PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Shooters > Armored Core 4
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2007, 06:12 PM   #1
Keith84
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 38

The Reverend 84's Gamercard
can't seem to get S rank for defend icebreaker stage (normal)

i tried diz stage many times only to get A rank..anyone can suggest how to get S rank? i've completed the stage without even letting a single sub fire a missile..but still no S rank..

any help would be much appreciated..
Keith84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 06:36 PM   #2
AOS Puck
Moderator
 
AOS Puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,831

AOS Puck's Gamercard

Awards Showcase CABS Beta Tester   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   Adhere to the Creed Franchise Club - Tier 1   Staff Club - Grifter Reborn   2,500 Posts   Staff/Subscriber Last Man Standing - Third Place   Staff Club - DeekBoy   Staff Club - * Clueless *   Staff Club - AOS Puck   XBA Promoter   Arcade Crazy - Silver   Over Achiever - Silver
Total Awards: 17 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith84 View Post
i tried diz stage many times only to get A rank..anyone can suggest how to get S rank? i've completed the stage without even letting a single sub fire a missile..but still no S rank..

any help would be much appreciated..
You need to pay attention to the mission to find out what requirements there are. There are three basic things:

Amount Of Damage Taken (Less damage taken, more points for you)
Ammunition (Less ammo used, more points for you)
Time (Quicker you finish, more points for you)

All missions use one to all three of those requirements in order to figure out your Rank. At the end of a mission just look to see what requirements are being used for that mission and adjust your gameplay accordingly.

Edit: Apparently the mission you are having trouble with is based on Damage and Time.

Quote:
16. Icebreaker Defense
N. 12800ap / -ammo / 330s
H. 14800ap / -ammo / 330s
Just edit your mech and weaponry so that you can do quick damage and not sustain a lot of damage. By the way, those numbers above are what you need to obtain Rank S for Normal & Hard difficulties.
__________________
FORUM RULES

Read them.... apply them.

Last edited by AOS Puck; 05-29-2007 at 06:40 PM.
AOS Puck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 02:52 AM   #3
Keith84
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 38

The Reverend 84's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by AOS Puck View Post
You need to pay attention to the mission to find out what requirements there are. There are three basic things:

Amount Of Damage Taken (Less damage taken, more points for you)
Ammunition (Less ammo used, more points for you)
Time (Quicker you finish, more points for you)

All missions use one to all three of those requirements in order to figure out your Rank. At the end of a mission just look to see what requirements are being used for that mission and adjust your gameplay accordingly.

Edit: Apparently the mission you are having trouble with is based on Damage and Time.

Just edit your mech and weaponry so that you can do quick damage and not sustain a lot of damage. By the way, those numbers above are what you need to obtain Rank S for Normal & Hard difficulties.
as a matter of fact for dat mission..i suffered 0AP dmg..i used only lik 20k of ammo and 189secs..all 3 requirements are under the threshold..still no S rank!!
Keith84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2007, 02:40 PM   #4
AOS Puck
Moderator
 
AOS Puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,831

AOS Puck's Gamercard

Awards Showcase CABS Beta Tester   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   Adhere to the Creed Franchise Club - Tier 1   Staff Club - Grifter Reborn   2,500 Posts   Staff/Subscriber Last Man Standing - Third Place   Staff Club - DeekBoy   Staff Club - * Clueless *   Staff Club - AOS Puck   XBA Promoter   Arcade Crazy - Silver   Over Achiever - Silver
Total Awards: 17 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith84 View Post
as a matter of fact for dat mission..i suffered 0AP dmg..i used only lik 20k of ammo and 189secs..all 3 requirements are under the threshold..still no S rank!!
No clue what to tell you then, your game may be glitched then.
__________________
FORUM RULES

Read them.... apply them.
AOS Puck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 01:03 PM   #5
Yoshi6107
 
Yoshi6107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 137

HollowYoshi's Gamercard
I have the same problem, I've been trying to get the achievements for 'Mission Rank S' and 'Mission Rank SS' and that is one of the ones I just can't get an S rank on!
__________________
Yoshi6107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 06:28 PM   #6
deathbypig37x
 
deathbypig37x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 891

deathbypig x3h's Gamercard

Awards Showcase UMK3 Runner-up   Gears of War Annex Challenge Third Place
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Well, if you're playing this mission on NORMAL, then just use the least costly Grenade launchers on your back. It's what I did.
Also, tune your mech to be extremely fast, do not worry about defense/AP. Basically, just make it to where you can overboost a lot, and are very fast. (Turn your KP output all the way up, and then your overboost)

Other than that, memorize where each Sub spawns, and which ones spawn first.
(Hopefully, I have the right mission in mind, I traded this game ages ago once I got all 1000)
deathbypig37x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 12:09 PM   #7
logitech
 
logitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: England, North London (University in September)
Posts: 145
Send a message via MSN to logitech

TRAGICxGENERAL's Gamercard
This is so bloody hard i can't seem to get a "A" RANK or "S" RANK, at all its so hard. and i cant see how some people do it!..
logitech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2007, 11:25 PM   #8
antthehorrible
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
I have the same damned problem!
i did the mission with zero damage, zero wepon cost ( i spiked them all, dead in 2 hits while theyre still coming out of the water) and in 183 seconds but apparently thats still just an A, what the hell do you need to do to get an S? i dont think you can physically do it any faster, i have already trimmed my mech to just the 2 blades, nothing else and also the fastest its possible to build. If anybody does have an S rank on this mission can you tell me what your stats were for it.
antthehorrible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2007, 11:24 PM   #9
Vraikthan
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Ah hah! Found it.

You need to get 180 seconds or under for S rank. What I did... is dual grenade launchers on my back, quad precision legs (for sniping), and 2 050ANSR Sniper Rifles. And don't forget the 047AN05 FCS chip. Just try to find a point in the map where you have a clear line of sight to the subs and blow them out of the water. The speed at which you destroy the first 2 waves is unimportant, but destroy the last wave (the one of 4) ASAP!
Vraikthan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 05:20 PM   #10
muters
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 200

muters's Gamercard
The 047AN05 FCS chip is definitely the key, I couldn't get an S rank until I used it. Beef up your EN output, lighten your mech as much as possible, tune your boosters to get the most out of them, and with the 047AN05 chip you should get a good radar outlay of the map.

When the last wave of 4 subs surface, they'll make a square on the radar (one at each corner) Try to hover in the middle of this and you shouldn't have to move much to be able to lock on to each with two OGOTOs (or high powered sniper rifles, if you prefer) Just turn to face each one from this position, only move as close as you need to lock on, fire and quickly turn to the next. Firing two OGOTOs at once should be more than enough to sink each sub from this distance, so you don't have to wait until they've hit before attacking the next one.

I finished the mission at 177s this way, I hope it helps
muters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2008, 06:26 PM   #11
jamie122
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 43
i had this problem too. the games not glitched you just have to be very fast ,knowing which order the subs spawn in is more important than how fast your a.c. goes
jamie122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 07:07 PM   #12
Doug x360a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 101
Send a message via AIM to Doug x360a Send a message via MSN to Doug x360a

Doug x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Bronze
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith84 View Post
i tried diz stage many times only to get A rank..anyone can suggest how to get S rank? i've completed the stage without even letting a single sub fire a missile..but still no S rank..

any help would be much appreciated..
watch the videos for S Rank on youttube just type in AC4 and the name of the mission. It has the guy on Hard so should be same concept on Normal
Doug x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 10:49 PM   #13
Earthbound_X
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 225

EarthboundX's Gamercard
Yeah! Once I put on the 047AN05 FCS chip, it took me two tries for Normal, and only one on Hard to get both S ranks!

Thanks guys!
__________________


Earthbound_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:08 AM.