PDA

View Full Version : Transfer cable for slim to slim?


Nighthawk1024
07-01-2011, 08:32 PM
I currently have the new Xbox 360 slim but when I purchase the Gears 3 console how will I transfer all my saves? To my knowledge there's only one transfer cable and it only works from the old Xbox 360 to the new slim but you can't do slim to slim. Any information would be helpful thanks.

dementedtheclown
07-01-2011, 08:46 PM
Just take out the hard drive and put it in the new one?

HoraceVanBasten
07-01-2011, 08:49 PM
Can't you just swap the two hard drives?

Chaosx721
07-01-2011, 08:49 PM
Yea the transfer cable doesn't works slim to slim. You can use a flash drive to transfer saves, or just swap out the hard drives.

Nighthawk1024
07-01-2011, 09:17 PM
Well I have 114 GB of room left and I would like to use the bigger HDD. I only have a 2 GB flash drive at the moment so that wouldn't help lol. I'm just hoping Microsoft produces a transfer cable for the new HDD.

Minty
07-01-2011, 09:24 PM
The transfer cable should work. It will let you go from a smaller HD to a larger one. 250 gb is smaller than 320, so it should work. And fairly sure if it doesn't, they'll have come up with something by release.

Veedrock
07-01-2011, 10:16 PM
Minty, the way the cable is designed is to have an old style hard drive plugged directly into it. Newer hard drives won't fit on the cable (unless he takes the case apart and connects it manually maybe?).

If you happen to have an old style 250GB hard drive, you can use the transfer cable to move your data to that hard drive, then do a second transfer to the new Xbox. Only solution I can think of without a newer cable.

gamerguy69
07-01-2011, 11:40 PM
Well I have 114 GB of room left and I would like to use the bigger HDD. I only have a 2 GB flash drive at the moment so that wouldn't help lol. I'm just hoping Microsoft produces a transfer cable for the new HDD.

Get an 8 or 16GB flash drive.

I used a transfer cable recently but also have an 8GB flash drive. If you go piece by piece starting with your most played games it really shouldn't take too long to transfer all of your data over to the newer console.

The key to this is leaving your Gamer Profile on the USB drive. That will allow you to swap it between consoles.

Connect to old console. Pick up a few games saves or data.

Connect to new console. Move the data onto the HDD.

Repeat as desired.

*When browsing the HDD memory, highlighting the games section will give you an option to Select Y for each title. That moves a games entire content rather than dividing it up into saves, DLC, etc.

Nighthawk1024
07-02-2011, 12:22 AM
Where's the best place to buy a flash drive at a cheap price? New egg maybe?

Worhammer
07-02-2011, 10:57 PM
Newegg or ebay, yup.

EMP
07-03-2011, 12:59 AM
Can't you just take the hard drive out and then do the transfer like a normal one?

gamerguy69
07-03-2011, 02:40 AM
Can't you just take the hard drive out and then do the transfer like a normal one?

The Gears of War console has a bigger HDD (320GB) so he would want to keep that one.

EMP
07-03-2011, 02:46 AM
The Gears of War console has a bigger HDD (320GB) so he would want to keep that one.

Yea I mean take the hard drive out the 250GB and doing the normal transfer onto the 320GB

Veedrock
07-03-2011, 02:47 AM
Yea I mean take the hard drive out the 250GB and doing the normal transfer onto the 320GB

There isn't a way to do that. The newer hard drives can't connect to the current transfer cables.

EMP
07-03-2011, 02:50 AM
There isn't a way to do that. The newer hard drives can't connect to the current transfer cables.

Oh, didn't know that I never tried removing my hard drive from my slim oh well... No way my 250 will ever be full.

spyder2g
07-03-2011, 03:22 AM
I'd really be surprised if Microsoft doesn't come up with something around release time. Remember, you can always call Xbox customer support :) Way back when that was the only way to get a transfer cable.

Fueled By RC
07-03-2011, 07:09 AM
Since this is already here. I am now saddened that the Transfer cable doesn't work. I am getting the Gears of War 360 and it's a 320GB, I have a slim. So, I'll have to keep the same amount of storage or, lose all my saves. Damn.

Worhammer
07-03-2011, 10:08 PM
If you have an old hard drive you can do it that way. You can also do it via USB stick at 16GB a shot, but that would take forever.

CyberPunch83
07-04-2011, 01:03 AM
The size of the USB used to transfer doesn't really matter, seeing as you have to transfer every file one at a time from HDD to USB, then from USB to HDD #2. Your best bet if you can would be to just swap the HDD itself over. If not, prepare for fun afternoon of file transferring.

gamerguy69
07-04-2011, 02:18 AM
The size of the USB used to transfer doesn't really matter, seeing as you have to transfer every file one at a time from HDD to USB, then from USB to HDD #2. Your best bet if you can would be to just swap the HDD itself over. If not, prepare for fun afternoon of file transferring.

You're kidding, right? :confused:

I've easily carried multiple game saves on a single USB drive and there was room to spare.

SteveDGamer
07-04-2011, 02:42 AM
Yea the transfer cable doesn't works slim to slim. You can use a flash drive to transfer saves, or just swap out the hard drives.

Beat me to it ----

What he said x_x

Dorn
07-10-2011, 11:08 AM
i to am curious about this as i have the gears console on order

was wondering if something like this would work

http://www.dinodirect.com/data-transfer-cable-xbox360-slim.html

also same thing here http://www.priceangels.com/USB_Hard_Drive_HDD_Data_Transfer_Cable_Kit_for_XBO X_360_Slim_-_Red_p18689.html

Raziel-Freya Kun
07-19-2011, 07:45 AM
Someone must try connect two slims via USB cable, maybe the slims can transfer the files via a simple USB cable I don't think so but who knows! :p

injurytoall
08-09-2011, 11:27 PM
Do you need to have a working old 360 or does the cable plug directly into the hdd ?

Ryot Control
08-09-2011, 11:30 PM
Do you need to have a working old 360 or does the cable plug directly into the hdd ?

The old transfer cable plugs directly into the old HDD. No old 360 required. But you'll need the disc included with the cable to conduct the transfer.

CRAZYACE63
08-30-2011, 06:53 AM
The old transfer cable plugs directly into the old HDD. No old 360 required. But you'll need the disc included with the cable to conduct the transfer.

Actually you don't need the disc anymore. The program is installed on the HDD since one of the updates and it should start automatically.

CRAZYACE63
08-30-2011, 06:56 AM
I found this and I am gonna pick it up since it's only $10.50.
http://www.bestofferbuy.com/Hard-Drive-Transfer-Cable-Kit-for-Xbox-360-Slim---White-p-69938.html?currency=USD&utm_source=gbase&utm_medium=cse&utm_campaign=gbase_usa&utm_content=Electronics%253EVideoGameConsoleAccess ories%253EHomeGameConsoleAccessories%253EAllXBoxAc cessor

I will try it when the console gets here and let everyone know if it works.