PDA

View Full Version : Warning about saving in this game...


FLIPADELPHIIA
05-22-2012, 01:35 PM
Just thought Id let people know before they make a huge mistake like I did. The games autosave overwrites your main save. It doesnt count as a checkpoint, and theres only 1 save slot. So anytime you enter a door with a loading screen or complete a quest, it WILL overwrite your main save and you will not be able to reload after that unless you reload checkpoint, and a checkpoint is the last time youve slept at an in. Also, theres no "load last save" option during the game. Theres only load checkpoint. So if you make a mistake such as a follower dying or you used an item you wherent supposed to, DONT GO INTO ANY DOORS. It will overwrite your main save. Just go to "quit and return to title screen". Thats the only way to load your actual save in game. You should be sleeping at inns frequently anyways to refresh your pawns server status, but theres also no quick travel so you have to walk everywhere and nothing is close. So chances are, your checkpoint is going to be a while back. Just manually save your game frequently and dash or quit to title if you make a mistake. Lastly, if you want to save the game at crucial parts that conflict achievements, right before you make a choice that you think interferes with an achievement, make a save and then transfer that save to a USB so you can start from that point later on and continue playing your current save without having to do it all over. If I find a sort of "this choice or that choice" that effects two different achievements, Ill post. Hope this save someone the aggravation of figuring it out on there own :)

TheThreeStooges
05-22-2012, 01:39 PM
just thought id let people know before they make a huge mistake like i did. The games autosave overwrites your main save. It doesnt count as a checkpoint, and theres only 1 save slot. So anytime you enter a door with a loading screen or complete a quest, it will overwrite your main save and you will not be able to reload after that unless you reload checkpoint, and a checkpoint is the last time youve slept at an in. Also, theres no "load last save" option during the game. Theres only load checkpoint. So if you make a mistake such as a follower dying or you used an item you wherent supposed to, dont go into any doors. It will overwrite your main save. Just go to "quit and return to title screen". Thats the only way to load your actual save in game. You should be sleeping at inns frequently anyways to refresh your pawns server status, but theres also no quick travel so you have to walk everywhere and nothing is close. So chances are, your checkpoint is going to be a while back. Just manually save your game frequently and dash or quit to title if you make a mistake. Hope this save someone the aggravation of figuring it out on there own :)


thanks a bunch man

DragonSpear2462
05-23-2012, 02:53 PM
Just thought Id let people know before they make a huge mistake like I did. The games autosave overwrites your main save. It doesnt count as a checkpoint, and theres only 1 save slot. So anytime you enter a door with a loading screen or complete a quest, it WILL overwrite your main save and you will not be able to reload after that unless you reload checkpoint, and a checkpoint is the last time youve slept at an in. Also, theres no "load last save" option during the game. Theres only load checkpoint. So if you make a mistake such as a follower dying or you used an item you wherent supposed to, DONT GO INTO ANY DOORS. It will overwrite your main save. Just go to "quit and return to title screen". Thats the only way to load your actual save in game. You should be sleeping at inns frequently anyways to refresh your pawns server status, but theres also no quick travel so you have to walk everywhere and nothing is close. So chances are, your checkpoint is going to be a while back. Just manually save your game frequently and dash or quit to title if you make a mistake. Lastly, if you want to save the game at crucial parts that conflict achievements, right before you make a choice that you think interferes with an achievement, make a save and then transfer that save to a USB so you can start from that point later on and continue playing your current save without having to do it all over. If I find a sort of "this choice or that choice" that effects two different achievements, Ill post. Hope this save someone the aggravation of figuring it out on there own :)

Thanks for the info, I'll be carefull =P

romanzad
05-23-2012, 03:42 PM
thanks for the post dude

Big To
05-23-2012, 03:52 PM
Very helpful post, thanks.

EnteringtheCosmos
05-23-2012, 03:58 PM
You don't have to quit to dash, just save manually and choose the retry option instead of checkpoint.

FLIPADELPHIIA
05-23-2012, 06:30 PM
You don't have to quit to dash, just save manually and choose the retry option instead of checkpoint.
nope that will reload the last time you slept at an inn or the last time the game gave you a checkpoint. Not the last time you manually saved the game

Darth Cuda
05-23-2012, 07:25 PM
nope that will reload the last time you slept at an inn or the last time the game gave you a checkpoint. Not the last time you manually saved the game

Not always it depends.

FLIPADELPHIIA
05-23-2012, 07:28 PM
Not always it depends.
If the game happens to give you a checkpoint, then reloading will bring you back there. Other than that, its the last inn you slept at. I test this numerous times. If you happened to save at the same point the game gives you a checkpoint then yes you will start from where you saved, but its not loading your save. its loading the checkpoint.

Zim
05-23-2012, 08:28 PM
If the game happens to give you a checkpoint, then reloading will bring you back there. Other than that, its the last inn you slept at. I test this numerous times. If you happened to save at the same point the game gives you a checkpoint then yes you will start from where you saved, but its not loading your save. its loading the checkpoint.

I believe that riftstones also create checkpoints.

silentdante
05-24-2012, 08:41 AM
i didn't want to start a new thread just for this questions and it has to do with saves also:

If i create a new game when that new game saves will it totaly overwrite my current game? so in other words only one character ever can be had? anyone tried that?

furysblade
05-24-2012, 09:06 AM
Thats what the manual states, 1 save per profile, although I haven't tried.

Cinderkin
05-24-2012, 04:35 PM
i didn't want to start a new thread just for this questions and it has to do with saves also:

If i create a new game when that new game saves will it totaly overwrite my current game? so in other words only one character ever can be had? anyone tried that?

Yep that is how it works. It's unfortunate but Capcom always does this with save games.

Bajan Elite
05-24-2012, 05:10 PM
I have not come across this issue. I save often If I die, and I have a few times already. I click restart and puts me back to my last save.

LordDVS
05-24-2012, 07:32 PM
Just reading thru the forums as my game installs, glad I did. This seems kind of an inconvienience. One of the primary rules of RPG gaming is to make MULTIPLE SAVES. Even a single slot wouldn't be that bad, if the auto save was separate. And one save for a profile, period, is just plain BS. But thank you for the word of caution.

EnteringtheCosmos
05-24-2012, 08:43 PM
Yea, only one save per gamerprofile.

silentdante
05-25-2012, 02:44 AM
Yea, only one save per gamerprofile.

haha guess i shouldn't have named my pawn a bad word then since all i see walking around are astrics for a name, at least online people can see the moniker i used instead of astrics or something. (no clue how to spell astrics)

thanks for the heads-up though on saves!

exeunicorn
05-25-2012, 11:40 AM
*=asterisk

metallicorphan
05-25-2012, 11:51 AM
*=asterisk

he meant this Asterix *
http://marksarvas.blogs.com/.a/6a00d834515c2769e20120a68f898d970c-800wi

*yes,that's a joke...and so is using this Asterisk to say that:p


back on topic though...
do you think it really was Capcom's intention to have this joke of a save system?..i think they should patch a better one in,i swear if its not one thing with Capcom games its another

EnteringtheCosmos
05-25-2012, 12:35 PM
he meant this Asterix *


*yes,that's a joke...and so is using this Asterisk to say that:p


back on topic though...
do you think it really was Capcom's intention to have this joke of a save system?..i think they should patch a better one in,i swear if its not one thing with Capcom games its another
They tried to copy DarkSouls with the save thing along with a lot of other things.

silentdante
05-25-2012, 11:31 PM
yeah but in dark souls you can create as many hero's as you want, oh well, i would love to have made different size people and different pawns but i guess it's not to be.

thanks for the spelling too!

E10phoenix
06-25-2012, 12:30 PM
Just thought Id let people know before they make a huge mistake like I did. The games autosave overwrites your main save. It doesnt count as a checkpoint, and theres only 1 save slot. So anytime you enter a door with a loading screen or complete a quest, it WILL overwrite your main save and you will not be able to reload after that unless you reload checkpoint, and a checkpoint is the last time youve slept at an in. Also, theres no "load last save" option during the game. Theres only load checkpoint. So if you make a mistake such as a follower dying or you used an item you wherent supposed to, DONT GO INTO ANY DOORS. It will overwrite your main save. Just go to "quit and return to title screen". Thats the only way to load your actual save in game. You should be sleeping at inns frequently anyways to refresh your pawns server status, but theres also no quick travel so you have to walk everywhere and nothing is close. So chances are, your checkpoint is going to be a while back. Just manually save your game frequently and dash or quit to title if you make a mistake. Lastly, if you want to save the game at crucial parts that conflict achievements, right before you make a choice that you think interferes with an achievement, make a save and then transfer that save to a USB so you can start from that point later on and continue playing your current save without having to do it all over. If I find a sort of "this choice or that choice" that effects two different achievements, Ill post. Hope this save someone the aggravation of figuring it out on there own :)

Thanks for the heads up, im just about to start playing this game

Kingcow
06-25-2012, 02:37 PM
Yeah, this irritated me when I couldn't get the gold idol after doing escort duty, even though I hadn't manually saved since before the quest :(

Chem
06-26-2012, 07:22 AM
i didn't want to start a new thread just for this questions and it has to do with saves also:

If i create a new game when that new game saves will it totaly overwrite my current game? so in other words only one character ever can be had? anyone tried that?

there is a creative solution around that. You can copy your save file and move it around. I can use my cloud save as 1 character, and my hard drive as another. I have not tried USB or anything like that, but I assume it works as well.


Technically it allows you to have a second save if you want. It is annoying to deal with obviously since you have to go to your storage settings and copy it.

Volgera
06-27-2012, 04:57 PM
there is a creative solution around that. You can copy your save file and move it around. I can use my cloud save as 1 character, and my hard drive as another. I have not tried USB or anything like that, but I assume it works as well.


Technically it allows you to have a second save if you want. It is annoying to deal with obviously since you have to go to your storage settings and copy it.


That's what I do. My main save file is stored in the pendrive and my backup is in the HDD.

Exhausted Dad
07-04-2012, 04:04 PM
Bumping this for any new players, like myself.

mrj3d
07-04-2012, 04:07 PM
Hmm interesting.... Thanks for the info.