PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Simulation > Port Royale 3
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 06:55 PM   #31
xD Rick
Banned User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 223
Send a message via MSN to xD Rick

xD Rick's Gamercard
Guys, I want to start it, just let me ask you, how is the dificulty and time estimated to get the full 1000?
Thank you friends.
xD Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:51 PM   #32
gazmaster1
 
gazmaster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Caerdydd, Cymraeg
Posts: 1,401

Gazmaster3D's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Arcade Crazy - Silver   1,000 Posts   Over Achiever - Silver
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xD Rick View Post
Guys, I want to start it, just let me ask you, how is the dificulty and time estimated to get the full 1000?
Thank you friends.
It is a minimum of 50 hours as one achievement is to spend 50 hours at sea. Once you get the hang of it, it is not difficult.
__________________
gazmaster1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:21 AM   #33
porter20
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 39

porter022's Gamercard
any one know if crow's nest achvo is bugged has I have destroyed 12 priate nest in one game after they where found? and the defene a town 5 times anyone know if that can be done in the campaigns or just free play?

Last edited by porter20; 09-13-2012 at 08:39 AM.
porter20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:54 AM   #34
Azrael008uk
 
Azrael008uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 703

Azrael008uk's Gamercard
A really good Top Tip for getting a handle on things if you feel it's getting a bit hectic with trading, combat and convoys...

LT Button: Slows Time To X 0.1

Just pull it again to go to normal speed (and of course LB speeds time to X 10).

I'm doing the Merchant campaing which gives me a great understanding of trading, convoys and the economy but zero tutorials about battles so far. Got attacked by Pirates and had to reload.

Az
__________________

pixels
Azrael008uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 10:03 AM   #35
BUZZARDIO 1080
 
BUZZARDIO 1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 318

BUZZARDIO 1080's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outlinez View Post
once the countdown starts press the back button and t'll show the battles and you can select and take control of them
awsome thankyou so much , i started consistantly winning naval battles last night after restarting the trader campaign and setting up my convoys a little more agressivly ,no i hope to win them all (no ai = every time win) damn i love this game .
BUZZARDIO 1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 06:03 PM   #36
gazmaster1
 
gazmaster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Caerdydd, Cymraeg
Posts: 1,401

Gazmaster3D's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Arcade Crazy - Silver   1,000 Posts   Over Achiever - Silver
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
I seem to have a giant wall. I am not longer making money but slowly losing it and every one in the game seems to be kicking my ass. Think I may need to start a new game and see how that goes.
__________________
gazmaster1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 11:04 AM   #37
BUZZARDIO 1080
 
BUZZARDIO 1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 318

BUZZARDIO 1080's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by gazmaster1 View Post
I seem to have a giant wall. I am not longer making money but slowly losing it and every one in the game seems to be kicking my ass. Think I may need to start a new game and see how that goes.

thats worrying!!!,what year did you get to when it started to go wrong, and how are you getting beaten in combat , i know you're using war galleons three of them are unstoppable arnt they? since i started using 3 in all my convoy escorts, pirates dont even seem to bother attacking.
i just finished my trader campaign and dont know if to continue this game and go for cheevos ,or start the adventure campaign,i want to go for the taking over town achievments but cayman was a pain in the ass annexing via economy and 30 more towns may be a bridge to far ,but i dont want to piss nations of by annexing thier towns martially.oh the quandries of a mariner.
Also can some one tell me what exactly the white beacons above most of my homes /businesses are?
BUZZARDIO 1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 01:02 PM   #38
Eggnogga
 
Eggnogga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,387

Eggnogga's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Well, the ONLY positive thing about the release date being pushed back in the USA would be to read this thread and get a sense of how the game plays out. Gives me some tips for when I start up.
__________________
My band / YouTube / Twitter
Eggnogga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2012, 03:42 PM   #39
Outlinez
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13

Outlinez's Gamercard
Those white beacons are just to show you what buildings are yours as once an island is fully built etc it can look a little crazy it helps for economic takeovers as you can see what you own or not

For the taking over towns best thing to do is use wars to your advantage get the letters of marque and then abuse whoever its against take out their military as much as possible to as they then have to rebuy them early on in game would be best to attempt this even if you take them one at a time so not to destroy relations completely

Buying all ships will be a right pain in the ass lol
__________________

Last edited by Outlinez; 09-14-2012 at 03:57 PM.
Outlinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:37 PM   #40
Zombiechild
 
Zombiechild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Essex England
Posts: 136

Zombiechild's Gamercard
For them trying for the own all ships heres a list i found! i take no credit for it.

LINK! Touch meclick me you know you want me..

Pinnace
Sloop
Brigg
Barque ( Barc)
PirateBarque ( Barc )
Corvette
Fluyt
Frigate
Military Frigate
Galleon
Trade Fluyt
Caravel
Carrack
War Galleon
Ship of the line

Soon as i dig out the link to were i got this info will post it as it has pics and stuff for each ship..
__________________
I know what comes after Death.. it sucked.. why do you think im a zombie?

Last edited by Zombiechild; 09-16-2012 at 06:39 PM. Reason: Found the link!
Zombiechild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:23 PM   #41
Outlinez
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13

Outlinez's Gamercard
Thanks Zombiechild saw that earlier hopefully ill have a better chance at getting some earlier ships once they finally give us the update the pc version had already will focus on the others for now
__________________
Outlinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 08:27 PM   #42
BUZZARDIO 1080
 
BUZZARDIO 1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 318

BUZZARDIO 1080's Gamercard
Anyone got any advice on rankin up,I got to admiral of the fleet and my xp bar is actually going down
BUZZARDIO 1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 08:27 AM   #43
Dragon83uk
 
Dragon83uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 330

Dragon83uk's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by porter20 View Post
any one know if crow's nest achvo is bugged has I have destroyed 12 priate nest in one game after they where found?
I'm thinking it is, when it finally popped for me I'd already took out at least 16.
__________________
Dragon83uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 02:52 PM   #44
BUZZARDIO 1080
 
BUZZARDIO 1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 318

BUZZARDIO 1080's Gamercard
i think so aswell, i got destroyed 10 nests achievement ages ago , but still havent discovered 10 nests???
BUZZARDIO 1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 04:14 PM   #45
Starkweather
 
Starkweather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Carcer City
Posts: 1,095

starkweatherxc's Gamercard
Okay been enjoying so far and slowly getting hang of things. I was losing a lot of money though and realized i hadn't even set any trade routes, as soon as i did my money shot up.

But i accidentally put my only two convoys on profit routes and don't know how to get one back

Also at one point i had an option to buy an additional convoy at Port Royale but didn't have the money, now i do and option has gone.

Will i get an option to buy another one again?
__________________
Starkweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:28 PM   #46
BUZZARDIO 1080
 
BUZZARDIO 1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 318

BUZZARDIO 1080's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starkweather View Post
Okay been enjoying so far and slowly getting hang of things. I was losing a lot of money though and realized i hadn't even set any trade routes, as soon as i did my money shot up.

But i accidentally put my only two convoys on profit routes and don't know how to get one back

Also at one point i had an option to buy an additional convoy at Port Royale but didn't have the money, now i do and option has gone.

Will i get an option to buy another one again?
Yeah , to get a new convoy, buy a boat and whilst its in the dock select it and it will let u form a new convoy.
BUZZARDIO 1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 10:41 AM   #47
gazmaster1
 
gazmaster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Caerdydd, Cymraeg
Posts: 1,401

Gazmaster3D's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Arcade Crazy - Silver   1,000 Posts   Over Achiever - Silver
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starkweather View Post
Okay been enjoying so far and slowly getting hang of things. I was losing a lot of money though and realized i hadn't even set any trade routes, as soon as i did my money shot up.

But i accidentally put my only two convoys on profit routes and don't know how to get one back

Also at one point i had an option to buy an additional convoy at Port Royale but didn't have the money, now i do and option has gone.

Will i get an option to buy another one again?
If I remember correctly you can press rb to scroll through your convoys and then select them. Also don't forget to have some security escorting your convoys or they will continually get raped by pirates. And as time goes on more and more ships will be made available to purchase to allow you to increase you trade routes and form even bigger convoys. At one time I had a 50 ship convoy back when I first started playing this but something that big is useless.
__________________
gazmaster1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 05:38 PM   #48
Starkweather
 
Starkweather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Carcer City
Posts: 1,095

starkweatherxc's Gamercard
Thanks for the replies, i have been a bit lazy in protecting my vessels on trade routes but have never been bothered for some reason, they have been going around for quite a while too, got the 365 trade route cheevy.

I have another question, what exactly is the best way to gain higher prosperity in a town, is it just making sure they have adequate materials at all times?

I have 90% and above reputation with Spain and all other requirements needed for a takeover except for prosperity.

I tried building a school and immediately after my reputation with Spain came up saying -35%

Can't see it being related but was weird, reloaded my save.
__________________
Starkweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 07:52 PM   #49
BUZZARDIO 1080
 
BUZZARDIO 1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 318

BUZZARDIO 1080's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starkweather View Post
Thanks for the replies, i have been a bit lazy in protecting my vessels on trade routes but have never been bothered for some reason, they have been going around for quite a while too, got the 365 trade route cheevy.

I have another question, what exactly is the best way to gain higher prosperity in a town, is it just making sure they have adequate materials at all times?

I have 90% and above reputation with Spain and all other requirements needed for a takeover except for prosperity.

I tried building a school and immediately after my reputation with Spain came up saying -35%

Can't see it being related but was weird, reloaded my save.

Prosperity was the last factor for me to fill aswell,I found it tough because like you say, I not really get the parameters for changing it, I think you're right, as long as you have all materials needed for the towns production, and enough houses for the staff you should be alright ,if not keep ncreasing the towns production as that's what I had to do.the prosperity kept going up to about 70% then dropping down to around 50% ( maybe as I was on x10 speed).so I built loads of factories (only ones that need no extra materials,to produce goods) and kept them fully staffed an you should good.
Such a good game
BUZZARDIO 1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 02:53 PM   #50
Starkweather
 
Starkweather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Carcer City
Posts: 1,095

starkweatherxc's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by BUZZARDIO 1080 View Post
Prosperity was the last factor for me to fill aswell,I found it tough because like you say, I not really get the parameters for changing it, I think you're right, as long as you have all materials needed for the towns production, and enough houses for the staff you should be alright ,if not keep ncreasing the towns production as that's what I had to do.the prosperity kept going up to about 70% then dropping down to around 50% ( maybe as I was on x10 speed).so I built loads of factories (only ones that need no extra materials,to produce goods) and kept them fully staffed an you should good.
Such a good game
Yeah seems i just have to make sure everything is balanced and then quickly go and get the takeover license. Will try next time i get on.
__________________
Starkweather is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:28 AM   #51
BUZZARDIO 1080
 
BUZZARDIO 1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 318

BUZZARDIO 1080's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starkweather View Post
Yeah seems i just have to make sure everything is balanced and then quickly go and get the takeover license. Will try next time i get on.
I only ended up taking 1 town over peacefully , it was such a ball ache, much easier to rock up with a convoy of liners , smash the towns defences and take it by force, also keep all pirates nests alive, its by far the easiest way to get all nation to be happy with you, just go to each nest , batter all the ships but dont attack the actual nest as this way the nest will keep producing pirate ships and every 20 mins or so, just go on a pirate killing expadition, you will gain loads of money and respect with all nations.
so to recap, get a letter of marque of a warring nation, go smacka few of thier ememies towns and take them by force,then ,to get ,your rep back up, go kill pirates (this will stop the nation whos towns you attack, trying to take them back).
BUZZARDIO 1080 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 02:55 PM   #52
Outlinez
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 13

Outlinez's Gamercard
Prosperity seems tied to supply levels best way to get it up is keep checking the tavern and buy pirate goods then have your warehouse sell the goods at around 90-100% goods in town should stay around 1-2k for awhile and prosperity will go up aslong as no negative effects go through the town i.e locusts etc
__________________
Outlinez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:06 AM   #53
SpinelesS
 
SpinelesS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Surfers Paradise, Australia
Posts: 3,048

Mr SpinelesS's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
How do you toggle building names in a town? All the main buildings used to be named, but now they arent.

EDIT: quick search tells me this goes away after part of the tutorial and you can't bring it back, which sucks.

Is it safe to visit towns with an epidemic or will your crew get sick and die?
__________________
[spoiler=uniquecode]This is how you use spoilers![/spoiler]
Spoiler! (click here to reveal)


Last edited by SpinelesS; 10-05-2012 at 06:40 AM.
SpinelesS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 09:45 AM   #54
Ball1e
 
Ball1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Liecesterfordingshire
Posts: 77

BALL1E's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinelesS View Post
How do you toggle building names in a town? All the main buildings used to be named, but now they arent.

EDIT: quick search tells me this goes away after part of the tutorial and you can't bring it back, which sucks.

Is it safe to visit towns with an epidemic or will your crew get sick and die?
I've been to towns that have the plague and have had no problems. If you have set up trade routes then some of your ships are bound to go to an infected town at some point anyway.
__________________
Ladder for sale, talk to me! Thank you, goodnight and much love.
My soundshttp://soundcloud.com/dj-ball1e
I wanna see you come out windmilling and if you've got keys make em count!



Ball1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:35 PM   #55
SpinelesS
 
SpinelesS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Surfers Paradise, Australia
Posts: 3,048

Mr SpinelesS's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Thanks Ball1e (and thanks for the link to the offline map)

I just started loosing a bunch of cash, is there an easy way to figure out where all this money loss is coming from? (I read somewhere that you get charged for storing items in your warehouses, but that doesn't make sense...)

Also I have a building that has not yet begun due to a lack of building materials, but I have wood and bricks in my warehouse... why isn't there any building going on?
__________________
[spoiler=uniquecode]This is how you use spoilers![/spoiler]
Spoiler! (click here to reveal)


Last edited by SpinelesS; 10-05-2012 at 01:39 PM.
SpinelesS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 12:13 AM   #56
DEG23
Второй акт
 
DEG23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,588

DEG23 x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Achievement Guide - Silver   Staff Club - DEG23   Donator - Level 5   CABS Beta Tester   Staff - Moderator   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   Staff Club - Rajeanero   GRID 2 Award   Staff Club - Grifter Reborn   Staff Club - TemporalWizard   Staff Club - Minty   Staff Club - Nozza x360a
Total Awards: 23 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinelesS View Post
Thanks Ball1e (and thanks for the link to the offline map)

I just started loosing a bunch of cash, is there an easy way to figure out where all this money loss is coming from? (I read somewhere that you get charged for storing items in your warehouses, but that doesn't make sense...)

Also I have a building that has not yet begun due to a lack of building materials, but I have wood and bricks in my warehouse... why isn't there any building going on?
If you press and open your journal you can find a balance sheet that gives you a break down of revenue and expenses. It doesn't give a detailed explanation of the exact cause of revenue loss. Although i agree it doesn't make sense, your warehouses will generate a daily expense so you need to make sure you have enough good coming and going to turn a profit.

As for the building materials, they will only be taken out of the town's market, not your warehouse. So you can always store your materials in there until you are ready to build but then you need to transfer them over.
__________________
DEG23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:58 AM   #57
Grummy
 
Grummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 727

Grumftheld's Gamercard
the Pirates/combat in this are killing the game for me. It is just soooooo bad. Which makes me sad, as the trading and building up towns etc is sooooo good.

At this rate I'll have to go back the the PotC game on last gen Xbox, because it balanced the trade with the naval combat so well, and you could adventure on land too. Awesome game that was.
__________________


http://www.360voice.com/tag/Grumftheld

My First Guide!! Way of the Samurai 3
http://www.xbox360achievements.org/g...ai-3-us/guide/
If you have any questions, please pm me on here then send me a message on Live to let me know its here and I'll get to it asap.
Grummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:32 PM   #58
Sokoov
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
I have question about captain's skills. We have achievements that I must get all skills at 5. I have all skills at this level except two crossed swords (boarding skill?) and I can't maximise it. When I bought it in tavern from teacher after moment it dropped. Why? Has anyone had the same problem?

Last edited by Sokoov; 10-11-2012 at 12:44 PM.
Sokoov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:48 PM   #59
Eggnogga
 
Eggnogga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,387

Eggnogga's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Ok, so I guess I just need some friendly reassurance from the peanut gallery here. The game finally came out here in the States and I popped it in last night, played for about 3 hours.

My question: Am I doing this shit right? lol. I achieved the rank of 'Mariner' and I'm at the mission where the Cayman Islands are in a famine, so I need to deliver 300 barrels of food to them. For all 3 hours I've pretty much just taken my ship around to about 30 different cities, buying low or what they have a lot of stock of and then going to another town and selling them what they are in need of.

It sounds so basic, but damnit, I couldn't put the controller down! I haven't messed at all with pirates or battles yet as I don't think I have any offensive capabilities, but I do have around 150.00 coinage. I've even spent a good deal of money on upgrades from the guys in Taverns. I can see this game just sucking up a good deal of my life! lol

p.s. The "narrator" guy tells me occasionally, "Turn your attention to Port Royale," but I don't understand why? I go to the town and nothing special is happening.

Last edited by Eggnogga; 10-11-2012 at 12:50 PM.
Eggnogga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:32 PM   #60
Ball1e
 
Ball1e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Liecesterfordingshire
Posts: 77

BALL1E's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggnogga View Post
My question: Am I doing this shit right? lol. I achieved the rank of 'Mariner' and I'm at the mission where the Cayman Islands are in a famine, so I need to deliver 300 barrels of food to them. For all 3 hours I've pretty much just taken my ship around to about 30 different cities, buying low or what they have a lot of stock of and then going to another town and selling them what they are in need of.

It sounds so basic, but damnit, I couldn't put the controller down! I haven't messed at all with pirates or battles yet as I don't think I have any offensive capabilities, but I do have around 150.00 coinage. I've even spent a good deal of money on upgrades from the guys in Taverns. I can see this game just sucking up a good deal of my life! lol

p.s. The "narrator" guy tells me occasionally, "Turn your attention to Port Royale," but I don't understand why? I go to the town and nothing special is happening.
Looks like you're doing it right dude! You can set up trade routes with other ships to help bring in more coin. If it says "you should check on Port Royale" or whatever it can mean the viceroy/govner wants to talk or your warehouse steward has a problem. If you take my advise get rid of the game now!!! Before its too late and you're really hooked!!
__________________
Ladder for sale, talk to me! Thank you, goodnight and much love.
My soundshttp://soundcloud.com/dj-ball1e
I wanna see you come out windmilling and if you've got keys make em count!



Ball1e is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:39 PM.