PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 LIVE Arcade Games > Action > Sonic Adventure 2
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2012, 12:13 PM   #1
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
Chao Discussion Thread

Everybody loves Chaos, so I thought I would make a place to discuss them. I figured it would be for the best anyway so that we could put all Chao related things in here so people know where to look. So what are the Chaos that you guys are currently working on? I'm working on an all S chao the slow way (letting it evolve repeatedly until it's all S's, no breeding). After that I'm going to make it a hero chaos chao. I'm pretty excited to waste like 200 hours on this nonsense.
__________________
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:48 PM   #2
Ceris
Why So Ceris?
 
Ceris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,347

Tragic Melody's Gamercard

Awards Showcase CABS Beta Tester   Community Gaming - Bronze   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   XBA Promoter   Staff Club - Ceris   Over Achiever - Bronze   Staff - Collectibles Guide Team   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Going to be breeding. I've got an 4 Chaos right now, 2 S rank runs, an S rank Swim, and an S rank Stamina. But at this point, I'm not touching the Chao Garden for a while. Working on all A ranks right now, currently have around 70 A ranks.
__________________

Helping Hand Award Nominations || Please disable your ad blocker for XBA!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creech
An ad blocker prevents the ad from loading in the first place, and the counter is on the ad's side, not the site's. As such, an ad blocker stops the increment from going up and no revenue is generated as a result of your page views.
Ceris is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:53 PM   #3
ScottHarris
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: England
Posts: 333

neoscott's Gamercard
Working on just the 1 Chao this is the only one that matters
ScottHarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:00 PM   #4
Solomon Fuere
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44

Solomon Fuere's Gamercard
Only raising the one.

Fucking E rank in swimming. I picked the wrong one.
Solomon Fuere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:13 PM   #5
ScottHarris
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: England
Posts: 333

neoscott's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomon Fuere View Post
Only raising the one.

Fucking E rank in swimming. I picked the wrong one.
Ha, mine is having the same problem, swimming isn't it's thing.

I also hate that we can't choose our Chao's name, the name's they choose for our Chao's are rubbish, i eventually settled with "Chap"
ScottHarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 07:31 PM   #6
Ceris
Why So Ceris?
 
Ceris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,347

Tragic Melody's Gamercard

Awards Showcase CABS Beta Tester   Community Gaming - Bronze   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   XBA Promoter   Staff Club - Ceris   Over Achiever - Bronze   Staff - Collectibles Guide Team   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottHarris View Post
Ha, mine is having the same problem, swimming isn't it's thing.

I also hate that we can't choose our Chao's name, the name's they choose for our Chao's are rubbish, i eventually settled with "Chap"
You CAN choose your Chao name. When he suggests one, say no. Then when he asks if you want him to suggest another, say no again. Then he will ask if you want to name your Chao yourself.
__________________

Helping Hand Award Nominations || Please disable your ad blocker for XBA!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creech
An ad blocker prevents the ad from loading in the first place, and the counter is on the ad's side, not the site's. As such, an ad blocker stops the increment from going up and no revenue is generated as a result of your page views.
Ceris is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:52 PM   #7
ScottHarris
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: England
Posts: 333

neoscott's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceris View Post
You CAN choose your Chao name. When he suggests one, say no. Then when he asks if you want him to suggest another, say no again. Then he will ask if you want to name your Chao yourself.
Really ? how come i didn't get that choice ? maybe i wasn't paying enough attention

Oh and i hate that Jewel Race called Onyx, it's so random, everything that can go wrong WILL go wrong.
ScottHarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 09:53 PM   #8
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottHarris View Post
Really ? how come i didn't get that choice ? maybe i wasn't paying enough attention

Oh and i hate that Jewel Race called Onyx, it's so random, everything that can go wrong WILL go wrong.
That's completely true. Everything that can go wrong does go wrong. I have a question if anyone happens to know the answer. If you put a chao in school does it continue to age? For example, if I drop off a chao in school then sit around in the lobby for like 20 hours will it automatically skip to the next transformation?
__________________
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 12:11 AM   #9
Exu
 
Exu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 313

EXU's Gamercard
No, Chao in school don't age. Chao only age when you are in the garden with them.

Hero Garden fruits seem to be glitched, they're giving my Chao two or three blocks of Stamina per nom instead of one so I'm getting a level up from every fruit! It took ages to get my Chao up to 20 stamina in the neutral garden yet earlier today I got a newborn to 16 from Hero fruits alone.

So yeah, evolve a Hero Chao and move upstairs as soon as possible.

According to http://chao.hippotank.com/sa2b/fruits they definitely should not be doing this, the regular neutral, hero and dark fruits are supposed to be different in appearance only,
__________________
Exu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 12:19 AM   #10
Ceris
Why So Ceris?
 
Ceris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,347

Tragic Melody's Gamercard

Awards Showcase CABS Beta Tester   Community Gaming - Bronze   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   XBA Promoter   Staff Club - Ceris   Over Achiever - Bronze   Staff - Collectibles Guide Team   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exu View Post
No, Chao in school don't age. Chao only age when you are in the garden with them.

Hero Garden fruits seem to be glitched, they're giving my Chao two or three blocks of Stamina per nom instead of one so I'm getting a level up from every fruit! It took ages to get my Chao up to 20 stamina in the neutral garden yet earlier today I got a newborn to 16 from Hero fruits alone.

So yeah, evolve a Hero Chao and move upstairs as soon as possible.

According to http://chao.hippotank.com/sa2b/fruits they definitely should not be doing this, the regular neutral, hero and dark fruits are supposed to be different in appearance only,
Yeah, the Hero Garden's fruits got my Chao up to 10 stamina so fast for that achievement.
__________________

Helping Hand Award Nominations || Please disable your ad blocker for XBA!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creech
An ad blocker prevents the ad from loading in the first place, and the counter is on the ad's side, not the site's. As such, an ad blocker stops the increment from going up and no revenue is generated as a result of your page views.
Ceris is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 12:45 AM   #11
Exu
 
Exu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 313

EXU's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceris View Post
Yeah, the Hero Garden's fruits got my Chao up to 10 stamina so fast for that achievement.
No such luck for me, I got that achievement before my Chao evolved. Still, mushrooms and Chao fruit did a good enough job.
__________________
Exu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:18 AM   #12
popsikills
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 25

PopsiKills's Gamercard
Does anyone know if the stat grades for eggs bought in the black market are random? I am trying to get a chao with decent grades to start training, but it seems like every time I hatch the eggs they have the same grades (even after reseting by going back to the dashboard). I know the chaos that won all my races on the gamecube never had the best grades, but I'd at least like to try and have a little leg up this time around.
popsikills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:20 AM   #13
Ceris
Why So Ceris?
 
Ceris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,347

Tragic Melody's Gamercard

Awards Showcase CABS Beta Tester   Community Gaming - Bronze   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   XBA Promoter   Staff Club - Ceris   Over Achiever - Bronze   Staff - Collectibles Guide Team   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by popsikills View Post
Does anyone know if the stat grades for eggs bought in the black market are random? I am trying to get a chao with decent grades to start training, but it seems like every time I hatch the eggs they have the same grades (even after reseting by going back to the dashboard). I know the chaos that won all my races on the gamecube never had the best grades, but I'd at least like to try and have a little leg up this time around.
The eggs I bought from the store have been random. I kept dashboarding and eventually got an S rank running chao. Though, my friend in the party said no matter what, his chao always had the same stats when hatching it, dashboarding, then hatching again.
__________________

Helping Hand Award Nominations || Please disable your ad blocker for XBA!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creech
An ad blocker prevents the ad from loading in the first place, and the counter is on the ad's side, not the site's. As such, an ad blocker stops the increment from going up and no revenue is generated as a result of your page views.
Ceris is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:32 PM   #14
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceris View Post
Yeah, the Hero Garden's fruits got my Chao up to 10 stamina so fast for that achievement.
lol I left my chao in the good garden and left my xbox on all night and then came back to it in the morning and its stamina went from about 7 to 32. What a fatty.
__________________
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:23 PM   #15
Retrokiid90
 
Retrokiid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 89

Retrokiid90's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exu View Post
No, Chao in school don't age. Chao only age when you are in the garden with them.

Hero Garden fruits seem to be glitched, they're giving my Chao two or three blocks of Stamina per nom instead of one so I'm getting a level up from every fruit! It took ages to get my Chao up to 20 stamina in the neutral garden yet earlier today I got a newborn to 16 from Hero fruits alone.

So yeah, evolve a Hero Chao and move upstairs as soon as possible.

According to http://chao.hippotank.com/sa2b/fruits they definitely should not be doing this, the regular neutral, hero and dark fruits are supposed to be different in appearance only,
I just recently posted a video about that glitch XD I thought I was the only one that noticed that.
It never increased that much on the Gamecube version (At-least I don't think) Also I tried going downstairs to the Dark garden to see if those dark fruits increase stamina just like the hero's but it doesn't. Disappointing >_>
__________________

Last edited by Retrokiid90; 10-10-2012 at 09:33 PM.
Retrokiid90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:58 PM   #16
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
I am trying to level up my chaos grades by just feeding it chaos drives or animals and then idling it while I'm at college. However, when I come back it has eaten so much food that stamina always increases grade... Is there a way to prevent this? Also, is the one that increases the one that has the highest number, the highest level, or the one that has most recently been increased?
__________________
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:34 AM   #17
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
For anyone that is curious I have discovered that you can place a chao behind the log on the right side of the hero garden and it won't be able to move around. This way you can idle and you don't have to worry about it eating and increasing stamina.
__________________
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 02:09 PM   #18
Clavat93
 
Clavat93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 30

Clavat93's Gamercard
@ Retrokiid90
thanks to these fruits the stamina of my chaos is lv99 xDDD <3
__________________

Clavat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:07 PM   #19
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clavat93 View Post
@ Retrokiid90
thanks to these fruits the stamina of my chaos is lv99 xDDD <3
Yeah, it sure does boost stamina really quickly. In case you didn't see the glitch in the other thread (the guide) there is a quick way to increase all of the stats. Just get an animal like the dragon or something else that increases all stats and stand just far away enough to drop the animal in front of them instead of handing it to them. They will increase their stats but they won't use up the animal so you can keep doing it an infinite amount of times until you either get tired of it or you mess up (which does happen quite often). It's definitely useful. I didn't know about it until this time around with the game. I'm still working on my all S chao without breeding I still need to evolve it 10 more times.
__________________
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 03:52 PM   #20
Clavat93
 
Clavat93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 30

Clavat93's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghsbe View Post
Yeah, it sure does boost stamina really quickly. In case you didn't see the glitch in the other thread (the guide) there is a quick way to increase all of the stats. Just get an animal like the dragon or something else that increases all stats and stand just far away enough to drop the animal in front of them instead of handing it to them. They will increase their stats but they won't use up the animal so you can keep doing it an infinite amount of times until you either get tired of it or you mess up (which does happen quite often). It's definitely useful. I didn't know about it until this time around with the game. I'm still working on my all S chao without breeding I still need to evolve it 10 more times.
yeah i know this glitch but it doesn't work for me sometimes because my stupid chao runs away or comes to me and take it >_<
__________________

Clavat93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:15 PM   #21
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clavat93 View Post
yeah i know this glitch but it doesn't work for me sometimes because my stupid chao runs away or comes to me and take it >_<
Yeah, they are pretty stupid and annoying but they make up for it by being cute. Mine just keeps crying 24/7, I think I spoiled it by petting it too much.
__________________
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 12:47 AM   #22
head0r Inc
 
head0r Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 755

AC Cloud Strife's Gamercard
Just started working on my chao as I completed all the A ranks already. Though, I have a question as it never happened to me before:

My chao evolved after only one time sleeping, is that normal?! It got pretty high skills already (most of them are around 40, run is above 60) but that shouldnt be the cause of that, right?

I just hope he will live long enough to make me able to push him into the 90's. He should win everything...
__________________




head0r Inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 02:16 AM   #23
Ceris
Why So Ceris?
 
Ceris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,347

Tragic Melody's Gamercard

Awards Showcase CABS Beta Tester   Community Gaming - Bronze   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   XBA Promoter   Staff Club - Ceris   Over Achiever - Bronze   Staff - Collectibles Guide Team   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by head0r Inc View Post
Just started working on my chao as I completed all the A ranks already. Though, I have a question as it never happened to me before:

My chao evolved after only one time sleeping, is that normal?! It got pretty high skills already (most of them are around 40, run is above 60) but that shouldnt be the cause of that, right?

I just hope he will live long enough to make me able to push him into the 90's. He should win everything...
I'm no expert on chaos but I asked a friend and he said a chao will die around Age 5. You can check that at the doctors to see how old your chao is. Also, a chao with higher stamina will evolve sooner which has no impact on your Chao's life span.
__________________

Helping Hand Award Nominations || Please disable your ad blocker for XBA!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Creech
An ad blocker prevents the ad from loading in the first place, and the counter is on the ad's side, not the site's. As such, an ad blocker stops the increment from going up and no revenue is generated as a result of your page views.
Ceris is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 02:59 PM   #24
ScottHarris
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: England
Posts: 333

neoscott's Gamercard
Does anyone have any tips at beating that last Chao called flash in Chao Karate ? my stats are nearly maxed out and i am nowhere near close to beating it. I manage about 2-3 hits on it at most then he either knocks me out the ring or beats me by K.O.
ScottHarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 08:19 PM   #25
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottHarris View Post
Does anyone have any tips at beating that last Chao called flash in Chao Karate ? my stats are nearly maxed out and i am nowhere near close to beating it. I manage about 2-3 hits on it at most then he either knocks me out the ring or beats me by K.O.
I haven't started that yet but what I do know is that every time the chao reincarnates it keeps 10% of its stats. So if you level up everything to 99 then reincarnate you keep 10% of that. You can keep doing that until it reaches a threshold/peak of 326 then you can max everything again. This adds up to the highest possible stats of 3266.

Oh, and make sure your stats are all grade S. You can increase one grade at a time per life of a chao. So either you can do it the slow way (like me) and let it continually reincarnate while you train one stat at a time to make it increase in grade or you can do it with multiple chaos and then breed them. Breeding takes way less time because it takes the letters of the parents and gives the child letters between the two (meaning that if you have two all S chaos the baby will by default have all S stats). If you max out a stat at only grade C it's not going to be a very strong chao.

I've never made it that far in to the karate on the GC version so if you want actual fighting tips then I'm not your guy.
__________________

Last edited by ghsbe; 10-14-2012 at 08:40 PM.
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 06:08 AM   #26
Retrokiid90
 
Retrokiid90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 89

Retrokiid90's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghsbe View Post
For anyone that is curious I have discovered that you can place a chao behind the log on the right side of the hero garden and it won't be able to move around. This way you can idle and you don't have to worry about it eating and increasing stamina.
That's cool to know. SO if I can get the chao to just sit/stand there and not move, can I give it animals/Chaos drives without being too close to it? (As in the infinite animal glitch)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clavat93 View Post
@ Retrokiid90
thanks to these fruits the stamina of my chaos is lv99 xDDD <3
Did you leave yours on overnight? I haven't been in the hero garden like that. Im a fan of Dark Chao. But I will definitely try it with the chao that lives in heaven
__________________
Retrokiid90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 08:41 AM   #27
Solomon Fuere
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 44

Solomon Fuere's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrokiid90 View Post
That's cool to know. SO if I can get the chao to just sit/stand there and not move, can I give it animals/Chaos drives without being too close to it? (As in the infinite animal glitch)

Did you leave yours on overnight? I haven't been in the hero garden like that. Im a fan of Dark Chao. But I will definitely try it with the chao that lives in heaven
Your chao lives in heaven?

I'm sorry for your loss.
Solomon Fuere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 10:18 AM   #28
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrokiid90 View Post
That's cool to know. SO if I can get the chao to just sit/stand there and not move, can I give it animals/Chaos drives without being too close to it? (As in the infinite animal glitch)
lives in heaven
EDIT: Yup, works pretty well for that. You want to turn the camera so that it's facing your character's face and walk towards the screen. Otherwise, for me, it was hard to walk around because you start glitching out on the pillar lol.

They still move around a bit. What you want to do is put them at the narrow end of it (I just discovered it's really a pillar lol...) and stand in front of the wide end. They keep trying to walk through the pillar to get food or something but can't. You probably could do it there quite effectively because they generally stay in one spot... I've never tried. All I have used it for is stopping them from eating, but now that you mention it I think this would work for that as well.
__________________

Last edited by ghsbe; 10-15-2012 at 10:21 AM.
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:42 PM   #29
head0r Inc
 
head0r Inc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 755

AC Cloud Strife's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceris View Post
I'm no expert on chaos but I asked a friend and he said a chao will die around Age 5. You can check that at the doctors to see how old your chao is. Also, a chao with higher stamina will evolve sooner which has no impact on your Chao's life span.
Thanks for this useful post, this seems to be completely right as my chao was still 0 :-)

Another question.. does anybody know how to get the purple / pink egg? I got 179 emblems and have NEVER seen any of them, wtf?
__________________




head0r Inc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 08:16 PM   #30
ghsbe
 
ghsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 176

ghsbe's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by head0r Inc View Post
Thanks for this useful post, this seems to be completely right as my chao was still 0 :-)

Another question.. does anybody know how to get the purple / pink egg? I got 179 emblems and have NEVER seen any of them, wtf?
According to this link http://chao.hippotank.com/sa2b/black-market you get the pink egg at 15 emblems and the purple egg at 20. However, that only means that they are "unlocked." Basically what you have to do is just keep replaying a level that's quick (like get 100 rings in city escape) and then go back and see what he has in stock. It changes every time based on how many emblems you have.
__________________
ghsbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 05:25 PM.