PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Main Hub > Discussion Boards > Xbox 360
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2010, 02:13 AM   #1
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Freezing issues?

Hey guys, since I've gotten home I've been having terrible freezing problems. Specifically I hear a screeching noise (from the TV, not the 360) and then the screen distorts (becomes pixelated) itself and it's frozen. I have never had any problems with MW2, and the disc is immaculate. In fact I played this morning without any issues and before I went to bed. Have any of you had this same problem? Is there a fix? Please any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. THANKS!
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!

Last edited by icypinksmurf; 01-23-2010 at 08:52 AM.
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 02:31 AM   #2
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Alright, scratch that. It's something with my box, it did the exact same thing at the dashboard. Anybody?

Oh, and this should probably be moved to General Xbox 360? I'm not entirely sure on that one... Can any mod please move this to the correct forum so I can get some help please?
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!

Last edited by icypinksmurf; 01-23-2010 at 02:46 AM.
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 09:12 AM   #3
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Alright, now that this thread has been moved does anyone have any miracle-solutions for me to try? I've tried playing without the harddrive, other games, and even got some compressed air to blow into the vents.
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 09:30 AM   #4
specVjavi
 
specVjavi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 1,313

JAVii AiR's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   SOTF Runner Up   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
when my xbox had freezing issues, it soon after got the RROD. =(
specVjavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 01:14 PM   #5
Gen. H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: London
Posts: 208

II General H II's Gamercard
Hopefully it won't be RROD but some say it's a sign that it's approaching.

It happens to me too but only with MW2 when i play online. It works fine then out of nowhere it freezes, forcing me to restart from the dashboard. Doesn't happen to any other games for me.

So, perhaps it could be a problem with the game? My disc is clean too but it's the only one i have a problem with; but if the freezing persists on all your games, then there's probably a problem with the box.
__________________
100% Retail (Including DLC): 62

Most Recent - FIFA 14


Working On - Nothing!


Gen. H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 01:20 PM   #6
Schumi_Fan
 
Schumi_Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England
Posts: 37
Yep, a couple of days ago this happened to me..

Now it seems my xbox is dead
Schumi_Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 10:34 PM   #7
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by specVjavi View Post
when my xbox had freezing issues, it soon after got the RROD. =(
Yeah I'm afraid this might be the case too. It keeps freezing but one time I tried after restarting it had RROD and then I restarted it again and it froze before I could even get to the dashboard. Like it literally froze before the 360 logo stopped spinning.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen. H View Post
Hopefully it won't be RROD but some say it's a sign that it's approaching.

It happens to me too but only with MW2 when i play online. It works fine then out of nowhere it freezes, forcing me to restart from the dashboard. Doesn't happen to any other games for me.

So, perhaps it could be a problem with the game? My disc is clean too but it's the only one i have a problem with; but if the freezing persists on all your games, then there's probably a problem with the box.
I have frozen on MW2, the dashboard, and a few other games but I will say that the freezing is way more predominant in MW2 than any other game. I played L4D2 last night with zero problems, got through a whole match of versus and got off and ate dinner. So I have no idea what to do now, I'm not even sure if this is still covered under warranty... Or is RROD always covered by Microsoft?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schumi_Fan View Post
Yep, a couple of days ago this happened to me..

Now it seems my xbox is dead
Bummer, but it looks like I'll be burying another one as well
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 03:39 AM   #8
Spawn Man
 
Spawn Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Zealand.
Posts: 467

The Spawn Man's Gamercard
This is exactly what happened to me - my Xbox all of a sudden went all pixelated and distorted for no apparent reason. At first I thought it was my TV, but it didn't do it on another channel, so then I thought it was my disc, but it did it on another too. So it was my Xbox.

In my case, this was the start of an E-74 error message - luckily Microsoft began fixing this for free just like RROD a few years ago, so I got it fixed for free! The best thing you can do at the moment is play the xbox until it doesn't work any more and hopefully comes up with the error message. Then contact support and get it repaired.

Good luck.
__________________


My Favourite Quotes:

Imagine a pinata that includes not candy, by damnation. That's the Javelin Glitch in a nutshell.

I think Infinity Ward is racist. CoD 4: Modern Warfare had watermelons. Modern Warfare 2 has chickens. They are racist. They. Are. Racist.


DISGRUNTLED???!!! ANGRY ABOUT AN ACHIEVEMENT, A GAME, YOUR MOM, MICROSOFT, NOOBS OR CAMPERS???!!!
WELL JOIN THE ANGRY GAMERS CLUB!!! WHERE ANGRY GAMERS COME TO VENT SINCE 2009!!!
Spawn Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 06:01 AM   #9
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spawn Man View Post
This is exactly what happened to me - my Xbox all of a sudden went all pixelated and distorted for no apparent reason. At first I thought it was my TV, but it didn't do it on another channel, so then I thought it was my disc, but it did it on another too. So it was my Xbox.

In my case, this was the start of an E-74 error message - luckily Microsoft began fixing this for free just like RROD a few years ago, so I got it fixed for free! The best thing you can do at the moment is play the xbox until it doesn't work any more and hopefully comes up with the error message. Then contact support and get it repaired.

Good luck.
Really? Ughhhh..
Thanks for the advice though!
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 06:28 AM   #10
duster456
 
duster456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 40

duster456's Gamercard
Try uploading the problem game onto your hard-drive and see if it helps. Freezing has been a problem with me twice both times I uploaded the game and it worked fine after. Good Luck
__________________
Check out my video game and technology blog.
duster456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 09:39 PM   #11
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by duster456 View Post
Try uploading the problem game onto your hard-drive and see if it helps. Freezing has been a problem with me twice both times I uploaded the game and it worked fine after. Good Luck
It isn't a specific game that is troubling me, I'm pretty sure it's my box in fact. It even freezes at the dash. :/

Plus all of my games are done from the HDD.
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 10:04 PM   #12
NinjaPhilly
 
NinjaPhilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Wolverhampton, UK
Posts: 418

Awards Showcase Submit - Bronze
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Yeah duder, it's the beginning of the end for the console. If it's within 3 years just raise a ticket and say it's got an E74 error and get it sent off.
__________________

NinjaPhilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 10:17 PM   #13
xBloodkitty
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9

Bloodkitty's Gamercard
Yeah, I've had the same problem. Although it didn't take long to switch to a RROD. It didn't make me too happy I can tell you, luckily I was still within my warranty and they replaced everything.

It was more the wait that was a pain.

Are you using an ELITE system, or an earlier version of the box?
xBloodkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:33 PM   #14
the_wizard_666
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 153

Tervaskanto's Gamercard
I've had freezing issues before. I just turned up the heat. Problem solved

Oh, you mean issues with the X-Box...
__________________

the_wizard_666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:35 PM   #15
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by NinjaPhilly View Post
Yeah duder, it's the beginning of the end for the console. If it's within 3 years just raise a ticket and say it's got an E74 error and get it sent off.


Quote:
Originally Posted by xBloodkitty View Post
Yeah, I've had the same problem. Although it didn't take long to switch to a RROD. It didn't make me too happy I can tell you, luckily I was still within my warranty and they replaced everything.

It was more the wait that was a pain.

Are you using an ELITE system, or an earlier version of the box?
To be honest, I don't know exactly what it is. It's not an Elite, I can tell you that, but I don't know exactly how old this one is. We got a refurbed one from Microsoft after the last one Red Ringed. I'm not exactly sure of when we sent the last one out or when we got this one.
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 11:38 PM   #16
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_wizard_666 View Post
I've had freezing issues before. I just turned up the heat. Problem solved

Oh, you mean issues with the X-Box...
Oh.. HAHA HA.. haha haaaaaaaa.
You are hilarious.
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 12:02 AM   #17
bapae
 
bapae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Greenville, PA
Posts: 2,144

Shaftamus Prime's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Promptly brace your self for RRoD it will come fast and without warning.

__________________


Last edited by bapae; 01-25-2010 at 12:06 AM.
bapae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 01:27 AM   #18
Filter x360a
 
Filter x360a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB - Canada
Posts: 2,110

Filter x360a's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Road Map - Bronze   x360a Representer   Donator - Level 2   NBA Live 07 - 1000 People Online...Again   GSL 8 Winners   Uno Rush Subscribers Tournament - Third Place   1,000 Posts   Achievement Guide - Bronze   Word of Mouth   Submit - Bronze   Castle Crashers Subscribers Tourn. - Third Place
Total Awards: 11 (more» ...)
Same thing was happening to mine just before I got the Error 74. Very odd noises and the such. Not fun
__________________

Thanks to Gackt for the awesome sig!



Please msg me on XBL first for boosting, I don't accept random friend requests
Filter x360a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 04:34 AM   #19
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by bapae View Post
Promptly brace your self for RRoD it will come fast and without warning.

That is pretty funny. Ah well, it's not actually MY 360, it's my dad's side of the family's one (but I'm the only one who actually plays the damn thing, so they won't really care).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Filter x360a View Post
Same thing was happening to mine just before I got the Error 74. Very odd noises and the such. Not fun
Yeah, so can I send it back and they'll fix it for free or do I actually have to wait for the E 74 error message to appear?
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 04:50 AM   #20
mickspawn
 
mickspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Uranus
Posts: 909

Feared aussie's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Submit - Gold   Donator - Level 1   NBA Live 07 - 1000 People Online...Again
Total Awards: 4 (more» ...)
i had this happen to me twice before RROD, the machine was fine when turned on till it started getting quite hot, then the pixellation and picture problems started. One was weird because if i plugged it in via AV instead of component it was black and white! but then the picture starting getting worse and then one day it died.. sorry!
mickspawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:11 AM   #21
Spawn Man
 
Spawn Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New Zealand.
Posts: 467

The Spawn Man's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by icypinksmurf View Post
Yeah, so can I send it back and they'll fix it for free or do I actually have to wait for the E 74 error message to appear?
You have to wait for the error to appear. I called support while it was just doing the pixelating, and they said I had to send it in for around $200. But then I played it some more and it came up with the error and I was like "Yesss!!" because I knew they were fixing the E-74 for free! So ruining my xbox even more actually saved me money! So yes, you'll need to play the xbox hard before it comes up with the error. Unless it doesn't come up, in which case you're ****ed.
__________________


My Favourite Quotes:

Imagine a pinata that includes not candy, by damnation. That's the Javelin Glitch in a nutshell.

I think Infinity Ward is racist. CoD 4: Modern Warfare had watermelons. Modern Warfare 2 has chickens. They are racist. They. Are. Racist.


DISGRUNTLED???!!! ANGRY ABOUT AN ACHIEVEMENT, A GAME, YOUR MOM, MICROSOFT, NOOBS OR CAMPERS???!!!
WELL JOIN THE ANGRY GAMERS CLUB!!! WHERE ANGRY GAMERS COME TO VENT SINCE 2009!!!
Spawn Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 09:14 AM   #22
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spawn Man View Post
You have to wait for the error to appear. I called support while it was just doing the pixelating, and they said I had to send it in for around $200. But then I played it some more and it came up with the error and I was like "Yesss!!" because I knew they were fixing the E-74 for free! So ruining my xbox even more actually saved me money! So yes, you'll need to play the xbox hard before it comes up with the error. Unless it doesn't come up, in which case you're ****ed.
Ughhh.. That is kind of a hassle, because "playing" on this console is more like turning it on and having it immediately fail (within 3 minutes), reset, rinse and repeat.

You can't even get any real game time out of it. Nothing worthwhile at least.
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 09:48 AM   #23
icypinksmurf
 
icypinksmurf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 606

icypinksmurf's Gamercard
We'll it's been taking longer for the 360 to freeze up, and when it does, I just want to ragequit already. Before it was happening under 10 minutes, now it's taking 10, 20, 30 minutes for the box to freeze. Just wondering what the deal is, I thought it was supposed to be getting worse. Thanks!
__________________
100% Completed Retail - 25
100% Completed Arcade - 15




REST IN PEACE ELIZABETH - RRoD'd on 10/11/08
Please NO Random Friend Requests!
icypinksmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:06 PM.