PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > RPG > Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2012, 03:58 PM   #1
Walecs360
 
Walecs360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 553

walecs360's Gamercard
I can't play the game offline!

Hello, I created a savegame and played through it while I was online (connected to Xbox Live). However, when I play offline, the game won't load my save. It says it can't find any savegame, but they are there!
It happens the same thing to Fable II, when I play online there are no problems, but I can't play when not connected to Xbox Live.
Walecs360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 04:03 PM   #2
Wurmstrom
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 69

Wurmstrom's Gamercard
Most if not all EA RPG games are like that. I know from experience that once you connect online with any of the Mass Effects you need to keep connected or your save files will be corrupted until you connect again. I have read that Dragon Age is the same way too.
Wurmstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 08:35 PM   #3
TwistedFate
 
TwistedFate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Church Road, VA
Posts: 4,147

Bobo daMunkee's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wurmstrom View Post
Most if not all EA RPG games are like that. I know from experience that once you connect online with any of the Mass Effects you need to keep connected or your save files will be corrupted until you connect again. I have read that Dragon Age is the same way too.
I have played both on and offline in Amalur, Mass Effect 1, and Dragon Age 1 with no problems.

What can happen, and it's rare that this happens anymore, but it still does some. If you get DLC (pre-order and new order bonuses count the same as paid DLC for this purpose) and later your 360 dies you will get a different 360 returned to you. If you aren't online to verify you are the proper owner, the DLC won't load to prevent piracy. Since you used the DLC in the save game, you can no longer load any save games that used DLC. Arcade games revert to trial when offline for the same reason. This is most often the problem when you can't do something offline that you can online.

Have you had your 360 replaced recently? Traded with a friend, bought a new one, had to ship to MS for repair?
__________________



Last edited by TwistedFate; 07-19-2012 at 08:40 PM.
TwistedFate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 08:45 AM   #4
Walecs360
 
Walecs360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 553

walecs360's Gamercard
No. I have bought the game from a games shop a week ago, I played it on my console and I haven't played the game in any else console of the world. The game was brand new, not used or whatever. Nothing.
Also, I don't own any preorder bonus nor any DLC.
Walecs360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 03:48 PM   #5
Kunduz
 
Kunduz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,177

Herr Karamell's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
I only had the trouble of getting DLC "corrupted" while playing Dragon Age: Origins offline, EA are sneaky monkeys
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindicator51 View Post
In that case, people will have to download more RAM for it. Consoles have come a long way since they first appeared, so this is very possible.
Kunduz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 03:53 PM   #6
Metabolic XBA
Run, you clever boy...
 
Metabolic XBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Spencer, MA
Posts: 2,479

Metabolic XBA's Gamercard

Awards Showcase The Mighty Duck Face   Staff - Community and Events Team   Submit - Bronze   Achievement Guide - Silver   Road Map - Silver   Free Agents - Second Place   VGO Bronze Medal   VGO Silver Medal   VGO Gold Medal   VGO Team Award - Silver   Scratch the SURFACE Challenge Club - Tier 1   Staff vs Subscribers 2014 Winner
Total Awards: 20 (more» ...)
Any chance you just accidentally choose the 'cloud' as your storage device so your save game is sitting in there? I think that would make it unobtainable offline.
__________________

**Thanks to Rajeanero for the sig**

Metabolic XBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 05:54 PM   #7
Walecs360
 
Walecs360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 553

walecs360's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metabolic x360a View Post
Any chance you just accidentally choose the 'cloud' as your storage device so your save game is sitting in there? I think that would make it unobtainable offline.
No, because if I do load game I can see my savegames. When I press on them they don't load.
Walecs360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:53 PM   #8
xnevox
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
i saw you post and i have the same problem, when play (halo 3 and others) offline i cant load my campain, save data, its almost like im playing on a guess profile because no-matter what i do it doesnt even matter "it wont save or count" i cant even get achevements. But when i play online everything is there, all my saves, custome maps, and i mean all the data from prior before. please email me or reply if you have solved the problem.
xnevox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:33 PM   #9
TwistedFate
 
TwistedFate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Church Road, VA
Posts: 4,147

Bobo daMunkee's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnevox View Post
i saw you post and i have the same problem, when play (halo 3 and others) offline i cant load my campain, save data, its almost like im playing on a guess profile because no-matter what i do it doesnt even matter "it wont save or count" i cant even get achevements. But when i play online everything is there, all my saves, custome maps, and i mean all the data from prior before. please email me or reply if you have solved the problem.
Anytime something works online and not offline, this is the most likely problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedFate View Post
If you get DLC (pre-order and new order bonuses count the same as paid DLC for this purpose) and later your 360 dies you will get a different 360 returned to you. If you aren't online to verify you are the proper owner, the DLC won't load to prevent piracy. Since you used the DLC in the save game, you can no longer load any save games that used DLC. Arcade games revert to trial when offline for the same reason. This is most often the problem when you can't do something offline that you can online.

Have you had your 360 replaced recently? Traded with a friend, bought a new one, had to ship to MS for repair?
Transfer the license and redownload the DLC to fix it.
__________________


TwistedFate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 04:13 PM   #10
xnevox
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedFate View Post
Anytime something works online and not offline, this is the most likely problem.



Transfer the license and redownload the DLC to fix it.
i have gotten a new 360 recently. the old one is broke. how would i transfer data or show that im the original owner. how would i fix this problem?
xnevox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:20 PM   #11
TwistedFate
 
TwistedFate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Church Road, VA
Posts: 4,147

Bobo daMunkee's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnevox View Post
i have gotten a new 360 recently. the old one is broke. how would i transfer data or show that im the original owner. how would i fix this problem?
From XBox.com:
  1. On your console, sign in to Xbox LIVE using the gamertag that you used to purchase the content.
  2. Go to the Settings, and then select Account.
  3. Go to Your Billing Options, and then select License Transfer.
  4. Follow the on-screen instructions to transfer the content licenses.
After the licenses are transferred, you need to download the content again to update the local licenses. This way the content can be used by other profiles on your console and when you’re not connected to Xbox LIVE.



------


The redownloading mentioned doesn't take long, it just updates the license. It doesn't actually redownload the whole thing. It's a slight pain, I just had to do it when I upgraded from my launch 360 to a special edition unit recently, but it doesn't take long.
__________________


TwistedFate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 02:00 PM   #12
xnevox
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
thank you so much. but will this work for games i didnt download (halo 4, perfect dark zero, etc) because not only my downloaded games wont load offline some of my games on disk will not load offline either.
xnevox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:49 PM   #13
TwistedFate
 
TwistedFate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Church Road, VA
Posts: 4,147

Bobo daMunkee's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnevox View Post
thank you so much. but will this work for games i didnt download (halo 4, perfect dark zero, etc) because not only my downloaded games wont load offline some of my games on disk will not load offline either.
I can't tell you about your on disc games, because I don't know if you have DLC for them or not. You have to determine if you have any DLC for those games. Any DLC bought before you got a new 360 will be affected. Any DLC you got after you got your new 360 will not.
__________________


TwistedFate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:58 PM   #14
Stubbs4k
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 36

Stubbs4k's Gamercard
Could it possibly be the "Share Data with EA" setting in the options? If you started a save file with that turned on, then it might affect the entirety of the save, or it might just need to be switched off so the game isn't trying to talk to EA servers as much.

Can't give you a 100% answer, but this would be the setting I would tinker with to potentially alleviate this issue.

Sidenote: So re-dl'ing content AFTER a license transfer just answered a separate head scratcher of mine. Gracias.
Stubbs4k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 AM.