PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Music and Rhythm > Rock Band 3
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 04:23 PM   #1
The Nerevarine
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 512

The Nerevarine's Gamercard
Pro Drums/ hi-hat question

I have a MIDI kit and am waiting on the MIDI adapter... but that's a month away so I'm dying to know from anyone with a ION kit or something similar:

1. How does the hi-hat pedal work? How does an open hi-hat note appear in the game?

2. On four pad mode the china-crash combo is yellow-green. This would be hi-hat-crash on a three cymbal setup... so is this what they have you play on Pro or do you play blue and green (ride-crash)?

3. Flams - are they still yellow and red or do they just have you hit the red?

4. Open hi-hats - in songs like "Feel Good Inc." and "Du Hast" it's a disaster, are they still mapped to blue notes or are they all yellow? (See question 1)

Thanks for answering my questions!
The Nerevarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 04:41 PM   #2
TwistedFate
 
TwistedFate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Church Road, VA
Posts: 4,147

Bobo daMunkee's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Colors have not changed, just where you hit them. Flams are red/yellow pad, open hi-hat is blue cymbal, any cymbal combos are the same color combo.

I have not seen the open hi-hat w/pedal yet, but playing songs with known open hi-hat and hi-hat pedal enabled I didn't see any difference in the chart, so it may be sensing that I don't really have a pedal hooked up.
__________________


TwistedFate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 05:13 PM   #3
The Nerevarine
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 512

The Nerevarine's Gamercard
No! Say it ain't so!

Are you telling me that when I get this pro adapter and hook it up I'm going to have to actually play the ride as an open hi-hat? On a full kit on some songs that's nearly impossible, and on others it's merely aneurysm inducing.

I have built my own MIDI to signal for RB1/2 from a hacked up drum kit, could never get the hi-hat pedal to register.... then I hacked up a GHWT kit and use that now because it's wireless and I was able to fit it in a much smaller, nicer box, but I can't get the pedal to register with that, either. In fact, I can't play with the pedal pressed, I either have to disconnect it or leave it depressed... perhaps I need a better drum brain or something.

I read on the RB.com forums a while back of people with a Yamaha set getting the open-hat to work for blue but I have a Roland... hopefully there will be some documentation with the adapter and I can get it working or else I'm done waiting for Rock Band to have realistic drums.

Last edited by The Nerevarine; 10-29-2010 at 05:16 PM.
The Nerevarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:23 PM   #4
TwistedFate
 
TwistedFate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Church Road, VA
Posts: 4,147

Bobo daMunkee's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Nerevarine View Post
No! Say it ain't so!
Like I said, the option is there for hi-hat pedal. I can't imagine they would put the option in if it doesn't change anything, but we won't know for sure until we get the MIDI box.
__________________


TwistedFate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:24 PM.