Username
Password

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Main Hub > Discussion Boards > Xbox 360
Subscribe    Donate

Old 11-15-2008, 11:52 PM   #1
Khalus Akuhei

Khalus Akuhei's Gamercard
Safe to leave 360 on for extended periods? {Falcon Model}

So I've done a bunch of searching through threads here, and many places on the web, but I can't seem to find any specific info regarding the new Falcon Chip 360 Model. All the info out there seems to only be about the older models.

As some of you may know that have talked with me or read my main greetings post I'm new to owning a 360, but I did a bit of research before I purchased one. After a short bit of asking a few stores, checking the web and calling Microsoft I found out how to see which models of 360s have the new Falcon Chip MB and Power Supply.

I did in fact make sure I got one, and the main question now is, "will leaving the system on for extended periods after use hurt or damage the system in any way?" I use the 360 alot for streaming TV shows & movies from my PC many hrs each day and have fallen asleep during or shortly after one of them ends playing sometimes. Which in result ends up having my system sitting on overnight for as many as 8-10 hrs.

Over the years from a friends store I've been able to feel the heat that was produced from a normal 360 prior to the Falcon Chip and it was insanely hot many times even during short plays in an open area. However now that I have the new Falcon Chip Model and the system is in a somewhat smallish confined area inside my TV center. There is an opening in back and I leave the glass door open when its on so there is plenty of air flow.

I've noticed though that even after extended playtimes and leaving it on overnight it just barely gets luke warm to the touch and hardly generates any heat, both the system and the power brick which is sitting outside the TV center.