PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Shooter > Doom 3 BFG Edition
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2012, 12:47 PM   #1
Viper187
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 733

NoLifeDGenerate's Gamercard
Goddamn load times

Why the hell does it take like 5 minutes to load a checkpoint whether the game is installed or not? I fucking hate this generation of gaming. All anyone's interested in is pretty graphics and nobody gives a fuck how long their shit takes to load.
__________________
100% Onyx MAX on Halo: Reach 6/19/2012: 230+ DAYS playtime, 70+ million credits banked, 1.5 million FF kills.

Seriously 2.0 and 3.0

Xbox One dis-Kinected 6/9/14. Let that be a lesson to people. Vote with your wallet.
Viper187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:55 PM   #2
Zeppelin 856
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Evil Tree
Posts: 117

xXKILL CREEKXx's Gamercard
I have no problems with my game loading at all. Maybe try unistalling the game, clearing your cache on your HD, and then re-installing the game? If that doesn't work maybe your 360 is just old and busted.
__________________
Zeppelin 856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:24 PM   #3
Viper187
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 733

NoLifeDGenerate's Gamercard
It takes like 45 seconds to reload a checkpoint every time.
__________________
100% Onyx MAX on Halo: Reach 6/19/2012: 230+ DAYS playtime, 70+ million credits banked, 1.5 million FF kills.

Seriously 2.0 and 3.0

Xbox One dis-Kinected 6/9/14. Let that be a lesson to people. Vote with your wallet.
Viper187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:41 PM   #4
dwayne_hicks
 
dwayne_hicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pennsylvania/South Jersey
Posts: 610

Dwayne Hicks's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper187 View Post
Why the hell does it take like 5 minutes to load a checkpoint whether the game is installed or not? I fucking hate this generation of gaming. All anyone's interested in is pretty graphics and nobody gives a fuck how long their shit takes to load.
Well, installing this game doesn't do a damn thing speed wise.

I've personally never experienced 5 minute load times either.
__________________




Need help with a game ?
If I still own it, I'll be glad to help, just message me and I'll try to work it out.

Last edited by dwayne_hicks; 10-20-2012 at 02:54 PM.
dwayne_hicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:07 PM   #5
Nevander
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,982

Awards Showcase Submit - Bronze   Referrals - Bronze   Road Map - Silver   Achievement Guide - Silver   5,000 Posts
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper187 View Post
I fucking hate this generation of gaming. All anyone's interested in is pretty graphics and nobody gives a fuck how long their shit takes to load.
QFT.

/10char
__________________
I have moved to PC gaming, so I
won't be on Xbox LIVE anymore.
Nevander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 06:15 PM   #6
BosmaniaK
 
BosmaniaK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 377

Bosmaniak's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper187 View Post
Why the hell does it take like 5 minutes to load a checkpoint
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper187 View Post
It takes like 45 seconds to reload a checkpoint every time.
which statement of the two is it?

Maybe you should shake your console while it's loading. Or just quit bitching about a few seconds load-time.
BosmaniaK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:42 PM   #7
Delow317
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley, Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 914

Delow317 XBL's Gamercard
I have no idea what the OP is talking about. I have the game installed (as it should be unless you are playing Doom1 and 2 off the disk) and it takes 10 to 15 seconds to load a checkpoint.

You really want some long load times.. Play Duke Nukem Forever. Everytime you die you almost have to wait 1:30 for it to load the checkpoints... And that's with the game installed.
Delow317 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 12:37 AM   #8
JV1027
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6

JV1027's Gamercard
5 min....really?
JV1027 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:17 AM   #9
Azrael008uk
 
Azrael008uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 703

Azrael008uk's Gamercard
My game loads in just a few seconds.

Is your HD full up?

Try deleting some stuff you're not playing and clear your cache.

Let us know how you get on.

Az
__________________

pixels
Azrael008uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:08 PM   #10
Viper187
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 733

NoLifeDGenerate's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azrael008uk View Post
My game loads in just a few seconds.

Is your HD full up?

Try deleting some stuff you're not playing and clear your cache.

Let us know how you get on.

Az
If I clear the cache, then it starts popping title updates for every goddamn game I own again, and I own 265 games.
__________________
100% Onyx MAX on Halo: Reach 6/19/2012: 230+ DAYS playtime, 70+ million credits banked, 1.5 million FF kills.

Seriously 2.0 and 3.0

Xbox One dis-Kinected 6/9/14. Let that be a lesson to people. Vote with your wallet.
Viper187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:40 PM   #11
Destro
 
Destro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Québec
Posts: 2,924

Destro WOD's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
I guess people are used to the COD generation, where reloading take 5 secs max... so 45 secs seem a long time...

If you play normal its not a big deal... you don't die too much, but when you do the hardest difficulty... its a pain in the butt big time...
__________________


Gears of War Legend
Destro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:49 PM   #12
Viper187
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 733

NoLifeDGenerate's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Destro View Post
I guess people are used to the COD generation, where reloading take 5 secs max... so 45 secs seem a long time...

If you play normal its not a big deal... you don't die too much, but when you do the hardest difficulty... its a pain in the butt big time...
COD my ass. I miss the cartridge days when there was 0 load time on everything. I wish they'd switch to flash memory for the next gen instead of optical discs.
__________________
100% Onyx MAX on Halo: Reach 6/19/2012: 230+ DAYS playtime, 70+ million credits banked, 1.5 million FF kills.

Seriously 2.0 and 3.0

Xbox One dis-Kinected 6/9/14. Let that be a lesson to people. Vote with your wallet.
Viper187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 09:25 PM   #13
Azrael008uk
 
Azrael008uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 703

Azrael008uk's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper187 View Post
If I clear the cache, then it starts popping title updates for every goddamn game I own again, and I own 265 games.
I have more than that.

Just don't install them to your hard drive.

Are you near full up?

You might want to clear some storage. Just delete some of the stuff you're not playing at the moment.

It might help.

Az
__________________

pixels
Azrael008uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:28 AM   #14
Darkblade252
 
Darkblade252's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5

darkblade252's Gamercard
I have it installed and it only takes me average 10-15 seconds.
Darkblade252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:30 AM   #15
Delow317
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley, Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 914

Delow317 XBL's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper187 View Post
COD my ass. I miss the cartridge days when there was 0 load time on everything. I wish they'd switch to flash memory for the next gen instead of optical discs.
Haha, I'm with you on that. Back then "Our load times" consisted of us blowing into the cartridge slots!



Those were the days!
Delow317 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:03 PM   #16
Killbomb
 
Killbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 182

Killbomb's Gamercard
Threads like this make me glad I do a lot of my gaming on PC these days. Most games load so quickly that I can't even read the tips on the loading screen.
__________________
Killbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 10:24 PM   #17
Darkrain
 
Darkrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 61

Katzengott's Gamercard
Installed the game and it loads and saves in ~15 seconds.
__________________
Darkrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:50 AM   #18
KivaWolf
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somewhere in Colorado
Posts: 6

Kiva Wolf's Gamercard
Yeah the loading times are atrocious and being a game from 7-8 years ago should have at least somewhere of a 10-25 seconds but instead it is far longer than that. Saves are quick obviously but when it comes to loads, its terrible
KivaWolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 12:49 AM   #19
bouxdag
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6

bouxdag's Gamercard
It is pretty disappointing that it's an eight year old game, but the load times aren't all that fast. Mainly because playing on nightmare where you can get one shot by basically anything requires so much saving and reloading.
bouxdag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:43 AM   #20
deathshadow1701
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5

deathshadow1701's Gamercard
Its a total pain in the a$$
deathshadow1701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 10:23 AM   #21
Kahn13
 
Kahn13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 203

TwistOfFate619's Gamercard
I'm not an expert but my guess is that they didn't really take the time to take advantage of the 360's capabilities and/or limits unlike some of the other "bigger" (what they call AAA) releases. That and the fact that it was released on more than just 360 itself (why put more resources into programming ONE version to take advantage of its system?).

Another game that suffered majorly in regards to loading times despite it's obvious technological age was Duke Nukem Forever. Personally though while I find these loading screens annoying i'm glad that it at least runs far smoother and still looks half decent considering. Could be a lot worse...
__________________


Kahn13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:10 PM   #22
Zeppelin 856
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Evil Tree
Posts: 117

xXKILL CREEKXx's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delow317 View Post
Haha, I'm with you on that. Back then "Our load times" consisted of us blowing into the cartridge slots!



Those were the days!
You just made me realize how much a pain in the arse that was. It made you look so stupid! Ahh memories...
__________________
Zeppelin 856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:06 AM   #23
cheezyspam
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
just finished Nightmare... in game only took about 7 hours, but I guarantee you that at least 25 hours were spent staring at the load screen. it's ridiculous.
cheezyspam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 04:10 AM   #24
cokebabies
 
cokebabies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 11

ricky caldwell's Gamercard
Playing an id game without a quicksave function just feels odd.
cokebabies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:09 AM   #25
Chaos MAN
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 590

ChaosSlayerX187's Gamercard
My load screens are only 5-10 seconds. I guess I'm lucky.
Chaos MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 01:56 AM   #26
mjbeatskobe
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Oh Nintendo and your extinct cartrides with no load times. Where have you gone? hahaha
mjbeatskobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:59 PM.