PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Main Hub > Discussion Boards > Xbox 360
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2012, 09:51 AM   #1
pandaliamcod6
 
pandaliamcod6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 544

xG i GeNoCiDeZ's Gamercard
How to get more USB ports for my Xbox 360?

Okay before people say 3 is enough, I will describe why I don't have enough:
1. Adapter for using headset - I have a elite
2. Wired Controller - Don't really feel like buying batteries all the time
3. Gioteck headset

Extras
4. HD PVR I am getting soon.
5. Sometimes I may use a memory stick

Is there anything I can use to give me more USB ports?
__________________


50,000 G 28/01/2013

Last edited by pandaliamcod6; 11-17-2012 at 09:55 AM.
pandaliamcod6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:54 AM   #2
KillerBEA
Lords Are Coming
 
KillerBEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,914
Send a message via Skype™ to KillerBEA

KillerBEA XBA's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Arcade Crazy - Silver   Community Gaming - Platinum   Donator - Level 2   Staff Club - Madhatters13   Can This Make Phone Calls? Challenge Club - Tier 1   I Can Read! NTSC-J Challenge Club - Tier 2   Fight Club Challenge Club - Tier 1   CABS Beta Tester   XBA Representer   Toilet Bowl Challenge Club - Tier 1   Staff Club - KillerBEA   I Can Read! NTSC-J Challenge Club - Tier 1
Total Awards: 27 (more» ...)
USB hubs

__________________
KillerBEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:18 PM   #3
Akuza
 
Akuza's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom of Bolton
Posts: 3,739

Akuza89's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerBEA View Post
USB hubs

Yes. yes.

Or this.



But that is a tad extensive....
__________________
_____________________
ANIME
Currently watching
YU-GI-OH Arc V
Akame Ga Kill!
Sword Art Online II
_____________________
||||SNESChatThread!||MyYoutubeVideos!||
Akuza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:19 PM   #4
Burnout x360a
 
Burnout x360a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom
Posts: 7,478

M1KE 08's Gamercard

Awards Showcase XBA Promoter   Submit - Bronze   Donator - Level 1   5,000 Posts
Total Awards: 4 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akuza View Post
Yes. yes.

Or this.



But that is a tad extensive....
Well it fits the needs of the OP, nothing is too expensive.
__________________


^ By Xerofox, thanks!
Twitter lSteam

Burnout x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:23 PM   #5
Akuza
 
Akuza's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom of Bolton
Posts: 3,739

Akuza89's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnout View Post
Well it fits the needs of the OP, nothing is too extensive.
*fixed

I put EXTENSIVE haha
__________________
_____________________
ANIME
Currently watching
YU-GI-OH Arc V
Akame Ga Kill!
Sword Art Online II
_____________________
||||SNESChatThread!||MyYoutubeVideos!||
Akuza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:32 PM   #6
mjc0961
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA (GMT -5)
Posts: 2,101

mjc0961's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Submit - Gold   Arcade Crazy - Bronze
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandaliamcod6 View Post
Okay before people say 3 is enough, I will describe why I don't have enough:
1. Adapter for using headset - I have a elite
2. Wired Controller - Don't really feel like buying batteries all the time
3. Gioteck headset

Extras
4. HD PVR I am getting soon.
5. Sometimes I may use a memory stick

Is there anything I can use to give me more USB ports?
HD PVR uses a USB port on your computer, not the device you're recording video from.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by ViolentCabaret View Post
This guide continues to warm my heart and piss off my roommates. Thanks so much!
mjc0961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:36 PM   #7
ChickinOnaChain
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6,331

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Personally, I didn't know there was 3. I just thought there was the 2 in the front.
__________________

ChickinOnaChain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:39 PM   #8
dakisbac
 
dakisbac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 7,523
Send a message via Skype™ to dakisbac

Mister Dak's Gamercard

Awards Showcase VGO Gold Medal   Achievement Guide - Silver   Staff vs Subscribers 2014 Winner   CABS Beta Tester   Community Gaming - Silver   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   Adhere to the Creed Franchise Club - Tier 1   Staff Club - Minty   Ambassador 1x1 Competition - Third Place   Staff Club - dakisbac   Staff Club - * Clueless *   Staff Club - AOS Puck
Total Awards: 22 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by KillerBEA View Post
USB hubs

This. There was one packaged with the original Rock Band full band set, and they are really cheap.

Note: make sure if you get one of these you get one that takes power (ie, that you have to plug into an outlet). I've got one that doesn't and it can't handle more than two controllers at a time.
dakisbac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:51 PM   #9
Delow317
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley, Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 914

Delow317 XBL's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandaliamcod6 View Post
Okay before people say 3 is enough, I will describe why I don't have enough:
1. Adapter for using headset - I have a elite
2. Wired Controller - Don't really feel like buying batteries all the time
3. Gioteck headset

Extras
4. HD PVR I am getting soon.
5. Sometimes I may use a memory stick

Is there anything I can use to give me more USB ports?
Personally I don't trust adding a usb hub with the 360, who knows if that could cause problems or not. It may work, but I wouldn't reccomend it.

I've never heard of that type of headset you have but check to see if there is an option to buy an AC power adapter instead of using USB power. I know for a fact Turtle Beach and Astro Headsets have that option. If all else doesn't work, you're going to have to go with a wireless controller. Seriously I have no idea how anyone would prefer being tethered to their console with wires in this day and age. The best investment I ever made with my 360 was buying the official battery packs and the quick charge kit. The play and charge kit was only designed for people who own one controller and one battery pack and it sucks in how long it takes to charge a batterypack in comparison to the quick charge kit's 2 hours.

Anyhow check to see if you can find an AC power option, and/or pony up the cash for a wireless controller I'd say.
Delow317 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:55 PM   #10
xTGMx INF3RNO
 
xTGMx INF3RNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 5,110

xTGMx INF3RNO's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
As said usb hubs are cheap. I take it you have the only xbox then? Because my xbox has about 6 ports.
__________________


xTGMx INF3RNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 01:42 AM   #11
VladimirK
 
VladimirK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,152

VladimirK's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts   Submit - Bronze
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChickinOnaChain View Post
Personally, I didn't know there was 3. I just thought there was the 2 in the front.
Yeah, there's the two on the front and another above the ethernet port on the back which isn't great as it's a little too narrow to fit some USBs in thanks to the way the plastic sticks out around it.

At least on the older ones there is, not sure if it's exactly the same on a slim but it's most likely quite similar
__________________
VladimirK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 12:50 PM   #12
cjdavies
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 2,142

cjdavies82's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandaliamcod6 View Post
2. Wired Controller - Don't really feel like buying batteries all the time
A chargeable adapter instead of battery, when I ain't gaming and on laptop I charge it.
__________________
cjdavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 12:59 PM   #13
[Waggly Bean]
 
[Waggly Bean]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Birmingham, England
Posts: 3,619

Waggly Bean's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VladimirK View Post
Yeah, there's the two on the front and another above the ethernet port on the back which isn't great as it's a little too narrow to fit some USBs in thanks to the way the plastic sticks out around it.
TRUE, although this rear USB port was really originally just meant for the wireless adapter, so I guess they didn't really consider the use of other items in it. They just didn't future-proof I suppose.
__________________


[Waggly Bean] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 02:55 PM   #14
VladimirK
 
VladimirK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 4,152

VladimirK's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts   Submit - Bronze
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by [Waggly Bean] View Post
TRUE, although this rear USB port was really originally just meant for the wireless adapter, so I guess they didn't really consider the use of other items in it. They just didn't future-proof I suppose.
Yeah, to be fair it is my fault I have to be awkward and still use a wired controller

As it is I've got my X41s in the back, my Kinect and controller in the front and luckily I insist on using a wired network rather than this new, fankled wireless nonsense or I would be down a port
__________________
VladimirK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:17 PM   #15
Edword
 
Edword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 1,436

Sprinklez88's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   XBA Promoter
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandaliamcod6 View Post
Okay before people say 3 is enough, I will describe why I don't have enough:
1. Adapter for using headset - I have a elite
2. Wired Controller - Don't really feel like buying batteries all the time
3. Gioteck headset

Extras
4. HD PVR I am getting soon.
5. Sometimes I may use a memory stick

Is there anything I can use to give me more USB ports?
Not USB related, but I'd get rechargeable batteries. That's what I did. Pack of four with the charger. That way I always have another pair ready to go.
Edword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:32 AM   #16
Geonovast
 
Geonovast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 42
Send a message via Yahoo to Geonovast Send a message via Skype™ to Geonovast

Geonovast's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edword View Post
Not USB related, but I'd get rechargeable batteries. That's what I did. Pack of four with the charger. That way I always have another pair ready to go.
^
This

I've been using the same 6 or so pairs of rechargeable AAs for over two years, and they still last almost as long in the controller as standard alkalines.
Geonovast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:34 PM   #17
Xboxology Yolo
 
Xboxology Yolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 72
Send a message via MSN to Xboxology Yolo Send a message via Skype™ to Xboxology Yolo

2p33d1xg0n241es's Gamercard
Becareful when you use hubs. None of my USB sticks detect I'm guessing because they have a large capacity of files!
__________________
Xboxology Yolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:17 PM   #18
Kreative Kylo
 
Kreative Kylo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 6

xMLGx Proshot's Gamercard
as said above USB hubs my friend!
Kreative Kylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:15 PM.