PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Shooters > Battlefield 3
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-17-2013, 07:06 AM   #1
TuM Predator
 
TuM Predator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 469
Send a message via MSN to TuM Predator

TuM Predator's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Game freeze's A LOT !??

Okay so its been happening since the 3rd update, im just casually playing a game and after about 30 mins it Just freeze's for no reason. battlefield 3 is the only game it happens on. Anyone else had this issue and been able to fix it because its annoying..



( also i did use search thread but didnt find anything, So if there is already a thread about this sorry )
__________________



!Join The Fight!
Signature By Xerofox
TuM Predator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:26 PM   #2
Grey Delta
 
Grey Delta's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,670

Grey Delta's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
I remember people having an issue with this a few months ago but I've no idea if/how it was resolved. Lately my games been crashing on the menu loading screen the first time I load the game up but always works the second time
__________________
Random friend requests will be ignored.

Grey Delta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 12:45 PM   #3
wizardfire
 
wizardfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 593

chelseawinners's Gamercard
This has happened to me too on the loading screen and especially when playing metro,I don't recall ever having any freezing issues on any other map and if imgetba screen that freezes on load up then always on the second load it's fine but i still have issues with this game freezing on metro a lot...
__________________


wizardfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 01:50 PM   #4
Benny34
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,073

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuM Predator View Post
Okay so its been happening since the 3rd update, im just casually playing a game and after about 30 mins it Just freeze's for no reason. battlefield 3 is the only game it happens on. Anyone else had this issue and been able to fix it because its annoying..



( also i did use search thread but didnt find anything, So if there is already a thread about this sorry )
Are you playing metro extended tickets?
Benny34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 02:14 PM   #5
Rapturous Rich
 
Rapturous Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wolverhampton, West Midlands, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,666

Rapturous Rich's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Operation Metro and Gulf of Oman are renowned for having freezing problems for the longest time. If you play these maps, make sure you're joining a low-ticket game (anything over 200% tickets tends to freeze up).
__________________
Rapturous Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 03:36 PM   #6
I3east Lig3r
 
I3east Lig3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 815

Violet Eagle7's Gamercard

Awards Showcase XBA Promoter
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
My game crashes 50% of the time I load up BF3. Can't even reach the main menu.
__________________

Credit to Dragonpwnr99 for the awesome sig & picture!
Quote:
Valor grows by daring, fear by holding back.
~Publilius Syrus
I3east Lig3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 08:50 PM   #7
xRaW CaRNage x
 
xRaW CaRNage x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: East coast
Posts: 1,166
Send a message via Yahoo to xRaW CaRNage x Send a message via Skype™ to xRaW CaRNage x

xRaw Carnage's Gamercard

Awards Showcase XBA Promoter   1,000 Posts   NBA Live 07 - 1000 People Online...Again
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapturous Rich View Post
Operation Metro and Gulf of Oman are renowned for having freezing problems for the longest time. If you play these maps, make sure you're joining a low-ticket game (anything over 200% tickets tends to freeze up).
I wish I would have read this earlier. I played an extended ticket conquest on Gulf of Oman. Towards the end of the game (well over an hour play time) and my f***ing game crashes! Seriously annoying!
xRaW CaRNage x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 09:55 PM   #8
HighsounD
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 823

HighsounD's Gamercard
I like how we are almost 1 and a ˝ years into the game and they still haven't fixed the massive frame rate drops on Seine Crossing. That map is almost unplayable for the first minute and then whenever you cross a corner.
__________________
HighsounD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:11 AM   #9
xRaW CaRNage x
 
xRaW CaRNage x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: East coast
Posts: 1,166
Send a message via Yahoo to xRaW CaRNage x Send a message via Skype™ to xRaW CaRNage x

xRaw Carnage's Gamercard

Awards Showcase XBA Promoter   1,000 Posts   NBA Live 07 - 1000 People Online...Again
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighsounD View Post
I like how we are almost 1 and a ˝ years into the game and they still haven't fixed the massive frame rate drops on Seine Crossing. That map is almost unplayable for the first minute and then whenever you cross a corner.
Agree^ I'm also experiencing terrible rubber band lag in almost every match. At first I thought maybe it was my connection. So I reset my router and still had it. Especially today.
xRaW CaRNage x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 01:15 AM   #10
WOLFkraut
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,734

WOLFkraut's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighsounD View Post
I like how we are almost 1 and a ˝ years into the game and they still haven't fixed the massive frame rate drops on Seine Crossing. That map is almost unplayable for the first minute and then whenever you cross a corner.
I don't understand the reason for this. If it was like Kharg Rush where there is a scripted event at the beginning of the match or something, it might make sense. But Seine Crossing is one of the plainest maps in the game, nothing happens at the beginning, it just doesn't make any sense. Perhaps the game is loading a large amount of resources, but that doesn't make sense either.

OP, just so you know, this is a well known issue and there are threads about it, but the search feature does suck, so I can't blame you for not finding them, those threads are buried now. In the future try using Google's site search feature instead of this site's built in feature, it will likely work better, to do that type this into Google: <insert search term here> site:xbox360achievements.org

Anyway, yeah, the freezing has been an issue since last March, DICE can't seem to fix it. My game doesn't freeze a ton in-game, but I freeze on the start screen quite often, it's very strange. When it freezes in-game, though, it's usually on Metro. That's the most well known map for freezing.
__________________

Last edited by WOLFkraut; 02-18-2013 at 01:18 AM.
WOLFkraut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 05:09 AM   #11
quickhhh
 
quickhhh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 780

General E Quick's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Glad to see I'm not the only one. I was going to make a thread about this but I decided not to anyhow freezing is not only happening to me in multiplayer it also happened to me twice when trying to replay levels in the single player campaign on hard. Right at the end of a level that a spent nearly an hour on it froze. I'm kind of put off on playing it right now.
__________________

Last edited by quickhhh; 02-18-2013 at 05:27 AM.
quickhhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:08 AM   #12
JASEL84
 
JASEL84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,150

COD MASTAH's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
On metro only consoles freeze.
__________________
WARNING: Use of the UMP may cause you to believe you possess more skill than you actually have!

Prestige 10: Modern Warfare
Prestige 10: World at War
Prestige 10: Modern Warfare 2
Prestige 14: Black Ops
Prestige 14: Modern Warfare 3

Real gameplay
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wDCDxvRFGp0&feature=plcp
JASEL84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:03 PM   #13
Barad
Reading 50 Shades of Grey
 
Barad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bristol, England Occupation: Student
Posts: 20,721
Send a message via Skype™ to Barad

Barad XBA's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Community Gaming - Gold   Donator - Level 2   Staff vs Subscribers 2014 Winner   CABS Beta Tester   XBA Representer   Staff Club - troy0891   Micro Guide - Silver   Road Map - Platinum   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   Submit - Diamond   Achievement Guide - Gold   15,000 Posts
Total Awards: 18 (more» ...)
I don't remember the game ever freezing on me, even on Metro..maybe it has on the bigger ticket games and I just haven't noticed.
__________________
PIMPIN'
ALL. DAY. LONG.

**Work of Jardinho**
Barad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:19 PM   #14
TuM Predator
 
TuM Predator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 469
Send a message via MSN to TuM Predator

TuM Predator's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
its not always metro its done it on Firestorm and caspian

But i never knew extended tickets Causes it to freeze more, Although i never had this problem before 3rd update so i dont know what they did but it messed my game up ! pft
__________________



!Join The Fight!
Signature By Xerofox
TuM Predator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:40 PM   #15
CGPsaint
 
CGPsaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA.
Posts: 4,793

CGPsaint's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Over Achiever - Bronze   2,500 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny34 View Post
Are you playing metro extended tickets?
BAM! Hit the nail on the head. This is why my Server is set for 200% Tickets. As much as I enjoy big ticket games, I grew very tired of having my game freeze after an hour of whooping ass.

Quote:
Originally Posted by I3east Lig3r View Post
My game crashes 50% of the time I load up BF3. Can't even reach the main menu.
Is your game saved to the Hard Drive?
__________________

CGPsaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:50 AM   #16
dennisb407
 
dennisb407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orlando,FL
Posts: 183

dennisb407's Gamercard
I haven't dived too deep into this game yet, but do "tickets" mean/do?
dennisb407 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:25 PM   #17
I3east Lig3r
 
I3east Lig3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: League City, TX
Posts: 815

Violet Eagle7's Gamercard

Awards Showcase XBA Promoter
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGPsaint View Post

Is your game saved to the Hard Drive?
Yup, I have 20.6 gigabytes of BF3
__________________

Credit to Dragonpwnr99 for the awesome sig & picture!
Quote:
Valor grows by daring, fear by holding back.
~Publilius Syrus
I3east Lig3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:00 PM   #18
Kunduz
 
Kunduz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,177

Herr Karamell's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by I3east Lig3r View Post
My game crashes 50% of the time I load up BF3. Can't even reach the main menu.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGPsaint View Post
BAM! Hit the nail on the head. This is why my Server is set for 200% Tickets. As much as I enjoy big ticket games, I grew very tired of having my game freeze after an hour of whooping ass.



Is your game saved to the Hard Drive?
Quote:
Originally Posted by I3east Lig3r View Post
Yup, I have 20.6 gigabytes of BF3
I've got the same issue, problem first occured after getting premium.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vindicator51 View Post
In that case, people will have to download more RAM for it. Consoles have come a long way since they first appeared, so this is very possible.
Kunduz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:45 PM   #19
gmurda33
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 686

gmurda33's Gamercard
i've found the game ALWAYS crashes when you're a scrub--happened to me last night 14 times
__________________

gmurda33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 02:41 PM   #20
Opiate42
 
Opiate42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada, likely stuck in a snowdrift...with no shovel
Posts: 7,109

Opiate42's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Community Gaming - Silver   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   Submit - Bronze   XBA Promoter   Staff Club - DEG23   Over Achiever - Bronze   5,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Rare occurrence happened before teaming up with Saint and Murder last night, my bro and I were in a loooong ticket Oman game, 1200 tix, and actually DIDN'T lock up. That was a nice change.
__________________
"It's 5000 miles to the Vale, we got a horse, a tiny sword, winter is coming, and we're wearing boiled leather"

"Hit it"
Opiate42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 06:17 PM   #21
Rapturous Rich
 
Rapturous Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wolverhampton, West Midlands, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,666

Rapturous Rich's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennisb407 View Post
I haven't dived too deep into this game yet, but do "tickets" mean/do?
"Tickets" are the number of reinforcements each team gets. In a game of Conquest each team has the same amount of tickets and through killing and/or holding the majority of flags these tickets go down. Being killed and then respawning costs your team 1 ticket. The first team to reach 0 tickets loses (ie: they have 0 reinforcements to carry on the fight).
In Rush the attacking team has a set number of tickets while defenders have unlimited tickets. To win as a defender you must deplete all attacking tickets (reinforcements).
Reviving teammates will save your team a ticket.
In Deathmatch and Gun Master there are no tickets - you just have to reach the set amount of kills first or finish with the last weapon respectively.
__________________
Rapturous Rich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:45 PM   #22
CGPsaint
 
CGPsaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA.
Posts: 4,793

CGPsaint's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Over Achiever - Bronze   2,500 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by I3east Lig3r View Post
Yup, I have 20.6 gigabytes of BF3
Kind of makes you wonder if EA is getting a kickback for helping M$ sell more consoles. This game single handedly made the original 20 GB models obsolete.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kunduz View Post
I've got the same issue, problem first occured after getting premium.
I've had issues with the MP freezing since I started playing, but it's been a much more frequent occurrence since Premium released.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opiate42 View Post
Rare occurrence happened before teaming up with Saint and Murder last night, my bro and I were in a loooong ticket Oman game, 1200 tix, and actually DIDN'T lock up. That was a nice change.
What? No way! In more interesting news, I went home for lunch today and spent over an hour getting the last damn kill for the Mobile Artillery. That shit is the devil's ride...
__________________

CGPsaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:45 AM   #23
Cpt Slaughter
A Personal Contract…
 
Cpt Slaughter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 4,114

Cpt Slaugh7er's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts   Subscriber - Bronze   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
This happens when I'm in the loading screen. It always freezes when the blue square is turning bright and dark in the black loading screen.
__________________
My Gallery | XBA Blog

"My Sun...is setting... It's dark.....so dark."

Cpt Slaughter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 06:13 AM   #24
WOLFkraut
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,734

WOLFkraut's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kunduz View Post
I've got the same issue, problem first occured after getting premium.
Same here. Don't recall when it started, though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gmurda33 View Post
i've found the game ALWAYS crashes when you're a scrub--happened to me last night 14 times
7000!? Damn, dude! I've really let my chopper skills and usage slide! You were kicking some ass last night.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CGPsaint View Post
Kind of makes you wonder if EA is getting a kickback for helping M$ sell more consoles. This game single handedly made the original 20 GB models obsolete.



I've had issues with the MP freezing since I started playing, but it's been a much more frequent occurrence since Premium released.



What? No way! In more interesting news, I went home for lunch today and spent over an hour getting the last damn kill for the Mobile Artillery. That shit is the devil's ride...
Never! I refuse to upgrade! My 20GB still works, BF3 just uses all of it. :-) I have two 8GB flash drives to help out, though.

Hahahaha, I told ya, Opiate, those MAVs are evil!

Quote:
Originally Posted by V1ZIONZxBLOOD View Post
This happens when I'm in the loading screen. It always freezes when the blue square is turning bright and dark in the black loading screen.
Again, same here.
__________________
WOLFkraut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 12:08 PM   #25
gmurda33
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 686

gmurda33's Gamercard
@wolf---yeah i pretty much stopped using choppers, but now that I have everything complete that I wanted to get done (besides mastering a few pistols) ive decided to get 100 chopper stars. ill be in that bitch till bf4 prolly
__________________

gmurda33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 12:59 PM   #26
dennisb407
 
dennisb407's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Orlando,FL
Posts: 183

dennisb407's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapturous Rich View Post
"Tickets" are the number of reinforcements each team gets. In a game of Conquest each team has the same amount of tickets and through killing and/or holding the majority of flags these tickets go down. Being killed and then respawning costs your team 1 ticket. The first team to reach 0 tickets loses (ie: they have 0 reinforcements to carry on the fight).
In Rush the attacking team has a set number of tickets while defenders have unlimited tickets. To win as a defender you must deplete all attacking tickets (reinforcements).
Reviving teammates will save your team a ticket.
In Deathmatch and Gun Master there are no tickets - you just have to reach the set amount of kills first or finish with the last weapon respectively.
Thank you, that'll help me enjoy the game even more now
dennisb407 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:55 PM   #27
CGPsaint
 
CGPsaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA.
Posts: 4,793

CGPsaint's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Over Achiever - Bronze   2,500 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFkraut View Post
Never! I refuse to upgrade! My 20GB still works, BF3 just uses all of it. :-) I have two 8GB flash drives to help out, though.
Really??? I've burned up more consoles than I can remember. That and I have this sickness where I have to purchase Special Edition Consoles... I'm sitting on an unopened Star Wars Edition Console at the moment. Once my current slim shits the bed, R2-D2 will be up to bat.
__________________

CGPsaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:47 PM   #28
Opiate42
 
Opiate42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Canada, likely stuck in a snowdrift...with no shovel
Posts: 7,109

Opiate42's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Community Gaming - Silver   Defeat in the Cross-Site (GSL 12 vs THL 5)   Submit - Bronze   XBA Promoter   Staff Club - DEG23   Over Achiever - Bronze   5,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGPsaint View Post
Really??? I've burned up more consoles than I can remember. That and I have this sickness where I have to purchase Special Edition Consoles... I'm sitting on an unopened Star Wars Edition Console at the moment. Once my current slim shits the bed, R2-D2 will be up to bat.
Maybe you're just not showing them enough love.

Only ever had one rig myself, have been running the same 60gb Jasper system since 2008.
__________________
"It's 5000 miles to the Vale, we got a horse, a tiny sword, winter is coming, and we're wearing boiled leather"

"Hit it"
Opiate42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:59 PM   #29
CGPsaint
 
CGPsaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA.
Posts: 4,793

CGPsaint's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Over Achiever - Bronze   2,500 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opiate42 View Post
Maybe you're just not showing them enough love.

Only ever had one rig myself, have been running the same 60gb Jasper system since 2008.
Actually, I used to own my own video game retail store, and as such I had my console up and running from 9am - 9pm daily. That's 12 hours a day just about every day for several years. Trust me. The console was not made to handle that.
__________________

CGPsaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 06:03 PM   #30
gmurda33
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 686

gmurda33's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by CGPsaint View Post
Actually, I used to own my own video game retail store, and as such I had my console up and running from 9am - 9pm daily. That's 12 hours a day just about every day for several years. Trust me. The console was not made to handle that.
is this a true story or a lie like how u said ur penis was 6 inches long? its really 10 and now i walk with a slight limp :/

OT: when i was in college i legit played bf3 for AT LEAST 12 hours everyday---probably for 3 straight months or more. haha its the only reason i was level 100 so quick
__________________

gmurda33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:07 AM.