PDA

View Full Version : Blockbuster Inventory System (needs to be updated, funny)

Drake O'Phile
09-24-2008, 08:53 PM
I'm posting this here mostly because the 360 is part of the post, the rest is just worth a nice chuckle at how often business computer systems are updated. I work at a Blockbuster Video and since I'm training as a manager, I can see our inventory, which hasn't been updated in forever (also why I've been absent from here and everywhere else). Just a side quip, everything in the store is given a six digit ID number (starting with 000000), and we're already into the 970000's... so yeah they need to redo the computers.

Anyways, they never update the game inventory so here's what all of the systems correspond to in the "real" inventory (the left side is how the appears exactly on the screen and in print outs):
XBX2 (X360) - XBox 360 (Xbox 2. :p)
NREV (NINTENDO REVOLUTION) - Nintendo Wii (They haven't called it a Revolution in forever.)

And the best one:
DCST (SEGA DREAMCAST) - Sony Playstation Portable (No idea about this one, they didn't even give us a "PSP" category in the system.)

It's worth a nice laugh every time I'm running inventory. We also still have places for the NES, Genesis, SNES, N64, and PS1 in our inventory, and then we have a slew of weird obscure dead consoles like the 3DO, CDi, Atari Lynx, and Atari Jaguar in the system. All of the inventories for them are completely empty, though. Our check-in screen also mentions nothing about discs or DVDs, and instead asks us if the tapes are rewound and if the cartridges are in the case with the instruction manuals.

At least the register system has that old school MS DOS feel to it... because that's what it is. :p

IMAMEX
09-24-2008, 09:09 PM