PDA

View Full Version : Yikes! "Race Driver: GLITCH"?


Azrael008uk
06-02-2008, 10:06 PM
The game was released on May 30th in Europe.

Codemasters, an English company have exacted a twofold revenge on our American cousins for all the stuff they get before us.

Firstly, Europe gets it early.

Secondly, all the Amercan Drivers you hire sound like 'Valley Boys'... "Whoah dude, I'm like... third".

However while they've done a brilliant job coding this game there is one huge problem and that is the "Brown Screen".

I heard of people who's games suddenly got hit with a brown screen and then achievements suddenly unlocked on them.

Today it happened to me. I unlocked Short Haul and 10 seconds later I got a brown screen and to my horror Long Haul unlocked.

To add to my misery, when I got back to the race, this was my car:

http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/6541/imag0036lp8.jpg (http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/6541/imag0036lp8.jpg)

As if that wasn't bad enough, when I'd shut my game off, turned it back on and gone back into my game, this is what greeted me:

http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/7892/imag0039kr3.jpg (http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/7892/imag0039kr3.jpg)

I thought my game was well and truly knackered.

In the game you have an option to "view" your cars.

When you select them you have a few options, one of them being "wash car".

If you can believe it, when I selected that option, my car went back to normal.

Not what I needed from my game tonight.

This is going to need a PATCH!

(It doesn't do it all the time obviously, but sheesh, once is bad enough).

Azrael

J eVeRy DaY 514
06-02-2008, 10:14 PM
i believe there is a race driver forum & plus this game isn't even out yet in the u.s. so i don't know why you thought posting it in this section would be necessary.

it looks like you're the only person on here who owns this game seeing as their aren't any posts in the forum, but here it is anyways.
http://www.xbox360achievements.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=777

Azrael008uk
06-02-2008, 10:24 PM
i believe there is a race driver forum & plus this game isn't even out yet in the u.s.

So what if it's not out in the U.S.?

Did you know they have XBoxes in other parts of the world too?;)

It's coming out soon and what you want to beware of is that in some cases when you're hit with the "Brown Screen Glitch" it stops you from unlocking further achievements.

That is NOT something you want to get hit with.

This is a great game and even people who just play for points might find themselves enjoying it.

I'm not trying to put people off buying it. Just warning people of a rather severe known glitch.

Azrael

Parkerktm
06-02-2008, 11:57 PM
Thats interesting!

So did all the achievements unlock for you or not?

I'm hoping this doesn't happen to me as this is one of my soon to be favorite games of this year. I really like these achievements and want to earn them the hard way ;) (even though they look easy).

Sorry about your issues though man, try returning it and see what happens.

Sanction
06-03-2008, 12:07 AM
That's lame.

This is the first I've heard about that problem, hopefully it's an isolated incident. :P

Azrael008uk
06-03-2008, 11:05 AM
Other people have been hit with the issue.

What's consistent is a brown screen.

Some people had random achievements unlock but then couldn't get other ones.

Some people have had this glitch and fixed it the same way: Washing the car.

I played the rest of the night with no further bother and unlocked "Back To Front" with no issues.

I've heard that you can't get the "Drive All Vehicles" achievement at the moment because two Ferraris were taken out at the last minute.

That's coming from someone who had almost completed the game.

Should all be fixed with a patch though.

Azrael

Bax x360a
06-03-2008, 12:11 PM
To add to my misery, when I got back to the race, this was my car:

http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/6541/imag0036lp8.jpg (http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/6541/imag0036lp8.jpg)

Nice paint job ;) Seriously though apparently Codemasters are working on a patch to fix this. I want to point out to people aswell that is the minority getting this glitch and it shouldn't put you off the game, which is terrific; I haven't got the glitch...

rambo111111
06-03-2008, 12:17 PM
I hope I get this glitch before they do the glitch, but then again, I can always choose to not update until I get the glitch. ;)

Bax x360a
06-03-2008, 12:56 PM
I hope I get this glitch before they do the glitch, but then again, I can always choose to not update until I get the glitch. ;)
How confusing :p If you're worring about getting the Long Haul achievement, don't; the game is so addictive, you should easily achieve 1000 miles before you get bored of the game.

Ashz0r
06-03-2008, 03:56 PM
Codemasters games have always been bad for being glitchy.. there just as bad as EA Games in that department but they don't try and rip you off by selling their nan to you.

Scotian Bred
06-03-2008, 04:16 PM
Well glitches or not I loved the demo and the game will be purchased by me and probably millions of others in North America .. the good thing about LIVE is that they can fix issues like this with a simple patch just like on PC games. I remember a seriously bad glitch in True Crime LA on the O.G xbox that made it so you could not even beat the game .. good thing the 360 has the live service or we would have quite a few games with serious achievement glitches and game glitches stopping a lot of progress

Nightdragon
06-03-2008, 06:02 PM
So far I have no recieved this glitch, and im crossing my fingers that I don't because I want to try and get all 1k in this. If some weird glitch gives me some achievements for free I won't be happy...

p0rtfan
06-04-2008, 01:30 PM
cant say ive had this glitch yet, and im hoping i dont.ive nearly got long haul legit anyway

J eVeRy DaY 514
06-05-2008, 07:20 AM
So what if it's not out in the U.S.?

Did you know they have XBoxes in other parts of the world too?;)


sorry, didn't mean to sound ignorant. i'm well aware.