PDA

View Full Version : playing files off an external hd

Nanbag
03-29-2011, 04:06 PM
hi,

so ive been using the same method for several years now to convert mkv files to the compatible mp4 to play on my xbox. however recently my xbox has been throwing up error codes left right an centre when i play files which i know work fine.

im just wondering whether MS have changed something, or whether its cos im testing the converted files on my shitty tv i have on my desk before i move everything to HD tele in the front room.

my friend suggested some larger files 4gb+ wouldnt play on the standard scart lead and therefore not having an hdmi cable connected is giving me the error because the scart lead cant handle the high bitrates. is there any truth in that?

any other ideas thoughts?

Boylin
03-29-2011, 04:15 PM
Files over 4GB won't work because the FAT32 file system doesn't support them.
Try splitting them, it should work then.

SolusGhost
03-29-2011, 06:49 PM
yeah above poster is completely right- fat32 does not support 4gb+ files.

Nanbag
03-29-2011, 11:13 PM
true but i have a mac formatted hfs+ which does support 4gb+. ive played a 6gb file off it fine before without any probs

Boylin
03-30-2011, 07:17 AM
true but i have a mac formatted hfs+ which does support 4gb+. ive played a 6gb file off it fine before without any probs

That's kind of important information.

It's nothing to do with the SCART lead, only thing I can think of is that you didn't encoded them with a supported profile or have used an unsupported audio codec.

Nanbag
03-30-2011, 11:45 AM
sorry i thought it was implied after i mentioned i had them on the xbox considering FAT32 wont even let you put 4gb+ files on the drive in the first place.

It's nothing to do with the SCART lead, only thing I can think of is that you didn't encoded them with a supported profile or have used an unsupported audio codec.