XboxAchievements.com

XboxAchievements.com (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/index.php)
-   Dead Space: Ignition (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1953)
-   -   Dont play this game! (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/showthread.php?t=266242)

The Dauntless 10-13-2010 03:16 PM

Dont play this game!
 
Warning, this game will seriously screw up your gamerscore and profile.

Like many games recently the achievements arent on Xbox.com so the achievements you earn will not go onto your Xbox.com profile.

However, what makes this game worse is that you can earn achievements and increase your gamerscore on your console, but when you turn it off and back on the game shows you have 0 gamerscore and lets you earn more gamerscore for the same achievement.

This is hard to describe but basically I earned some achievement twice and both times my total gamerscore went up.

So now neither my gamerscore on my console or on Xbox.com is correct.

I am therefore recovering my profile immediatley and not playing this game til (if ever) its fixed. Last time a recovery took 5 hours due to the size of my profile so im going to post parcel bombs to EA til then.


EDIT: My parcel bombs worked and it appears things are now working though I cant get the Lvl 4 achievement. Guess I have to clear cache and delete game and redownload.

Oolidez 10-13-2010 03:23 PM

Thx for the warning.
It seems awful anyway.

Cable Player 10-13-2010 03:29 PM

I second this, DO NOT play this game untill they fix it.


It will be fixed, if not I will be getting a 400mp refund.

Trikke 10-13-2010 03:32 PM

There is indeed a problem with the achievements and gamerscore.

I unlocked a few achievements, went to the dashboard, the gamercard was there with the icons of the unlocked achievements.
When I turned off my console to pick up my son, and came back home almost 90 minutes after shutting down the xbox, I turned it back on. The achievements were gone, but my new gamerscore (old GS + gamerscore from DS:I) was still there.

Solution as always: sign out your account and recover gamertag to get your 'old' gamerscore back until this problem is fixed.

I updated the achievement guide accordingly.

Good luck

Seany Show 10-13-2010 03:34 PM

Think I'll just download the trial until this is sorted. Why is xbox.com getting really lazy at sorting out achievements for new games...

CressDX 10-13-2010 03:36 PM

Wow! O.o
Im glad i got this game free when i pre-ordered DS2.. but after reading this.. Im scared to play it..

hope they fix this soon.

Mgetter 10-13-2010 03:43 PM

Im sure theyll fix it soon. This happens from time to time when Microsoft is too stupid to update their databases on time. It happened with the last DLC for Bioshock 2 which, of course, was the best one and not some crap multiplayer.

D Sylar 10-13-2010 03:53 PM

Achievements work fine for me.
Turned my xbox off and back on = Fine,
Signed out and back in = Fine.
Just have the problem where it signs me out when I load it.

Cable Player 10-13-2010 04:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by D Sylar (Post 3612526)
Achievements work fine for me.
Turned my xbox off and back on = Fine,
Signed out and back in = Fine.
Just have the problem where it signs me out when I load it.

Well the achievements arn't showing up on your gamercard are they?

D Sylar 10-13-2010 04:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cable Player (Post 3612567)
Well the achievements arn't showing up on your gamercard are they?

Yeah you're right, I didn't check till now.
Isn't this different from other games doing this sort of shit though?
I remember Fallout 3 doing something like this with DLC but the achievements didn't get added to my total gamerscore, unlike what this game is doing.
The only place there not showing up is on xbox.com, Will we really need to recover our GT when its sorted?

Cable Player 10-13-2010 04:42 PM

Its just Microsoft being lazy as usual.
Itl be okay in a few hours/ day or so.

MAxiMoZ 10-13-2010 04:43 PM

I just bought the game and the achievement are unlocked so it is fixed but the leaderboard is still broken.

Cable Player 10-13-2010 04:45 PM

I just loaded the game again and it didn't sign me out of Live.
It seems that it has been fixed.

Mgetter 10-13-2010 04:54 PM

When they show up on Xbox.com, theyre fixed for sure. Im still downloading the game so I cant say but check on there. If theyre not showing up on your gamercard or on the small gamercard in your sig, thats a hint it may not be fixed. Ill feel certain when I see the website update with them.

Mgetter 10-13-2010 05:08 PM

I just checked and Xbox.com still hasnt updated to include the game. If anyone finds any differently, let us know. It should be safe when the site updates.

TKF 821 10-13-2010 05:16 PM

For me the 2 achievements i've earned are on xbox.com. Maybe they updated it just now ?

redbeard_nj 10-13-2010 05:21 PM

Thanks for the info!

As soon as i fired up the game, i got disconnected from live with no update, and i couldnt sign back in. i then turned the game off and searched these boards. thank goodness i did.

A Moldy Stump 10-13-2010 05:24 PM

Tried to check the leaderboards in game but the game said I wasn't signed into Xbox Live even though I know I was. I'm on a wired connection and I hit the center button and checked I could see my friends.. . maybe this is causing the problem it wont update your score online because the game doesnt connect?

VeNGeD 10-13-2010 05:37 PM

I just got an achievement for it a second ago(Trace Element), before reading this thread. Turned off xbox and signed back in and it's still there..

I'm going to wait to see if they do patch this before playing again, just to be on the safe side.

F TANK 10-13-2010 05:53 PM

Knowing EA, it makes me wonder if they'll ever fix it

Cable Player 10-13-2010 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by F TANK (Post 3612882)
Knowing EA, it makes me wonder if they'll ever fix it

For once, suprisingly, it wasn't EA's fault.

Batrax 10-13-2010 07:01 PM

i don't know if visceral already fixed it up,but i'm playing online
(even if the stats men isn't connected)
i got cheevos and they are still there
...however i expected something better from ignition...

Batrax 10-13-2010 07:08 PM

ahem...i forgot to specify...
i'm not in the uk
i'm italian (so, sorry for the worst english you ever read..)
and i don't know if this will make any difference for an eventual fix update
(however, generally we are the last in line for getting things....
so if i've no problem you should haven't too)

The Dauntless 10-13-2010 07:35 PM

Just checked and everything is working now.

BudzMcGee 10-13-2010 08:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Dauntless (Post 3613227)
Just checked and everything is working now.

Can anyone else confirm?

Painkiller Q8 10-13-2010 09:20 PM

I'm about to buy it .. fixed ?

andy888101 10-13-2010 10:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BudzMcGee (Post 3613488)
Can anyone else confirm?

yes it is working

BudzMcGee 10-13-2010 11:22 PM

Thanks. Might fire it up tonight then. Haven't heard good things, but free makes it better... funny how that is.

sleepydumbdude 10-13-2010 11:48 PM

Working for me now. Leaderboards on game still broke though.

Alktrio3 10-14-2010 01:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cable Player (Post 3612447)
I second this, DO NOT play this game untill they fix it.


It will be fixed, if not I will be getting a 400mp refund.

haha good job on that seeing how its stated that they are not refundable haha


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.