PDA

View Full Version : xRockwilderx's Gallery

xRockwilderx
04-29-2008, 03:07 PM
First things first, thank you very much for taking the time to check out my meager gallery! I got started using the GIMP three days ago an so far I love it.

I wanted to start messing with it a few months ago but didn't have the time to put into it. Recently I started learning HTML to hopefully get myself into a career so I am learning the GIMP to build buttons an other pics, etc. for the sites. My cheap way of getting out of buying Photoshop.

Enough with the blah blah already, the top one is what I came up with the first day and the next one down I did on my second day. I need constructive criticism if you're willing to give it and thanks once again for checkin out my gallery! I will post more as I bust them out! :D

http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii262/xRockwilderx/1stSigx360a.png
http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii262/xRockwilderx/kindanaughtyblend21.png
http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii262/xRockwilderx/PinkAnimeGirlbackgrounded2.png
http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii262/xRockwilderx/Doom.png

xRockwilderx
04-29-2008, 03:45 PM
Reserved for additions...

Skillet
04-29-2008, 07:23 PM
No lighting, no depth, no flow, the style doesn't match the render.... I could go on.

But they look like you tried and I guess that's what matters. I think you're doing yourself and injustice by skipping Photoshop. Gimp is not serving you well.

Anyway, I guess the normal adjustments apply, lighting and depth, for starters.

Lighting can be trickky, especially with those flat backgrounds and renders. So, no lighting is almost good in the case of those signatures.

As for depth, try blurring parts of the background and sharpening the focal points of the renders.

I see you have a border on the second one, nice start. It's needed on the first though.

xRockwilderx
04-29-2008, 07:48 PM
No lighting, no depth, no flow, the style doesn't match the render.... I could go on.