XboxAchievements.com

XboxAchievements.com (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/index.php)
-   Where's Waldo? (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1593)
-   -   Loading Troubles? (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/showthread.php?t=197245)

lowlifespider 12-23-2009 01:26 AM

Loading Troubles?
 
is anyone else having problems loading this game. My computer says that everything is above the requirements. When I get to the main menu and the Live thing drops down to sign in, I sign in and the little circles start going in circles then they stop and everything locks up but the music still plays. After about 2 1/2 minutes of just music playing the game closes itself. I've tried re-installing it twice now. When I first bought this game it worked for about 2 levels and then I had to go to work.

Thorpe 12-23-2009 02:09 AM

Maybe you have some spyware. Have you done a scan recently? It is working fine for me on Windows Vista 64-bit.

lowlifespider 12-23-2009 03:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thorpe (Post 2639099)
Maybe you have some spyware. Have you done a scan recently? It is working fine for me on Windows Vista 64-bit.

ok I'll try that quick. It's been about a week since I last did it. Will update when I'm done.

EDIT: Still not working, I scanned twice just to make sure. It only happens when I try to sign in with my profile that it locks up and closes on its own. :(

btdavis22 12-23-2009 06:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lowlifespider (Post 2638996)
is anyone else having problems loading this game. My computer says that everything is above the requirements. When I get to the main menu and the Live thing drops down to sign in, I sign in and the little circles start going in circles then they stop and everything locks up but the music still plays. After about 2 1/2 minutes of just music playing the game closes itself. I've tried re-installing it twice now. When I first bought this game it worked for about 2 levels and then I had to go to work.

you can get farther then I can i can not even get the game to load up. It shows a outline of the game then it says it has encountered a problem and needs to close.

DarkGin87 12-23-2009 11:57 AM

I'M also having this issue I'm running windows 7 and every bit of hardware is top of the range an it still wont play, i have also post this on the games for windows forums

CloudStr1f3 12-24-2009 06:52 PM

Yeah, I'm having the same problem as you OP. I'm running XP, but that shouldn't have anything to do with it. I'm pretty sure the problem comes from the DRM bullshit and the product/activation keys that come with it, since it never asked me to input the key and I can't find anywhere to manually input it.

xMidget_Furyx 12-25-2009 06:27 AM

I'm also having trouble playing this game do i sign into the client manager or to the game? if it's the game where do i click to sign in. when i press single traveler it tells me to sign in with a windows LIVE id which i have i have the client updated but i can't even play the game.

DarkGin87 12-26-2009 04:01 AM

help
 
has anyone had any luck on this yet? i was trying to sort it with someone who works for microsoft and ive had no luck yet:(

xMidget_Furyx 12-26-2009 04:15 AM

i've got nothing either i was on the support site and had someone tell me to make sure my ports were open or forwarded but i don't see what that had to do with simply not being able to log in. concidering there isn't a place to log in at all at least in my game

slapshakle 12-26-2009 04:52 AM

I'm having trouble downloading the damn game! I bought it, got to about 60% downloaded and my computer froze for whatever reason. I restarted it and signed back into GFWL, I go to the download section and it's back to 0% and won't start downloading again. I've been trying for 30 mins and still no luck. Any ideas?

DarkGin87 12-26-2009 04:58 AM

help
 
It nothing to do with the ports i check and mine are all open by default, i have installed and uninstalled it so many times my key doesn't work now so I'm going to have to contact them of that too, this be the last games for windows i get though

if anyone sorts this please PM my gamertag or ill do the same if i manage to sort it

xMidget_Furyx 12-26-2009 07:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slapshakle (Post 2645317)
I'm having trouble downloading the damn game! I bought it, got to about 60% downloaded and my computer froze for whatever reason. I restarted it and signed back into GFWL, I go to the download section and it's back to 0% and won't start downloading again. I've been trying for 30 mins and still no luck. Any ideas?

there might be away to cancel the interupted download i'm not sure how but check here http://forums.gamesforwindows.com/8.aspx

wolvieware 12-27-2009 01:09 AM

I too can't load this game!

Tinker works fine for me, but with this, when It comes to signing in, it just freezes, and crashes my laptop. Useless! You can't even PLAY it without signing in! what a waste of money, I presume the customer service is shut over xmas as well.

Horrible.

NJC Omega 12-27-2009 04:44 PM

Exact same problem, sign in window opens I sign in and it freezes for 2 minutes then closes itself. Tinker works perfectly for me and I'm running the game on a laptop which is top of range and more than qualifies to play the game. I really don't understand this and it's making me very hesitant to buy another GFWL game.

ezekiel 08 12-28-2009 02:33 AM

Well I was fine playing up to the third level and then all of a suddedn it would freeze on me every time I clicked on a clue. It would unfreeze after about 20 seconds but my star meter would be empty as if it didn't freeze and I just sat there! I got up to finding Odlawand every time I clicked on him my game crashed...

I'm now in the process of re-downloading it to see if it will fix my woes... I think I'll try run it in Vista SP2 compatibility mode. Currently running Windows 7 RC1 x64.

nateeasy 12-28-2009 09:41 AM

IM having a different problem. I got the game downloaded and it launches fine. But when I try to start the game it says I must be signed into live to play the game. I started the game from the gameforWindows program. What gives? How do I sign in?

xMidget_Furyx 12-28-2009 04:40 PM

try pushing the home button i'm actually having the same issue as you i've been told to try uninstalling the game and the client and redownloading them both

littlejay 12-29-2009 06:16 AM

the game will not let me sign into live. it says i have a firewall issue and ive turned all fw and antivirus stuff off and signed out of all sites using live and still nothing. i have no way to work around my wireless router so i hope i didnt waste 600msp :(

edit: internet connection sharing had to be turned off, i use that to get my xbox online. i find it very stupid you have to go through this much trouble just to sign into live and play a game on pc

wolvieware 12-29-2009 08:48 PM

I phoned MS up today to see what they suggested. the guy didn't even know what I was talking about, so put me on hold to find out more, and I was "conveniently" disconnected while on hold. Nice.

I reckon this was a waste of a fiver, and I won't be buying from GFWL again. It's strange, cos Tinker works fine for me.

xMidget_Furyx 12-30-2009 01:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by littlejay (Post 2651635)
the game will not let me sign into live. it says i have a firewall issue and ive turned all fw and antivirus stuff off and signed out of all sites using live and still nothing. i have no way to work around my wireless router so i hope i didnt waste 600msp :(

edit: internet connection sharing had to be turned off, i use that to get my xbox online. i find it very stupid you have to go through this much trouble just to sign into live and play a game on pc

stupid question time but how do you do that because i would like to play this game and get my money out of it or the least the achievements.

i called support and it seems according to the phone support and web forum their solution for almost everything is un / re installing the game or mess with your router settings.

what i don't get it my router is set to open so why do i have to forward any of the ports i don't have issues with my xbox signing into live or playing online so i don't see why it would be different for the PC since you have to have the same ports open for 360 or PC

lowlifespider 12-31-2009 01:36 PM

My game still won't work. I haven't called support or anything like that yet but this is definitely making me want to never buy a computer game ever again.

GamertagsRLame 12-31-2009 11:58 PM

For those whose game is crashing on startup (not even getting to the initial screen... just a fragment of a frame)... try 'dumbing down' your screen resolution. I had mine at 1680x1050 and the game crashed all of the time. Bumped it down to 1280x1024 and the game came up OK.

Going to try bumping up the resolution to something a little higher to see if that works.

GamertagsRLame 01-01-2010 12:17 AM

Going to 1600x900 seems to work fine.

GamertagsRLame 01-01-2010 12:21 AM

OK... now this frustrating. I guess the resolution has to be lower than 1680x1050 the first time you run it. I've since adjusted the resolution from 1280x1024 to 1680x1050 and the game still comes up OK.

Hope this helps someone.

IEvil IMonkey 01-01-2010 10:57 AM

MICROSHAFT couldnt care less about this problem now they have our 600msp!!!

Ive tried all of the above suggestions inc changing the resolution right down to 800x600 and guess what.... STILL CRASHES!!!

Why should I have to change a single thing for Waldo when any other game runs perfectly using my standard set-up!!

MS can kiss my a**e if this is how it treats its GFWL customers....
....and the support team read from the same script!!

"HAVE YOU TRIED UNINSTALLING & INSTALLING AGAIN?"
"HAVE YOU TRIED UNINSTALLING & INSTALLING AGAIN?"
"HAVE YOU TRIED UNINSTALLING & INSTALLING AGAIN?"
"HAVE YOU TRIED UNINSTALLING & INSTALLING AGAIN?"
"HAVE YOU TRIED UNINSTALLING & INSTALLING AGAIN?"
"HAVE YOU TRIED UNINSTALLING & INSTALLING AGAIN?"

Errrr yes, about the same amount of times as you've bloody suggested it!!

IEvil IMonkey 01-01-2010 11:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GamertagsRLame (Post 2659184)
OK... now this frustrating. I guess the resolution has to be lower than 1680x1050 the first time you run it. I've since adjusted the resolution from 1280x1024 to 1680x1050 and the game still comes up OK.

Hope this helps someone.

Utter nonsense! This doesnt do anything seein as my highest res poss is 1280x800 (which is what its always set to) and it wont start up like anyone else. Ive put it right down to the lowest poss @ 800x600 and STILL CRASHES! :mad:

xMidget_Furyx 01-01-2010 03:59 PM

my question is how many times can i uninstall and reinstall before i can no longer reinstall it because my license ran out

IEvil IMonkey 01-01-2010 04:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xMidget_Furyx (Post 2660462)
my question is how many times can i uninstall and reinstall before i can no longer reinstall it because my license ran out

EXACTLY!!

Theres no point uninstallin and reinstallin as its NOT the problem!

MS need to get their thumbs out of their arses and come clean that its f**ked up when every other game on GFWL works a-ok

DONT WASTE UR DRM BY DOIN IT OVER AND OVER

DarkGin87 01-03-2010 05:39 AM

Ive had no joy still, I'm updating GFX drivers atm but i may even take out my GFX card to run some tests the GFWL doesn't seem to have alot of support so i will be sticking with my xbox in future

eminem_fanzzz 01-03-2010 04:37 PM

After every level i complete it freezes. i sign into it (takes a few seconds). then i complete a level..and when it says "Perfect" and the stars come up. nothing happens. So i click and the screen turns white and it freezes with music still playing and all..i dont know what the hell the problem is..its annoying though =( grr


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.