PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Games for Windows Live Games > Microsoft Flight
Subscribe    Donate

View Poll Results: Which Controller/s do you use?
Keyboard 13 16.67%
Mouse 22 28.21%
Xbox 360 Controller 45 57.69%
Flight Stick 15 19.23%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 78. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2012, 11:21 PM   #1
BluWolve
 
BluWolve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 2,128

BluWolve's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 5   Subscriber - Platinum   Submit - Silver   A+ Thread Award   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
Which Controller are you using?

Just wondering what peoples preferences are.

Obviously you have A LOT more control when you use the keyboard, and it is closer to a proper flight sim.

But the ease and familiarity of using an Xbox 360 controller is hard to beat.

Then there are those who have flight sticks, which means you can use the keyboard like a real control panel for the ultimate flight sim experience possible with this game (unless you have one of those machines ).

I currently can't even play much due to a wrist injury, but I have only used the Xbox 360 controller so far as I could not be bothered configuring my flight stick. You can do everything you need to and I think it gives the game a more arcade type feel in contrast to a true flight sim.

Which do you use?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ty-Rex View Post
I am trained in gorilla warfare

Last edited by BluWolve; 03-01-2012 at 11:25 PM.
BluWolve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 11:42 PM   #2
Atanatos
 
Atanatos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 188

atanatos's Gamercard
Saitek Pro Flight Yoke (:
Although I think Flight is far, far, faaaar inferior to FSX, sooo back to that with my Saitek it is...
__________________


Add me! Do it. Do it now! Or not. You know. Free will and all that... But if you do wish to add me, not saying you should, mind you, GT: Atanatos
Atanatos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:06 AM   #3
rekikire
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,801

rekikire x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Staff Club - Grifter Reborn   Staff Club - rekikire   Staff Club - Never Final   Staff Club - Minty   1,000 Posts   x360a Representer   GSL 10 Winner   GSL 10 MVP   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 9 (more» ...)
One of these

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/gaming...ks/devices/291
rekikire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:14 AM   #4
BluWolve
 
BluWolve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 2,128

BluWolve's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 5   Subscriber - Platinum   Submit - Silver   A+ Thread Award   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekikire View Post
Nice, those customizable buttons would come in handy. Does that work with the xbox 360 console as well? I have one of these;

Amazon.com: Saitek Aviator Flightstick for PC and Xbox 360: Electronics Amazon.com: Saitek Aviator Flightstick for PC and Xbox 360: Electronics


but it is more suited for the xbox. Flight recognizes it as an xbox 360 controller so it only auto-maps the basics, to the wrong buttons. It will work if I set it up myself but I can't use it anyway with my wrist as it is so I didn't bother.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ty-Rex View Post
I am trained in gorilla warfare
BluWolve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 04:22 AM   #5
EchoPark
 
EchoPark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 235
Send a message via MSN to EchoPark

EchoPark's Gamercard
Amazon.com: Saitek X52 Flight Control System: Electronics Amazon.com: Saitek X52 Flight Control System: Electronics

Got one of these, use to play it with FSX but maybe this would be more suited. I want a pro but will need to save the pennies. I agree this is far from the FS that was FSX but its pretty fun i was suprised how well they delt with mouse control
__________________
100% Retail: 18
Latest: Sleeping Dogs
Working On: Forza 4, The Amazing Spider-Man

100% XBLA: 11
Latest: Minecraft
Working On: Choplifter

100% WP7: 8
Latest: Feed Me Oil
Working On: Angry Birds
EchoPark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:31 AM   #6
TRICKY1976
 
TRICKY1976's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NOTTINGHAM ENGLAND
Posts: 876
Send a message via ICQ to TRICKY1976 Send a message via MSN to TRICKY1976

TRICKY1976's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Bronze
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Iv never been able to play Pc games using a keyboard i could bever get the hang of all the buttons i prefer controllers so im using my 360 controller
__________________


TRICKY1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:02 AM   #7
igor5618
 
igor5618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 139

Igor5618's Gamercard
Saitek Aviator X360/PC but controls aren't well set, I have to switch beetwen M1/M2 modes couse either Axis or buttons doesn't work, think I will use normal wired X360 gamepad.
__________________


Completed retail
: 150 Completed Aracde:24
igor5618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:50 PM   #8
DarkMellie
 
DarkMellie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 156

DarkMellie's Gamercard
I use my normal flight-kit..

HOTAS Warthog



Saitek Pro-Flight Rudder Pedals




...and I'm bitterly disappointed that, despite Naturalpoint sending the required software to the Flight team, my TrackIR v5.0 is unused...



Given that it's a flight 'game' and that in the Steerman aircraft they let you use your middle mouse wheel to control your view, it's staggering they didn't code in such a simple piece of software. TrackIR is the greatest thing to ever happen to flight sims.
__________________
I write for Ripten, talk twaddle on Twitter and does has a youtube channel... and here's 71 pages of random game screenshots I've taken.

DarkMellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 04:00 AM   #9
Congressman Kibbles
 
Congressman Kibbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 66

SourKraut1944's Gamercard
I tried using the keyboard and the controls didn't seem as responsive as when I used a mouse. I thought about using my 360 controller but I haven't tried it yet.
Congressman Kibbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 05:02 AM   #10
BluWolve
 
BluWolve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 2,128

BluWolve's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 5   Subscriber - Platinum   Submit - Silver   A+ Thread Award   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by igor5618 View Post
Saitek Aviator X360/PC but controls aren't well set, I have to switch beetwen M1/M2 modes couse either Axis or buttons doesn't work, think I will use normal wired X360 gamepad.
If you are using the AV8R-02 and you set it to M2 then configure the buttons yourself it works fine.

Here is my basic set-up;

Events - Option 1 - Input Actual
  • Aileron (Axis) - Left stick left/right - (push stick left/right)
  • Brakes (both) - A button - (LB)
  • Elevator (axis) - Left stick up-down - (push stick up/down)
  • Landing gear (up/down) - B button - (LSB)
  • Rudder (Axis) - Right Stick left/right - (twist stick left/right)
  • Throttle (Axis) - Right Stick up/down - (RT)
  • Throttle (Increase) - Right Bumper - (Y)
  • Throttle (Decrease) - Left Bumper - (B)

Also make sure to turn off invert joystick pitch in the control setup menu and turn on inverted camera controls in the gameplay menu.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ty-Rex View Post
I am trained in gorilla warfare

Last edited by BluWolve; 03-04-2012 at 05:05 AM.
BluWolve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 08:32 AM   #11
FiReStOrM^
 
FiReStOrM^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SCOTLAND
Posts: 514

xFiRe5tOrMx's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
I play with the Xbox 360 and PC reciever. I use mouse for landings that have to be super duper accurate.
FiReStOrM^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2012, 05:33 PM   #12
Onyok
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 241
I'm using my old AV8R-02 from H.A.W.X which is set at M1 that works right out of the box. But i may have to try BluWolve's M2 settings see if there's any improvements over M1(defaults). Thanks! Glad I don't have to get any other flight stix for now!
__________________
Spoiler! (click here to reveal)


Onyok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 06:46 PM   #13
Bardfor
 
Bardfor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 61

Bardfor's Gamercard
Using a wired 360 controller, though I think one of the other flight stick style controllers would be much better. Ahh... if only I was independently wealthy.
__________________
Bardfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 12:42 PM   #14
igor5618
 
igor5618's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 139

Igor5618's Gamercard
I have some strange control issues. Each time i go outside plane camera drops point of view to 90 degerss down and have to move mouse up all the time to see horizon.
__________________


Completed retail
: 150 Completed Aracde:24
igor5618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 10:05 PM   #15
Killerchronic
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,874

Ki11erC's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
I downloaded this when it was on release but forgot about it, i will be using either a 360 joypad or joystick, dont have any special flight stuff so i guess whichever works best for me i will stick with. While i dont have quite the obsession with flight games some ppl have i do have a love for them, MS flight sim (forget which year) and MS combat flight sim i spent literally days playing lol

Edit: Ok seems i lied, i forgot my joystick had some flight controls, Saitek Cyborg Evo, bought it for BF2 (none of that bad company shiz, the old PC version) i dont think ive used it since then...well i havent considering the dust i just blew off it lol

Should be fun, few beers and a plane...and my legs FIRMLY on the ground, the way i like it
__________________
Retail Games with 100%: 16
10k Hit - 14/02/08
20k Hit - 07/10/09
30k Hit - 05/07/10
40k Hit - 13/09/10
50K Hit - 31/05/11

Last edited by Killerchronic; 04-11-2012 at 12:16 AM.
Killerchronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 02:13 AM   #16
Black Tango
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 54

JohnnieMonkey's Gamercard
360 controller for me.

Though I do have a Logitech Wingman around here someplace now that I think about it. I'll have to give it a whirl.
__________________
Black Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2012, 06:29 PM   #17
Larvi
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18

Larvi's Gamercard
I dusted off my old Sidewinder 3D Pro joystick, the only problem was that it needs a gameport connector which my current Core I7 2600K system doesn't have. So I used one of these:

http://www.manhattan-products.com/en...e-port-adapter

And got it to work fine under Win7 64bit using CH Flightstick pro emulation. All buttons are working too, stick, rudder, throttle, POV Hat, etc. Hopefully now I can complete those darn landing challenges.
Larvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2012, 11:56 AM   #18
osuzoo08
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 42

osuzoo08's Gamercard
I have a Thrustmaster T-Flight Hotas X Flight Stick works great with the game.
osuzoo08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:24 PM   #19
Siziol
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 44

Siziolvec's Gamercard
I've been using my controller.
Siziol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:25 PM   #20
J3wsuf
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 5

Flesh Storm12's Gamercard
Is it worth getting the wireless adapter for the pc so I can use my 360 controller?
J3wsuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 03:55 PM   #21
CHIRUNO99
 
CHIRUNO99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,286

chiruno99's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
I don't play it often, but I like using a 360 controller.
Quote:
Originally Posted by J3wsuf View Post
Is it worth getting the wireless adapter for the pc so I can use my 360 controller?
If you plan on using it a lot, but it's cheaper to get a Wired Joypad.
__________________


Damn I'm so depressed.
CHIRUNO99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 06:39 PM   #22
Shinnizle
 
Shinnizle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 154

Shinnizle's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHIRUNO99 View Post
I don't play it often, but I like using a 360 controller.

If you plan on using it a lot, but it's cheaper to get a Wired Joypad.
Well, the adapter is only 20$, so it's pretty damn cheap.
__________________

Shinnizle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 07:01 PM   #23
DanTheGamer11
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 64

DanTheGamer11's Gamercard
Logitech Extreme 3D Pro
DanTheGamer11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:35 AM   #24
jacobite
 
jacobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 253

Jackobite's Gamercard
My Old MS Sidewinder pro stick.

Its a bit beat up and the power on it is long gone but it still works well enough.
__________________

I don't eat, I don't sleep, I don't wash and I don't care.


jacobite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 02:40 AM   #25
BluWolve
 
BluWolve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NT, Australia
Posts: 2,128

BluWolve's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 5   Subscriber - Platinum   Submit - Silver   A+ Thread Award   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobite View Post
My Old MS Sidewinder pro stick.

Its a bit beat up and the power on it is long gone but it still works well enough.
That's awesome, did that stick come with the X-wing vs Tie fighter game? I am pretty sure that is the exact joystick I used to have.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ty-Rex View Post
I am trained in gorilla warfare
BluWolve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:24 PM   #26
jacobite
 
jacobite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 253

Jackobite's Gamercard
No I bought it... prob for Combat Flight sim, which I played to death, was the first online game I ever played, been flying (crashing) Planes and Helos ever since.
__________________

I don't eat, I don't sleep, I don't wash and I don't care.


jacobite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 08:17 AM   #27
DeafSunchaser
 
DeafSunchaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sheffield.. England..
Posts: 924

MrSunchaser's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Word of Mouth   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
i have been playing with the xbox pad!
__________________




.

___________________________________
BF3


BF2142


DeafSunchaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:12 PM.