XboxAchievements.com

XboxAchievements.com (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/index.php)
-   Spider-Man: Friend or Foe (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=681)
-   -   Game won't load! (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/showthread.php?t=315335)

HOST1L1TY 06-14-2011 02:25 PM

Game won't load!
 
Has anyone else had trouble with the game not loading the 2nd level of the Tokyo mission?! I've started 2 new games and both times got to the 2nd level but the disc just stops spinning during the load scene. Should I put the game on my hard drive or just send it back for a new one?

zippyzip 07-23-2011 09:16 PM

mines freezing on game load as well...and it's a brand new disc.

kmg90 08-21-2011 10:11 PM

You wouldn't happen to be playing with slim 360s?

This game is widely known to have issues with loading on the newer hardware, I think the issue lies in the disc drive.

marklynx 08-26-2011 01:32 PM

This is a defect on every copy of this game with the Slims. I tried this on 4 different slims and get the same issue.

However, what I noticed is that from time to time it actually does load. So if you're like me keep on trying it until it actually loads and then don't turn off your unit till you've completed the game.

Once completed, SELL IT :)

FroZeNSouL 09-11-2011 01:22 AM

Shiiii
Same here, worked first time,
Then the 3rd time after I installed,
Now it just doesn't want to know.
I've tried 10+ times.
Cleared cache, deleted, booted from dash, booted from achievement menu, from menu, tried reinstalling.

Any recommendations?????

Killerchronic 04-12-2012 04:47 PM

Eek, wish i had read this before renting....least its a rental, shall find out tomorrow.

Edit: Bah, it didnt, time to play around.

Edit2: There are some workarounds like hitting guide as soon as you hit play game, but i never got it to work. Another was after it crashes remove the battery pack and eventually it should notice the controllers gone and bring the game back to life, tried this for an hour, no luck. Another was also it should come back to life if someone signs in/sends you a message or request, again i couldn't get that to work either.

All these are from a quick google but mostly from the thread on xbox.com, anyway, sadly no quick 1000 for me from this, sent back already.

Actiionz 05-19-2012 08:37 PM

haha... I thought I was the only one who had problems loading this. I actually thought it was the disc. I just open it and close it until it finally loads. After that I play as long as I can because it might not load again. Other than clearing cache and saving the game to your hard drive, I have one other suggestion. Turn your xbox off and back on. It should load the game from the start and hopefully that works. (May have to change disc start-up settings at dashboard.)

sharkone 09-21-2012 03:16 PM

I got the same problem. Just leave the console on the black screen...it will start after 5-10 minutes.

DesirableDan 01-27-2013 04:34 AM

I was going to co-op with my nephew. Found out it won't load. The guide button trick hasn't worked so far.

sharkone 07-02-2013 12:17 AM

Just wait.

yourbreakfast99 07-02-2013 03:23 AM

Always hated this game. My brothers played it once on my account got a few cheevos and now it is jut on my gamercard...sigh.

Nate1326 08-03-2013 05:56 PM

I was having the same issue with this game and my 360 Slim. Tried all the quick fixes and nothing seemed to work. So what I did was installed the game to the HD. Then I downloaded the demo for Friends or Foe from the Xbox marketplace. With the Spider-man retail disc in the disc drive I started up the Friends or Foe demo. Once the demo got to the very first screen I hit the guide button and selected "Play Spider-Man FOF". The game loaded up right away. Not Sure if this was a fluke and or a one time thing. Hopefully this helps though.

Angry Goku 08-07-2013 11:55 AM

what really anoys me is is on sale on the dashboard atm i bought it and now im finding out these problems rage stuck on black screen for over 20 mins nothing to make it even worse xbo live forums are down till tomorrow

furburger 08-08-2013 05:15 AM

I just bought it too....and it won't even load!!!!
I hope I can get refund because right now I can't even play it!

mikebswa 08-12-2013 06:27 PM

Ugggg
 
I'm in the same boat you are..bought it off the marketplace got to play up till the first level in Egypt and now when I go to load it it just stays on a black screen

Skorpion XBA 08-12-2013 07:11 PM

This happened to me as well. I had to retry several times but when it finally started to play it was fine. Just keep trying and it'll work.

mikebswa 08-12-2013 08:11 PM

Did you buy it off the marketplace or was it a disc?

True_Darkness 08-27-2013 02:29 PM

I can confirm that nate1326 method does work if u have the disc, though u don't need to install the game from the disk to the HD. But I can't confirm if this will work if u bought the game from the XBL Marketplace.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Nate1326 (Post 5918380)
I was having the same issue with this game and my 360 Slim. Tried all the quick fixes and nothing seemed to work. So what I did was installed the game to the HD. Then I downloaded the demo for Friends or Foe from the Xbox marketplace. With the Spider-man retail disc in the disc drive I started up the Friends or Foe demo. Once the demo got to the very first screen I hit the guide button and selected "Play Spider-Man FOF". The game loaded up right away. Not Sure if this was a fluke and or a one time thing. Hopefully this helps though.


marzipanninja 10-24-2013 06:05 AM

Hi a bit late to this party guys. But after buggering about I found the game loads everytime if you haven't signed into a profile. Once the game loads, sign into your profile and away you go.

This has worked on my original shiny slim and the newer matte black one.

fifth5urvivor 12-06-2013 05:40 AM

I have the freezing issue on a downloaded version. Pressing the guide button works 1/3 of the time. However, and this is really weird, it seems to load better after midnight. Like usually the first try. Don't know if there's any real correlation or if I'm just having better luck at night.

Virtue267 12-18-2013 02:39 AM

I found a solution that works for me, may not work for everyone. First thing I do is load up the game Golf! Tee It Up and then dashboard out of that, and then load this game. For some reason that works for me. May work with other games, may not.

Edit: Note that I have the downloaded version of this game not the disc.

kylejrichard 01-10-2014 10:24 PM

I have had the same problems playing the downloaded version of the game as everyone else...namely that it won't start up. I have found though that the game starts up 100% of the time after I have either used Netflix or previously played another game on demand. I have no idea why this works or if it will work for others.
Good luck.

Reick17 01-16-2014 04:58 AM

After an hour of trying every tip imaginable, I got the game to load.

Put in another game and boot it up to the Start screen (I happened to use Deadpool), then bring up the Guide and quit to dashboard. Then put in Friend or Foe disc, and it starts up right away.

I had also installed the disc to HDD in a previous attempt, don't know if that affects my instructions at all.

Hope it helps! :)

MissJaded 05-23-2014 03:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reick17 (Post 6184818)
After an hour of trying every tip imaginable, I got the game to load.

Put in another game and boot it up to the Start screen (I happened to use Deadpool), then bring up the Guide and quit to dashboard. Then put in Friend or Foe disc, and it starts up right away.

I had also installed the disc to HDD in a previous attempt, don't know if that affects my instructions at all.

Hope it helps! :)

This works only way that does. My friend installed FOF on his hard drive when there was that spider-man sale. The game doesn't show on the marketplace anymore so I couldn't install it. I re-downloaded it from his downloaded history. I'm playing his console btw so I could play it.

I loaded up an arcade game (Poker Night 2) hit the guide button and dashboard. Then I loaded up Mass Effect 2 on a disc, it had an update so did that and hit the guide button and dashboard.

Great now I can play the last mission over and over again. Good thing there is a thing called music. Ugh x__x


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.