need a MIDI to USB cable/interface.

Something that looks like this (http://cdn.dealsdirect.net/m/products/148/21148/1/product1_21148.jpg?file=USB+Midi+Cable+Connection) should do the trick. Just run a few searches for "USB to MIDI cable".

Shaynringan
11-02-2010, 08:40 PM
NathAttack is exactly correct, right there.

There is an appropriate outlet on the right hand side of the keyboard controller. I use a similar cable for my Sony keyboard to interface with my PC.

Stufin135
11-03-2010, 12:57 PM
Would anyone know if the MIDI drum tuner USB lead will work that was given out for the Guitar Hero Drums?

Moogourou
11-05-2010, 03:16 PM
Would anyone know if the MIDI drum tuner USB lead will work that was given out for the Guitar Hero Drums?
I read that it does but I can't make it work with it. And the driver for this cable can't be found anymore since Red Octane is closed...

Something I'm wondering is : do I have to turn on the keyboard to make it work ? Because it also turns on my Xbox...

weedyleopard
11-10-2010, 02:34 PM
Ha really...

Just un-sink it and badda bang badda boom.
If you cant unsink it then sink it with a freinds xbox =]

Let the "ha Really" not make anyone mad. Im naturally sarcastic

BarnesyJr48
11-11-2010, 05:01 PM
In regards to the OP
Yes, you can make it work, I've just done it through my PC working in a version of Cubase. As someone already mentioned, you do need a MIDI to USB cable to do so, I'm sure somewhere like ebuyer will sell them. I already had one for another MIDI keyboard I have though, so I'm not sure.
And yes, you do need to turn on the keyboard to get going, but once you have it connected, it should switch from the Quadrant lights to the red LEDs under it. Bit annoying that it'll turn on your xbox at the same time, but not the end of the world, surely?