XboxAchievements.com

XboxAchievements.com (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/index.php)
-   Rock Band 3 (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=1688)
-   -   Rock Band 3 FAQ - Read before asking questions (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/showthread.php?t=271263)

Lonsta DaMonsta 10-29-2010 03:45 AM

Rock Band 3 FAQ - Read before asking questions
 
The FAQ threads are where we need your help! What do you think are the most commonly asked questions about this game? Which threads keep popping up? What things do you wish you had been told when you first got this game?

Post in this thread and I'll edit the top post. Don't forget about Ctrl+F for a quick search/find within this thread.

Thanks for your help...

-------------------------------------------------------------
Rock Band 3 FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)
-------------------------------------------------------------
I am doing what an achievement description asks me to do, but I haven't unlocked the achievement. Why not?
-- Some achievements require you to use a specific instrument even though it isn't stated in the achievement description. For example, The Perfect Drug must be completed on drums.

Can I use the Rock Band 3 PRO-Cymbals with a Rock Band 1 drum kit?
-- No. The kit was designed for RB2 & RB3 drum kits only and will not work with the original RB1 drums. (I FOUND THIS OUT THE HARD WAY)

How do I export my RB2 tracks onto RB3?
1. Go to "Get more Songs" from the main menu in RB3.
2. Select "Redeem Code"
3. Enter the code from the back of your RB2 manual and then Download.
(If you live in Europe, do the same as above, but only enter the first 16 characters of said code on the back of your RB2 manual to export the RB2 songs.)

How do I export my RB1 tracks onto RB3?
-- Launch the Rock Band 1 game. On the Main Menu, there should be an Export option to copy the tracks directly from the disc. You do not need a code, but you must purchase the export license for 400MSP.

I exported my songs from RB1/RB2 but some are missing. Why?
There are a few songs from each game that will not export. Here is the list from Rock Band's website:
RB1:
Songs that don't export to any other game:
"Enter Sandman" by Metallica
"Paranoid" as made famous by Black Sabbath
"Run to the Hills" as made famous by Iron Maiden
"Monsoon" by Tokio Hotel (from the European version of Rock Band)
Songs that don't export to RB3:
"Black Hole Sun" by Soundgarden
"Dani California" by Red Hot Chili Peppers
"Hier Kommt Alex" by Die Toten Hosen (from European version of Rock Band)
"Rock 'n' Roll Star" by Oasis (from European version of Rock Band)
RB2:
Songs that don't export to any other game:
"Let There Be Rock" by AC/DC
"Any Way You Want It" by Journey
"Battery" by Metallica
"Give It Away” by Red Hot Chili Peppers
“Spoonman” by Soundgarden
Nine Harmonix band songs, planned as free DLC in the very near future.

I'm trying to put an online band together and it keeps telling us, "No More Room for Guitarists" -- why is this?
Unfortunately there seems to be only room for two of the following: Guitar, Bass, and Keyboard. You can't have all three. I haven't heard a clear-cut answer on why this is yet, but I will update this FAQ as I find out more. The only thing I've heard so far is because of latency issues. However, the box states you can have 7 members online so we'll see how this unfolds...

Can I use RB1/RB2 Instruments with Rock Band 3?
-- Yes.

What instruments are required to be able to play Pro Mode?
-- A Pro Guitar (for guitar/bass)
-- A 3-Cymbal Kit for drums (you can add these cymbals on to an existing drum kit)
-- Any keyboard with MIDI support

Can I use my own MIDI keyboard/synth instead of the one that comes with the game?
-- Yes, but you must purchase the MIDI controller, priced at $40 USD.

Can I use my own MIDI drumset with the MIDI controller?
-- Yes.

Can I use my own MIDI guitar with the MIDI controller?
-- Not as of now. We'll see if there are some fancy adapters that will be released.

Is there a special icon for beating the Endless Setlist III on Expert?
-- No. :(

Are older RB1/RB2 songs compatible with Pro Mode?
-- Just the drums, so far.

Can I acquire the "Is This Just Fantasy" achievement online or does it have to be local play like the vocal achievements in The Beatles: RB?
-- You cannot acquire this with an online band, it must be done locally.

*Special thanks to SebastianSB for some of these answers*

RealistIdealist 10-29-2010 04:01 AM

"Are older RB1/RB2 songs compatible with Pro Mode?"

I think as of right now Drums are the only pro.

Napp 10-29-2010 04:05 AM

Has it been confirmed that there are NO new icons? Because I've gotten passed the bronze disc and now I'm moving towards a silver star on my band progress meter

SK L4xX 10-29-2010 08:45 AM

This has to be be patched...the box cleary says 7 people ONLINE but you cant play harmonys online neither guitar,bass,keys at the same time

NoThru22 10-29-2010 02:17 PM

Older RBN songs do not have pro drums.

You can use the same export instructions for Lego Rock Band and Green Day Rock Band as well.

DJ Satan UK 10-29-2010 05:32 PM

Quote:

How do I export my RB2 tracks onto RB3?
1. Go to "Get more Songs" from the main menu in RB3.
2. Select "Redeem Code"
3. Enter the code from the back of your RB2 manual and then Download.
I just tried this but the code is too long for the input box.

RockBand.com appears to be down at the moment. Does anyone have any other info?

What is the code on the back of the RB3 manual for?

Edit: Answered in another thread:
Quote:

Daenius: If you live in Europe, do the same as above, but only enter the first 16 characters of said code on the back of your RB2 manual to export the RB2 songs.

twistedsymphony 10-29-2010 08:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DJ Satan UK (Post 3676962)
I just tried this but the code is too long for the input box.

I've heard that for European gamers you can just enter the first 16 characters and it will work. :)

EDIT: Damn I missed your edit... either way it's info that should be added to the sticky.

dalton32389 10-29-2010 09:55 PM

even with one cymbal plugged in you can play pro mode

ColdSpider72 10-31-2010 09:33 PM

Quite a few people I know asking about playing vocals with a standard controller and a headset. Was this feature removed? Didn't see this mentioned at all in the Rock Band.com forums either.

Njmongoose 11-01-2010 04:00 PM

The drums from The Beatles Rock Band, are they considered RB1 or RB2 drums?

TwistedFate 11-01-2010 04:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Njmongoose (Post 3688612)
The drums from The Beatles Rock Band, are they considered RB1 or RB2 drums?

They are RB2 drums.

xCOBRAx 11-01-2010 07:45 PM

i went to redeem my code and it worked and took me to the next screen to select "rock band 2 export pack" I selected it and the purchase window tried to pop up and instead i got "cannot retrieve info from Xbox Live, please try again later".

how boned am i? Will i be able to come back later and try again?

TwistedFate 11-01-2010 07:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by xCOBRAx (Post 3689163)
i went to redeem my code and it worked and took me to the next screen to select "rock band 2 export pack" I selected it and the purchase window tried to pop up and instead i got "cannot retrieve info from Xbox Live, please try again later".

how boned am i? Will i be able to come back later and try again?

You should be okay later. The Code has been used, but you can try going to Get More Songs->Redeem Code->Previously Redeemed Codes and you should be able to select it again and pay for it and download. If it doesn't show up there, try re-entering the code.

Hurricanes550 11-02-2010 07:04 PM

When going for the endless setlist achievement, will it still unlock if i accept my friend's invite to play RB3 and then we start the endless setlist. Would it unlock for both of us?

Makker 11-15-2010 06:27 PM

I just input the code from the RB2 manual and they're tryin to charge me 800MSP to export the RB2 songs for use in RB3. Is this right (and I don't mean morally/ethically cos that's a no)? I expected them to be free like the RB1-->RB2 export. Or is this just a case of gettin shafted for being a European gamer?

mikachu93 11-16-2010 12:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Makker (Post 3738369)
I just input the code from the RB2 manual and they're tryin to charge me 800MSP to export the RB2 songs for use in RB3. Is this right (and I don't mean morally/ethically cos that's a no)? I expected them to be free like the RB1-->RB2 export. Or is this just a case of gettin shafted for being a European gamer?

It's 800 MSP for everybody, and there's nothing morally nor ethically wrong with making a profit whatsoever. It's an add-on. Almost all add-ons cost money, period.

If it makes you feel any better about "gettin' shafted," the Rock Band import in the States was 400 MSP, while you got it for free.

CMCX360 11-16-2010 03:05 AM

Might be a stupid question, but does installing this game to the HD affect performance at all?

mikachu93 11-16-2010 03:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMCX360 (Post 3739933)
Might be a stupid question, but does installing this game to the HD affect performance at all?

It should cut the loading times a bit, but there aren't too many to begin with.

hartlesdalegend 11-25-2010 09:08 PM

Do guitar hero drums works on this game because when i have tried to play drums they haven't worked?

The drums work on GH:Metallica, GH:WOR and RB2 so it can't be the drums right?

mikachu93 11-26-2010 12:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hartlesdalegend (Post 3772430)
Do guitar hero drums works on this game because when i have tried to play drums they haven't worked?

The drums work on GH:Metallica, GH:WOR and RB2 so it can't be the drums right?

IIRC, there should be a compatibility chart somewhere on RockBand.com that you could check. I don't remember where exactly, but it shouldn't be terribly difficult to find.

dt new york 11-26-2010 08:57 AM

I came here before asking my question like it said to. After reading it, and everyone's comments I forgot my question.

But I can say that my GH:WoR/Band Hero drumkit works fine with RB3.

KageNeedsG 11-28-2010 02:44 AM

Live Free or Die???
 
Does anyone know the songs required to unlock this achievement? I have played free songs : Charlene, Promised Land, Am I Crazy and another that I have forgotten it's name. So 4 free songs that I've found, but if anyone knows the answer it would be greatly appriciated. -Kage

mikachu93 11-28-2010 03:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KageNeedsG (Post 3779307)
Does anyone know the songs required to unlock this achievement? I have played free songs : Charlene, Promised Land, Am I Crazy and another that I have forgotten it's name. So 4 free songs that I've found, but if anyone knows the answer it would be greatly appriciated. -Kage

Check the achievement guide.

http://www.xbox360achievements.org/f...d.php?t=270775

theshieguy 11-28-2010 05:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KageNeedsG (Post 3779307)
Does anyone know the songs required to unlock this achievement? I have played free songs : Charlene, Promised Land, Am I Crazy and another that I have forgotten it's name. So 4 free songs that I've found, but if anyone knows the answer it would be greatly appriciated. -Kage

I forgot to post the DLC guide link in the main guide, since those descriptions were temporarily moved to accommodate the forthcoming 1000G Road Map. Click below if you couldn't managed to find it:

http://www.xbox360achievements.org/f...d.php?t=278869

And there are 7 free songs that are available, but you only have to play the first 4 that were made free to download to unlock the achievement:

*Charlene
*Headphones On
*Still Alive
*Promised Land

rikudoll 11-30-2010 03:41 AM

is the rb2 drumset same as rb3 drumset ?
or rb3 drumset have something changed ?
sorry about my english is poor ..

TwistedFate 11-30-2010 04:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rikudoll (Post 3785407)
is the rb2 drumset same as rb3 drumset ?
or rb3 drumset have something changed ?
sorry about my english is poor ..

You're English is just fine, better than some Americans is, and much better than most of us could speak your native language I'm sure.

The RB3 is an enhanced version of the RB2 kit. The pads are quieter, the sensors are better, and roll response has been improved. I have also heard the kick pedal is better, but I don't know about that one for sure.

However, if you already have a kit from RB2 I wouldn't rush out and buy the RB3 kit, just get the Pro Cymbals if that is what you want. The improvements are nice, but not good enough over the RB2 kit to justify the cost.

If you are upgrading from an RB1 kit, yes rush right out and buy it.

If you are trying to decide between an RB2 kit or an RB3 kit, remember that RB3 kits come with the Pro Cymbals and the RB2 kit will require you to buy them separately.

TH4DJ4RV1S 12-21-2010 02:37 PM

not sure if this is the right place to ask but did they remove rock your socks by tenacious d? neither me or my friend can find it on our dlc list :(

mikachu93 12-24-2010 08:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TH4DJ4RV1S (Post 3846012)
not sure if this is the right place to ask but did they remove rock your socks by tenacious d? neither me or my friend can find it on our dlc list :(

There was a problem with the DLC released that week. Harmonix is working on a fix to make the songs playable again.

felix75 01-23-2011 08:39 PM

Question about keyboard
 
I'm thinking about importing RB2 songs, but i like playing the keyboard. Will any of the old songs let me play the keyboard?

TwistedFate 01-23-2011 09:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by felix75 (Post 3934453)
I'm thinking about importing RB2 songs, but i like playing the keyboard. Will any of the old songs let me play the keyboard?

Nope, only new songs have keyboard parts.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.