PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Action > Hitman: Absolution
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 08:48 PM   #1
VonThronstahl
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 846

Throni360's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Achievement Guide - Gold   Road Map - Gold   Submit - Silver   Arcade Crazy - Silver   Over Achiever - Silver
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
Is it possible to activate Checkpoints twice?

I'm on the 6th mission on hard and have to recover 4 fuses. I got to the checkpoint by the stairs and activated the checkpoint after getting the first fuse.

I collected another one and wanted to save at the checkpoint again to avoid having to collect it again if I get caught but I don't have the option to do so. But if the enemies spotted me and I run over the checkpoint it says something like: "Checkpoints can't be activated while enemies are hostile.".

Am I doing something wrong or can checkpoints activated only once?
__________________
My Achievement Guides and Roadmaps:
Bejeweled Live, Crash Time 4: The Syndicate & 5: Undercover, Cro-Mag Rally, Centipede, Hunter's Trophy 2: America & Australia, SEGA Rally Online Arcade, Toy Soldiers: Boot Camp and Victorious: Time to Shine.
VonThronstahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:34 PM   #2
Jack Frost
 
Jack Frost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Discordia, CA
Posts: 2,135

MEETSP1NNER's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Silver   Staff Club - rekikire   Knife in the Dark Challenge Club - Tier 1   Artist of the Month   Community Gaming - Bronze   Brick Builders & Busters Franchise Club - Tier 2   Brick Builders & Busters Franchise Club - Tier 1   Micro Guide - Bronze   Over Achiever - Silver   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 10 (more» ...)
As far as I remember, once you use a checkpoint, you can't use it again. However, I also admit to not really using checkpoints much because they were unreliable as far as what would be reset if you had to go back to a checkpoint.

But in your description, it sounds more like you were unable to use the checkpoint because of hostile AI and not because you'd used it before.
__________________
Without me, it's just aweso.
Signature (and Artist of the Month entry) by yours truly.
Jack Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 10:44 PM   #3
VonThronstahl
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 846

Throni360's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Achievement Guide - Gold   Road Map - Gold   Submit - Silver   Arcade Crazy - Silver   Over Achiever - Silver
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
I used it before and after the enemies were not hostile the checkpoint turned green again and should be useable. But I couldn't activate it a second time.
__________________
My Achievement Guides and Roadmaps:
Bejeweled Live, Crash Time 4: The Syndicate & 5: Undercover, Cro-Mag Rally, Centipede, Hunter's Trophy 2: America & Australia, SEGA Rally Online Arcade, Toy Soldiers: Boot Camp and Victorious: Time to Shine.
VonThronstahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 05:18 AM   #4
Drucifer82
 
Drucifer82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,327

zI Drucifer Iz's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Checkpoints can only be activated once, I'd recommend saving activating it until you double back.
__________________
As of 4/28/14 my Borderlands 2 trading post is officially closed. I am no longer boosting, trading, farming, etc on the Xbox360. I am entirely on the Xbox One now. If you want to play Xbox One with me, send a friend request with a message to GT zI Drucifer Iz (those are capital I's).

Drucifer82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:34 AM   #5
VonThronstahl
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 846

Throni360's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Achievement Guide - Gold   Road Map - Gold   Submit - Silver   Arcade Crazy - Silver   Over Achiever - Silver
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
Thanks. I'll make sure that I don't waste any checkpoints.
__________________
My Achievement Guides and Roadmaps:
Bejeweled Live, Crash Time 4: The Syndicate & 5: Undercover, Cro-Mag Rally, Centipede, Hunter's Trophy 2: America & Australia, SEGA Rally Online Arcade, Toy Soldiers: Boot Camp and Victorious: Time to Shine.
VonThronstahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:56 PM   #6
TheGunslinger
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 9
I noticed today while doing "Shaving Lenny" (which has at least three checkpoints) that, while you can't use a checkpoint twice in a row, if you use one checkpoint, then later a second, if you then went back to the first you could use that one again. I don't know if that was a fluke or a regular thing in levels with multiple checkpoints.
TheGunslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 03:43 AM   #7
Drucifer82
 
Drucifer82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,327

zI Drucifer Iz's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGunslinger View Post
I noticed today while doing "Shaving Lenny" (which has at least three checkpoints) that, while you can't use a checkpoint twice in a row, if you use one checkpoint, then later a second, if you then went back to the first you could use that one again. I don't know if that was a fluke or a regular thing in levels with multiple checkpoints.
The way it essentially works is that one checkpoint is active at a time. So in the case of a map that has multiple checkpoints, activating one after having activated a previous one makes the previous one available again.
__________________
As of 4/28/14 my Borderlands 2 trading post is officially closed. I am no longer boosting, trading, farming, etc on the Xbox360. I am entirely on the Xbox One now. If you want to play Xbox One with me, send a friend request with a message to GT zI Drucifer Iz (those are capital I's).

Drucifer82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:26 PM   #8
UberPirateNinja
 
UberPirateNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 1,980

UberPirateNinja's Gamercard

Awards Showcase XBA Promoter   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   Over Achiever - Bronze   1,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
I've only recently started playing this, one thing is confusing me with the checkpoints. It saves my location within the level, but all enemies respawn. Is that right? Should it be that way? Wasn't sure if it was some sorta glitch I was getting
UberPirateNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013, 09:13 PM   #9
Domenick
 
Domenick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 14

Based Trucos's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGunslinger View Post
I noticed today while doing "Shaving Lenny" (which has at least three checkpoints) that, while you can't use a checkpoint twice in a row, if you use one checkpoint, then later a second, if you then went back to the first you could use that one again. I don't know if that was a fluke or a regular thing in levels with multiple checkpoints.
Confirmed.
Domenick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:16 PM   #10
Blink
 
Blink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 839

JDS Karma's Gamercard
Sometimes if you kill a boss after, you can use the same checkpoint again. I can't remember there being a situation like that on the mission you're talking about though.
That was my least favourite mission in the game so far, I gave up trying to be stealthy and just sprinted to the elevator once I had the four fuses.
Blink is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:17 PM.