Rb dlc 1/27/09

smacd

I'm not a huge Grateful Dead fan (although, like smacd, respect their influence), but lately I've been playing the same 10 or so RB tracks over and over again, and Alabama Getaway is one of them.

Should I check out the other GD tracks? Are they as fun (guitar wise) as Alabama Getaway? Recommend any songs, or the whole pack?

Regardless, one more song to add to my 'Rock Band' iTunes playlist! (up to 135 songs, and since I only listen to classic rock, that's a pretty good chunk I think) as I have Grateful Dead's American Beauty and The Best of Skeletons From The Closet, and Uncle John's Band is on TBoSFTC.

for the first GD track pack (while I'm primarily a bassist) all of the tracks are pretty good on Guitar. Most of them have Gold Star ratings at rbdlc.com. I'd recommend all of them for Guitarists or Bassists. The only one that is a little lacking is "I Need A Miracle" in my opinion.

Thanks. Just bought a bunch of Microsoft points, so I'll check 'em out.

As seems to be the general theme, this is a pass for me. I'm curious as to why The Grateful Dead's one big hit (Touch of Gray, I think) is not one of the tracks. Maybe lack of masters? If I was to get a GD track, that would probably be it.

Though the GD track on RB2 is actually pretty fun on guitar... maybe I'll check out the charts. *shrug*

Interesting. I always figured their one "big" hit was Casey Jones, since thats the only one I'd ever heard on the radio. Although they are a pretty big name band and had plenty of "hits" I'm sure.

I may be wrong (and I'm too lazy to do the simple search that would confirm my thought :p), but I believe Touch of Gray was the only GD song to ever crack the Top 10 on the Billboard charts. It peaked at number 9, if I recall reading correctly.