XboxAchievements.com

XboxAchievements.com (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/index.php)
-   Halo 3 (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=257)
-   -   FAQs - Look Here Before Asking Questions. (http://www.xboxachievements.com/forum/showthread.php?t=36683)

The Pants Party 08-25-2007 01:17 PM

FAQs - Look Here Before Asking Questions.
 
Will be opened and edited once the game is released. Make sure you look in this thread before you make a new post. Chances are, your question will already be answered in here. Thank you.

Q: Can you get multiplayer achievements in social/custom matches?

A: No, the achievement stipulates RANKED matches. Many also stipulate free-for-all games, so take note for each achievement to be sure you're in the right gametype.

Q: What are all the different multiplayer medals you can get?
A: Please see this thread.

Q: Where is xxx Skull?

A: Please see this thread.

Q: Where is xxx Terminal?

A: Please see this thread.

Q: How do you get the meta-game achievement for xxx level?

A: Please see this thread.

Q: How do you use the map editor? How do you make a custom game?
A: Please ask all questions in this thread.

Q: How do you unlock the armor variants for multiplayer?

A: Please see this thread.

Q: What are all the online ranks?
A: Please see this link.

Q: If I beat the game on Normal, can I select the last level on Legendary to get the achievement?
A: No, you must play the entire game.

Q: If I beat a few levels, then make a new game and start where I left off, will I get the "Completed Campaign" achievements?
A: Yes, you simply have to have completed every level on the same difficulty, even during different saves.

Q: Can you save a co-op game?
A: Yes. Have the host save and quit. Once everyone wants to start again, he will need to load the game and invite everyone back.

Q: I didn't get the achievement for xx level, what's the deal?

A: It appears levels must be done in one sitting for the achievement to register. Once you finish the campaign (you will still get this achievement), just go back and redo them on Normal for the level achievement.

Q: Can you do the levels out of order and get the "Campaign Complete" achievements?

A: Yes, they must all be on the same difficulty, and you must also do the cutscene "Arrival" as well. Check the bottom right corner as you highlight a level and it will show what difficulty it has been complete on.

Q: Is there a way to boost for online achievements?
A: Yes, sort of. You need to change your console's language to something random (people have been using whatever is second from the bottom on the list) and then have the game search for a game by language. At the main menu, count 3 down, this is "matchmaking" -- once in there, count 3 down again and select this, then select the first option which will switch your gametype to "lone wolves" -- highlight the "lone wolves" option again and hit "X" and then select the very bottom option, this will change your game search to "by language" -- back out and go to the bottom option to start a search.

Q: If I complete some levels on co-op and some solo will I get the "campaign complete" achievements?
A: Yes, so long as all the levels have the same difficulty shield in the bottom right when you highlight them. Just needs to be in one of the boxes, doesn't matter the combination.

Adam Miller 09-24-2007 03:23 PM

How do i unlock spartan suit parts for my player?

P1NSEEKER 09-25-2007 12:39 PM

Just what i was wondering.

What are the necesarry requirements to unlock specific helmets armour etc?

Adam Miller 09-25-2007 04:28 PM

I know theres one called ninja i think which someone posted and said he got it after beating legendary.

Maybe for getting all skulls and terminals, people will find out eventually.

Vista 09-26-2007 01:30 AM

I have made a thread about this but havent unlocked any yet... any help would be appreciated and a sticky would be nice!!!

iskoot 09-26-2007 02:29 PM

Has anyone figured out if they were banned in Halo 2 if they were able to play MP Halo 3?

The Pants Party 09-26-2007 03:27 PM

Probably. Try it out and if not, start a new tag.

P1NSEEKER 09-26-2007 03:43 PM

The link to how to unlock armour, i think that came from a list on gamefaqs that was found to be wrong :s

razzleson 09-26-2007 05:36 PM

I just looked, an there's a Halo Wiki that has the armor types and how to unlock them. however not all of them are figured out yet.

http://halo.wikia.com/wiki/Halo_3#Player_Customization

Just in case the above link is infact incorrect.

Frantic Killer4 09-26-2007 08:02 PM

well i didnt want to start a new thread and i figured that this is the faq's so i have a question. if this is not the right place sorry.

how can i tell if it is a free for all game type. cause i just got a kill tacular and i didn't get the ach. and i was playing ranked. please help

Shaaady Souljah 09-26-2007 08:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Frantic Killer4 (Post 416301)
how can i tell if it is a free for all game type

free-for-all is any mode that is non-team-based. aka every man for himself. if anyone else is on your team (double team up to large slayer), then it is not free-for-all

Frantic Killer4 09-26-2007 08:11 PM

all right thank you. great now i have to get that kill tac all over again lol

hopesfall2win 09-27-2007 02:45 AM

I never played halo or halo 2 online so don't bust my balls, but how do you create clans/squads or w/e you wanna call them? Can't find any info at bungie.net except for "groups" which seem to be blogs/forum stuff..
________
ZOLOFT PROBLEMS

Frantic Killer4 09-27-2007 03:46 AM

^^^for ur question i know in halo 2 all you had to do was click over on the right stick and you were at the clan tab and you could just create one real quick. however i will check in about 15 min to see how to do it

The Pants Party 09-27-2007 03:59 AM

There is no clan support in Halo 3. Rumor has it that it will be built into the dashboard of the system itself so you can use the same clan for every game, but that is not confirmed.

pongsifu 09-27-2007 05:15 AM

I know it has to be free-for-all to get most of the achievements, but when I start/join a game, the only ranked types listed are all teams. Can I not play free-for-all until a certain rank or what?

Bmill420 09-27-2007 05:34 AM

If you beat the game already can you select the last level and beat it on another difficulty to get the achievement?

Lunacy182 09-27-2007 12:27 PM

Whats the decay rate of your exp in multiplayer?

pongsifu 09-27-2007 12:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pongsifu (Post 416655)
I know it has to be free-for-all to get most of the achievements, but when I start/join a game, the only ranked types listed are all teams. Can I not play free-for-all until a certain rank or what?

Nevermind, I see it now, I'm just retarded.

The Pants Party 09-27-2007 01:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bmill420 (Post 416661)
If you beat the game already can you select the last level and beat it on another difficulty to get the achievement?

No, you must do the whole game.

iskoot 09-27-2007 04:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Pants Party (Post 416028)
Probably. Try it out and if not, start a new tag.

LOL...I was never banned, I just remember the thread that was out there about this and I interested to see if Overkill was right or wrong, plus I thought it would be a good question for the FAQ, I'm just surprised no one knows for sure one way or the other yet.

Adam Miller 09-27-2007 04:21 PM

Can you add like whats the difference between skill and exp level and which can go down or up and how. Also can you add like a ranking thing when we know them for how much exp is needed for each one.:)

When your not busy that is..:)

twelve 09-27-2007 04:58 PM

I havent had a chance to play this yet but talking to a friend he said that you cant choose the map you want to play in Ranked multiplayer matches. Is this true or has he just not worked it out yet?

He said it's like the beta in that the map is automatically chosen and you can veto if you dont want to play it.

2LIVE 09-27-2007 05:49 PM

NEWBIE questions. It was kind of answered but I dont get it.

I start a solo game on normal.

If my girl signs on with her profile and starts a co op with me on heroic does that erase my solo sh*t?

Also how come you cant save a specific point in the game on local co-Op? And we started the co-op on heroic, quit, turned it on this morning and it reverted back to NORMAL difficaulty.

How will these issues affect my campain acheivements?

Do i have to switch it to heroic every time?

And ill always have to play through the entire level on co0op to have it saved?

And finally, can you only play one campaign at a time per profile?

thanks in advance for not acting like the know it all asses at EB and GAmeStop.

peace

2LIVE

Wes Ide 09-28-2007 04:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Pants Party (Post 377085)
Q: If I beat a few levels, then make a new game and start where I left off, will I get the "Completed Campaign" achievements?
A: No, you must play through the entire game in one save. If you start fresh, it erases your progress, even when simply switching from solo to co-op.

I'm confused by this.

I started, played thru Level 1, then had to quit before completing it.

Next time I played, I resumed from the checkpoint in Level 1, played through that level and didn't get the Achievement. I continued, played through all of Level 2, and got the Achievement for that. I quit there.

Next day, I resumed from Mission Start of Level 3, played through it all, and got my Achievement for Level 3 once done.

Based on the format of playing one level in its entirety at a time, I'll get all the Achievements but the one for the first level.
- Will I not got a Campaign Complete because I don't have credit for Level 1 complete?
- If I go back to replay Level 1 from its start, and complete Level 1 in its entirety to get the Level 1 Achievement, can I then resume from the start of Level 4, or will this nullify my Campaign Complete Achievement?

What should I do? :/

pongsifu 09-28-2007 05:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by twelve (Post 417037)
I havent had a chance to play this yet but talking to a friend he said that you cant choose the map you want to play in Ranked multiplayer matches. Is this true or has he just not worked it out yet?

He said it's like the beta in that the map is automatically chosen and you can veto if you dont want to play it.

You can either let it pick for you automatically (and the players can vote to change if they don't like the map) or you can set up a more specific match and choose the map, game type, what weapons are there, ect. Although I've only done the latter once and it was an open game and you have to wait around for people to join instead of it automatically finding them. Then again I wasn't really trying all that hard to figure it out.

SonOfNorris86 09-28-2007 06:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Pants Party (Post 377085)
Q: If I beat a few levels, then make a new game and start where I left off, will I get the "Completed Campaign" achievements?
A: No, you must play through the entire game in one save. If you start fresh, it erases your progress, even when simply switching from solo to co-op.

When I got to the 3rd lvl my console froze and had to select it and start from there. After beating the game I got the achievement for beating campaign. I am not sure if your trying to say switching difficulties while doing so though.

twelve 09-28-2007 10:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pongsifu (Post 417522)
You can either let it pick for you automatically (and the players can vote to change if they don't like the map) or you can set up a more specific match and choose the map, game type, what weapons are there, ect. Although I've only done the latter once and it was an open game and you have to wait around for people to join instead of it automatically finding them. Then again I wasn't really trying all that hard to figure it out.

I assume that's through the custom game option on the menu?

I managed to get online last night and had a quick flick through the options. It doesn't seem ideal not being able to choose the map in ranked games but at least the option is there in custom game.

Wes Ide 09-28-2007 02:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Wes Ide (Post 417502)
I'm confused by this.

I started, played thru Level 1, then had to quit before completing it.

Next time I played, I resumed from the checkpoint in Level 1, played through that level and didn't get the Achievement. I continued, played through all of Level 2, and got the Achievement for that. I quit there.

Next day, I resumed from Mission Start of Level 3, played through it all, and got my Achievement for Level 3 once done.

Based on the format of playing one level in its entirety at a time, I'll get all the Achievements but the one for the first level.
- Will I not got a Campaign Complete because I don't have credit for Level 1 complete?
- If I go back to replay Level 1 from its start, and complete Level 1 in its entirety to get the Level 1 Achievement, can I then resume from the start of Level 4, or will this nullify my Campaign Complete Achievement?

What should I do? :/


One of my concerns with the above is, if because I stopped in level One then continued from a checkpoint, if that means I won't get the Campaign Complete Achievement. And if, to get all levels complete on Legendary, I'll need to replay all of Level 1 in one shot. And then, if doing that makes me need to play from there forwards, not just complete all of Level 1 and then resume from the start of Level 4.

Reason being, if I need to start over, I'd like to know before I continue in Legendary mode for no reason.

2LIVE 09-28-2007 07:05 PM

Can anyone help us, pleasey please?


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.