Should I build a PC?

jackw428

So should I build myself a PC or just use a site such as ibuypower.com? Their prices seem pretty fair especially when compared to other companies like Alienware. I have no experience whatsoever in computer building. If anyone has done this before please tell me: how easy is it to build a new computer with zero prior experience? Should I just buy one? What I'm scared of is if I f**k it up then I'll have wasted $1000+ is parts that I just destroyed. What would you guys recommend?

For a first timer? I would give it a 4/10. You have information in the packages of whatever parts you buy, which show and explain what to do with them. If that doesn't help, there is always the Internet.

The last PC I built was towards the end of 2010. All the parts + the Antec DF-35 case cost me roughly $1000. Had I purchased this as a package or let the store build it for me, it would of cost me an extra... $300-$500?

It was my third PC build, first one I did was when I was 14/15 and my first one still works to this day. :p

Well, as you do not know anything about building a computer....I dunno.

Not that difficult really....Barebone Kits are usually a little more user friendly, as everything is matched up (As opposed to getting the wrong sized motherboard for your tower/case).

Might I suggest Tigerdirect.com (LINK to barebones section)

Or Newegg.com (LINK to barebones section)

I love my custom built machines. I have one that is almost 5 years old, and still able to upgrade it (Mostly....at least it supports SATA)

I'd run by what you are thinking of getting on a forum that specializes in custom PCs. You might even be able to find a recent thread with a lot of replies that list something someone else bought to put together then you can just build that. Thats what I did in 2004 when I built my PCs. Now I just buy them because I'm lazy and don't feel like messing with it.