PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Shooter > Dark Void
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2010, 04:36 AM   #1
Bahaumaut
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 255

Bahaumaut's Gamercard
Exclamation 'Grease Monkey'? Try this! (if you still can...)

Okay, I did a little research and I think I may have a way of getting the glitched 'Grease Monkey' achievement, at least if you haven't already attempted to do so (or can delete your profile and retrieve a pre-DarkVoid profile from Live... if you've been connected since playing, you may already be screwed!)

I did not get it the first time, as I was simply upgrading and playing through. However, I knew from the forums that it apparently saves the gun info in your profile, so I disconnected myself from LIVE (fully unplugged the Box), played, glitched. I deleted my profile, reconnected to redownload my LIVE profile, disconnected again, and then performed the following steps.

First, I went and grinded 141,600+ tech points. I suggest a little bit over just in case. That is how much it will cost to upgrade all your weapons and your jetpack. I then did 2-4 again, topping off my points in the first section with the ships before the drop troops came in the second part of the level. After fighting several, I went to one of the boxes in the area to upgrade. I then performed the following steps:

1) I equipped the Liberator in the first slot (I think it was already equipped).
2) I bought the first upgrade, then after a few seconds, bought the second.
3) I then swapped the first slot to the Magnetar, and repeated step #2.
4+) I repeated #2 for all the guns, specifically doing the top row from left to right, then the bottom row from left to right.
5) After upgrading all the guns, I then went and did step #2 on the jetpack.
6) I got the warm fuzzies upon seeing that damn achievement pop up.

I don't know if there's any specific case for upgrades in the first slot vs. second slot, or order of the slots. It may be that just upgrading all at the same time works. Additionally, it may be that there's a separate issue causing the thing to glitch.

One thought as a programmer myself, and this is all conjecture, is that the 'upgrade' status is kept separately from the 'Upgrade Count'. The Upgrade count is checked for 14 upgrades bought (6 weapons + 1 jetpack, * 2 upgrades each)... and the upgrade count is only saved at a checkpoint. So if you quit and/or die, the upgrade count is < the actual # of upgrades. And as the upgrades themselves are saved in your profile permenantly... well, you may never get to the 14, causing the glitch. As I said, conjecture, but could explain the problem.

I'm not about to go and try to harvest tech points on another run just to test it some more; if you try this out, post here stating whether it worked for you or not.
__________________
*NO* longer playing Kingdoms & Lords!

AM WILLING TO HELP WITH OTHER ACHIEVES

Send messages to inquire. Some games I no longer have. Ones I have I can help with.
Please include information in the message, and not just a friend request.
Gamertag: "Bahaumaut"
East Coast, USA (EST/EDT timezone)
Available gaming/boosting times:
Weekdays: 7:00PM - 12:00PM (EST/EDT)
Weekends: Generally all day (EST/EDT)
Bahaumaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 08:37 AM   #2
Suki
 
Suki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,589

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
this is all great as long as u havent glitched out already ive give up up on a fix now so im not gonna get the last 2 ach's and its a shit sandwich for me. really annoying after all the grinding done for the tech points.
__________________
Over 100 Games 1000 Pointed
Suki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 03:45 PM   #3
Bahaumaut
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 255

Bahaumaut's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suki View Post
this is all great as long as u havent glitched out already ive give up up on a fix now so im not gonna get the last 2 ach's and its a shit sandwich for me. really annoying after all the grinding done for the tech points.
Unforuntately, as I said in the first paragraph:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bahaumaut View Post
[A]t least if you haven't already attempted to do so (or can delete your profile and retrieve a pre-DarkVoid profile from Live... if you've been connected since playing, you may already be screwed!)
Until they get a 'reset' switch like CrackDown finally got (Multiplayer was one player's persistent world, and someone could come in and beat all the bosses before you got anywhere, leaving you with nothing to do in your game until an update/DLC allowed for 'restarting' all the enemies), this achieve will probably be glitched. If you have not attempted and have your profile on LIVE, I strongly suggest to stay off LIVE while doing so, and delete your profile and re-acquire it afterwards if you get the glitch. Unfortunately, there seems to be little news from the devs who did 'One of the most anticipated games of 2010'.
__________________
*NO* longer playing Kingdoms & Lords!

AM WILLING TO HELP WITH OTHER ACHIEVES

Send messages to inquire. Some games I no longer have. Ones I have I can help with.
Please include information in the message, and not just a friend request.
Gamertag: "Bahaumaut"
East Coast, USA (EST/EDT timezone)
Available gaming/boosting times:
Weekdays: 7:00PM - 12:00PM (EST/EDT)
Weekends: Generally all day (EST/EDT)
Bahaumaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 09:45 PM   #4
Mea Onus
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 68

WiseFwumYuhGwev's Gamercard
While this may not be of much use to anyone I figured I'll put it out there all the same.

I picked up the game on April 12th and there was a title update there (oddly enough I forgot I pulled my ethernet out for my PS3 and did the first few missions offline) and finished up with 1k score on two afternoons later.

I upgraded my equipment a few times, both at the beginning of a mission and through the use of in game boxes. After I finished the game I needed roughly 80,000 tech points to complete grease monkey and spent a few hours farming it at Chapter 2-4 on casual (I did the first and only playthrough on Hardcore). Once I had enough tech points I quit out and reloaded up the same chapter on Hardcore and upgraded all of the items (in no particular order) at the weapon locker starring at you in the beginning of the level. I didn't delay my timing and I didn't make sure they were in any particular slot.

As I said for what it's worth I thought I'd give my experience which this horrible achievement. I may have simply been one of the lucky ones and dodged a bullet here. Or the title update made it less glitchy (perhaps the key was doing the last upgrade in game). I feel for those that did get hit with this shitty bug as I would have been right there pissed as you were if I had that happen. Best of luck guys and thanks to Bahaumaut for doing his very best to alleviate some of the problems people are having with this game.
Mea Onus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 10:59 PM   #5
RadiantViper
 
RadiantViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,815

radiantviper's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts   Submit - Bronze
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
I just got this game and haven't played it, so let me get this straight:

1. Start up game not connecting to LIVE or playing online
2. Play until 2-4 (or do I have to play farther to get all the guns?)
3. Farm the points and upgrade all at once like you said
4. If it doesn't pop, delete/recover profile and try again

Just wondering cause I'll defnitely try this to help confirm. Replaying would be lame, but better than a glitched achievement.
__________________
~Thanks to jtr1gg3r for the sig~
~Retail 100%: 128 - Latest: Sunset Overdrive~
~Arcade 100%: 84 - Latest: Magic 2014 DOTP~
RadiantViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 12:37 AM   #6
Bahaumaut
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 255

Bahaumaut's Gamercard
RadiantViper,

It's probably okay to connect to Live starting up, at least to get the one title update. Any patches are probably needed given some of the issues with the game. The key is that the game saves some stuff, like the weapon upgrades, to your profile, but other stuff isn't (like whatever it does to ID you bought all the upgrades; I assume it's a # counter). Because some stuff gets put into your profile without you being able to remove it, this can cause the 'permanant' glitch on grease monkey.

So you can get the title update, but when you're going for the grease monkey achieve, make sure you disconnect completely (remove all wired/wireless connections to your 360) so that your online profile is pristine. This way, if something happens and your achieve doesn't unlock once you get all the upgrades, you have the ability to blow away your local copy from storage. Reconnect to Live, do a recovery (this will take several minutes, unfortunately), and attempt again. Just be careful to delete your profile and not all the associated content with it; it gives you the option if you have to go that route.

As an aside, there appears to be a new feature with USBs being a storage medium. No clue if you can use it to store your profile and/or use it as a backup. If so, it might be another way to protect us from the problem.
__________________
*NO* longer playing Kingdoms & Lords!

AM WILLING TO HELP WITH OTHER ACHIEVES

Send messages to inquire. Some games I no longer have. Ones I have I can help with.
Please include information in the message, and not just a friend request.
Gamertag: "Bahaumaut"
East Coast, USA (EST/EDT timezone)
Available gaming/boosting times:
Weekdays: 7:00PM - 12:00PM (EST/EDT)
Weekends: Generally all day (EST/EDT)
Bahaumaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 12:43 AM   #7
RadiantViper
 
RadiantViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,815

radiantviper's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts   Submit - Bronze
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Alright, thanks a ton for the clarification. I'll try this and post my results
__________________
~Thanks to jtr1gg3r for the sig~
~Retail 100%: 128 - Latest: Sunset Overdrive~
~Arcade 100%: 84 - Latest: Magic 2014 DOTP~
RadiantViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 12:21 PM   #8
RadiantViper
 
RadiantViper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,815

radiantviper's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts   Submit - Bronze
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Well, good news and bad news. Good news is I got the achievement. Bad news is I can't confirm the recovering method since I got it my first try. Never upgraded anything until I got enough points for all of them, went offline, upgraded at an in-game box, and did the order you described in the original post and it popped just fine. So at the very least I can lend credence to that upgrading method. Still, this is obviously the way to go to avoid this glitch, so big props for the heads up
__________________
~Thanks to jtr1gg3r for the sig~
~Retail 100%: 128 - Latest: Sunset Overdrive~
~Arcade 100%: 84 - Latest: Magic 2014 DOTP~
RadiantViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 07:04 AM   #9
RA1NKING
Banned User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 552
I did the same thing and it worked for me :-). Got my 1000 thanks to these tips. I did what the achievement guide says. I made sure i had 145000. After i had enough money. I saved. Copied my savegame and profile to memstick. Loaded game - Upgraded weopons all in slot 1 , upgraded jetpack and achievement popped :-)
Thanks again for the tips.
RA1NKING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 04:02 AM   #10
rabies
 
rabies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 599

Teamlead Taco's Gamercard
I pretty much did the same as RadiantViper. I played through the entire game while connected to xbl on hardcore without every upgrading/swapping any weapons..I would just immediately close that screen when it came up. Once I finished and had 144600 tech points, I quit the game, disconnected from XBL, loaded the game, loaded episode 2-4, went right for the box, upgraded everything as you posted and the achivement popped with no problems.

Honestly, I think you can skip the disconnecting from XBL part. I think as long as you never upgrade at all until you have enough tech points to do so all at one time, you should be good to go.
rabies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 02:48 PM   #11
Helg0r
 
Helg0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 485

toxik helg0r's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Road Map - Bronze
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
I did it this way: I upgraded the Opressor once during a mission and the Liberator once before a mission (did continue to finish the mission though), then the Jetpack again twice during a mission. Then I went on to complete the game (everything so far on hardcore) and grinded my tech-points on casual. Once done I shut off my Xbox, unplugged the ethernet-cable, loaded the game back up and upgraded the rest of the weapons in chapter 2-4 with difficulty set to hardcore again. Achievement unlocked just fine.

You probably don't need all these safety measures as it should be enough to upgrade the last weapon ingame but you can never be sure... anyway thanks to the OP for the idea of recovering your profile. That made it less ...thrilling :P
__________________


Seringue Absorption Torture Alienation Nihilism
e

Last edited by Helg0r; 04-29-2010 at 02:50 PM.
Helg0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 10:53 PM   #12
zimzvm
 
zimzvm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: poland
Posts: 637

zimzvm's Gamercard
just to make things clear - I don't have to farm all the tech points, and can freely upgrade my stuff anytime in the game baring in mind that the last upgrade has to be done during the chapter and not in in-game menus, righ ?
__________________
Let the vodka FLOW like... uhh... the rivers in Egypt! Yeah!!!

- Rob Flynn


zimzvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 09:58 PM   #13
Bigniptizel13
 
Bigniptizel13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 14

Bigniptizel13's Gamercard
Got Grease Monkey!!!

Thank you for this method, really helped me out
__________________
Bigniptizel13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:26 AM.