PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Action > LEGO Lord of the Rings
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2013, 10:14 AM   #1
xl4everlostlx
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1

xl4everlostlx's Gamercard
Character switching in this game BLOWS!!!!!!

Title says it all (RANT)!!!!!
xl4everlostlx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 04:22 PM   #2
Wolfe_CH
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 82
I assume you're talking about the game "helpfully" switching to the other player when you're trying to select a different character (usually while climbing Mount Doom or Orthanc tower). You can try using some of the ancillary characters, like the Witch King instead of the basic ones. The game tends not to switch to the other character if you turn the guy at the bottom into the Witch King.

Turning on the second controller may also work.

- Chris
Wolfe_CH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:34 AM   #3
Der Nacho
 
Der Nacho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 422

DER NACHO's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Staff Club - TemporalWizard
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
I have no idea why they added in the character switch wheel. It's just easier to choose a character from the big lot instead.
__________________
Der Nacho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:37 AM   #4
BigBroBo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5

BigBroBo's Gamercard
Agreed. Character wheel was an inconvenience
BigBroBo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:08 AM   #5
GlassVial
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 186
I didn't think the character wheel was that bad, EXCEPT when it switched for you to the other guy, THAT'S the part that sucks. If it didn't do that, it wouldn't be so bad. Whenever I'm doing tricky maneuvers (climbing Mt Doom for that VERY HARD to get brick, or climbing that stupid tower which is even harder) I always chose the + to get the entire character list to assure it wouldn't make choices for me and drop me to the other guy.
GlassVial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2013, 11:53 PM   #6
alec_006
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 55

i am el kabong's Gamercard
i agree, seriously the worst character changing system ever... go back to the lego star wars way, its old but at least it works
__________________
53 100% Retail Completed
2 100% Arcade Completed

100+ Standard Skylanders Collected

First Austrailian to 1000 points in Tropico 3
alec_006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 01:18 AM   #7
shinobigarth
 
shinobigarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,389
Send a message via Skype™ to shinobigarth

ShinobiGarth's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
yeah it really is god awful. pretty sure this is the first Lego game where in free play or free roam, you cant have 2 of the same character out at the same time. so if you, say, need Sam to cross an elven rope point, then switch to someone else, then try to switch back to Sam again, you will find yourself switching control over to the other character because the dumbass AI decided it needed to change to Sam to follow you. instead of what would make more sense which is simply allow the AI to be Sam at the same time, or even an alternate version of Sam.

also i really hate the free character selection they've implemented in the last couple Lego games, where you just get the big wall of characters to choose from when you hold Y when in free play. they should just do like they used to where they automatically give you at least 1 character with each ability and only let you select from those 8 for the level.

or, do what ive been saying for years now which is allow you to create a custom group of 8 characters, so that way when playing a free play level you can quickly and easily select a group of your favorite characters arranged in whatever order you prefer. thats one simple thing that would really make Lego games a lot better.
__________________

Last edited by shinobigarth; 04-05-2013 at 01:20 AM.
shinobigarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 06:23 AM   #8
ajennice
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,904

ajennice00's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
character swapping BLOWS!!!

Is there a trick to changing a character without going from your controlled person to the other person???

Spots where you have to use sam to climb a rope, the elf for arrows, and golem to climb his area (all just examples of multiple swaps), I'll hit and hold the Y button only for it to switch to the AI. Bytime I swap back, my character has of course jumped down from whatever platform I had gotten to. Either when I hold Y it will just swap or it will swap AND do the character change....
How's come the previous LEGO games were pretty polished compared to a title thay have had the blueprint on for 4 years?????????? You would figure they could get better with each release.....
ajennice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 04:38 PM   #9
killerkilbee12345
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4

THE FEaRED's Gamercard
it does that to me but i have now got used to my friend to be on the other controller and then i just complete it quickly without the scroll character selection. i reckon that it should return to default but there is a factor on how to swap characters from other parts of the game such as hobbington to bree as this will be difficult for all gamers to enjoy the game without the stupid noises that the game makes if something is invalid
killerkilbee12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 03:24 PM   #10
WooliestRaptor
 
WooliestRaptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 156

Wooliest Raptor's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by shinobigarth View Post
pretty sure this is the first Lego game where in free play or free roam, you cant have 2 of the same character out at the same time. so if you, say, need Sam to cross an elven rope point, then switch to someone else, then try to switch back to Sam again, you will find yourself switching control over to the other character because the dumbass AI decided it needed to change to Sam to follow you. instead of what would make more sense which is simply allow the AI to be Sam at the same time, or even an alternate version of Sam.
I managed to have two Sams out at once the very first time I switched to Sam in Middle Earth.... No idea what I did to get that to happen, and I haven't been able to replicate it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shinobigarth View Post
or, do what ive been saying for years now which is allow you to create a custom group of 8 characters, so that way when playing a free play level you can quickly and easily select a group of your favorite characters arranged in whatever order you prefer. thats one simple thing that would really make Lego games a lot better.
That would be awesome.
__________________

Last edited by WooliestRaptor; 07-04-2013 at 05:04 PM.
WooliestRaptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 05:05 PM   #11
WooliestRaptor
 
WooliestRaptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 156

Wooliest Raptor's Gamercard
Figured out how to character switch without changing places - have to select from the grid, not the wheel.
__________________
WooliestRaptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:32 AM.