PDA

View Full Version : Warning signs that my Xbox is about to die

JAW LV
06-13-2011, 05:23 PM
I've owned my Xbox for a little over 2 years now, and I've only had one so I have no experience with replacing Xbox's. Recently my Xbox started being louder then normal. Also, when I push the physical eject button on the Xbox itself the tray won't open the first time... however if I choose to eject from the Xbox dashboard I don't have this problem.

Are these warning signs that my Xbox is about to kick the bucket? Other then the two problems mentioned above, there is nothing else wrong at this time.

niko da bos
06-13-2011, 06:58 PM
the noise problem is fairly common id say, it could be a sign that the xbox is going downhill, but you couldnt say for sure. i actually have had this issue with my last xbox aswell (and now my current one is starting to get louder than id like). i would say maybe get a good intercooler, but my last box ended up just getting louder when i bought one :(

the game tray was actually the reason my first xbox died, the dashboard would always read 'open tray' after trying to read the game for a couple minutes. basically the tray goofed because i pushed it in manually instead of using the controller or button on the box :/. also moving the xbox with a game inside can mess up the tray.

briht2000
06-13-2011, 07:09 PM
Intercooler's actually have a history of reducing the xbox 360's life and value especially if you purchase an original one. Remember, if your buying an intercooler make sure it has its own power source and not one that that relies heavily on the xbox 360's power.

bblcreator8790
06-13-2011, 07:11 PM
That certainly is not a good sign, although it does not gurantee that it will die anytime soon, you might be able to last another year with it, maybe only another month.