PDA

View Full Version : Achivements' progress bar... Something wrong.


m3ss1
10-31-2007, 09:36 PM
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/6804/immaginelm4.png

The red lines are the middle of the bar... If you look carefully you can see that the proportions are not respected.
Look at Luxor: 6/12 of achievements (50%) but the green bar isn't over the the red line, but behind.
Your site is wonderful, that's the only little mistake I found. :)

bye! :drunk

razzleson
11-01-2007, 01:58 AM
Personally I don't know why it would do that, most likely something in the coding.

But something I'd like to add to the issue as Routine usually looks at the feedback section, if the achievement has a rational percentage the decimal will go out 10 spaces (34.333333333%, 85.7142857143%, etc)

Something I spotted that bugged me, just make it round to the tenth.

m3ss1
11-01-2007, 09:15 AM
I don't know how your code works and what kind of implementation you did to enable the progress bar, but the conversion is very simple; something like:
hmmm.. in these days I'm using a lot Java so the code is not in a perfect php :-P

int percent;
percent = Math.round(Point Earned*100/Total point);
// is enough the percent rounded to the closesest integer
// the difference between 30,111112 and 30,43333 is not applicable over the bar..

int pixelToColor;
pixelToColor = Math.round(percent*totalPixel/100);
// This is the simplest formula to know where the progress bar will be placed..


Maybe using integer is better than float and the problem could be there.
I know that's very easy and what I said you already know, but I hope to help you beacause this site is very very very very cool and that mistake is really annoying (I did 190 point over 1000 in Forza Motorsport2 but the progress bar is still to zero :P)

m3ss1
11-03-2007, 08:29 AM
Ok, I understood how your code works. it's very easy and the modifications to do are not so mutch.

I took all the information from the Source Code of my personal page of achievements.

You use this image
http://www.x360a.org/images/site/pbar.jpg
to extend the progress bar simply giving to the image the a different value of width.
<img src="/images/site/pbar.jpg" height="12" width="171" alt="" />

This is a game completed at 100%. so it's clear that the width of the bar is 171.

Ok, now, looking at another game in my list I can see:

<img src="/images/site/pbar.jpg" height="12" width="121" alt="" /></div></td><td>9 / 12 achievements (75 %)

Doing a simple mathematical operation starting from % of achivements:

9/12 = width/171
width = 171*9/12
width = 128.25

It's clear that the width you assign to the bar is wrong, in fact you assign 121, but the real value is 128.


It's easy to solve this problem.. Don't ignore my post please. Your site is wonderful! Better than all other x360 sites!
Fix this problem please. It's frustrating to do a lot of points and see the bar growing so slowly.. :-P


Sorry for my english but I'm Swiss and I know only chocolate, snow, pizza, mandolino and o Sole Mio (because I live near Italy..) :-D AHahshdhahsd.
bye

m3ss1
11-05-2007, 08:07 AM
It's incredible....

ignore is the way? That's ridiculous..

You demonstrate a great maturity and respect for the people.

"-.-

I will never post here again.
bye

jackanape
11-05-2007, 01:19 PM
Not to be funny but leaving the site over such a trivial problem boggles the mind. You should stick around and learn to live with a few faulty pixels here and there, as I'm pretty sure the staff have their hands full doing a lot of other vital tasks.

Plus, just because they haven't responded to your post directly does not mean they haven't read it. No need to over react, we're all friends here.

The Pants Party
11-05-2007, 01:28 PM
m3ss1... there is only one person on the site who could answer your question about this, and I'm pretty sure he would have answered if he had seen the thread. I have messaged him to let him know about it, so he might have an answer for you soon.

m3ss1
11-05-2007, 01:40 PM
jackanape: I appreciate your answer; I know the staff is doing a lot of other vital stuffs, but if the code is still implemented it's very easy and fast to correct him. I just remarked that there is a "bug" in what is still implemented.. and that's all.. :) "Getalife" and "goplaylego" is a good way to do nothing, if everyone says that. ;)

The Pants Party: thank you. ;) If I can help in some way let me know.

RoutineX
11-05-2007, 01:44 PM
Sorry about the delay, didn't see your post there :eek:

You're right. There was an error in the forumula to create the bar. It was working as it should at the My360Achievements block to the right on the individual games. Not sure why I changed it for the myachievements.php page.

It should be fixed and showing as normal now. Thanks for letting us know =)

jackanape
11-05-2007, 01:53 PM
And just like that the problem is solved. Like I said - the admins will act on all the feedback they recieve given some time.

Sadly, they have yet to act on my feedback for cash to be given out to members, but given enough time..................