PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 LIVE Arcade Games > RPG > Costume Quest
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2010, 07:02 AM   #1
gmadrueno07
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, California
Posts: 49

T0k1d0k1's Gamercard
Stuck On French Fries

i am stuck on the french right now literaly spent 2 hours trying to figure this out ugh very annoying if there is anyone out there that can help me message me at T0k1d0k1..... i press B on the ppl and nothing plz help
gmadrueno07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 08:21 AM   #2
CrazyDoginOZ
 
CrazyDoginOZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 250

CrazyDoginOZ's Gamercard
Is your costume lighting up when u push the button? i dont think you need to be right on the person just near them, i cant remember but you may need to hold the button in to get them to follow, i did them had no probs are you doing them 1 at a time or trying to get all 3 at once.
CrazyDoginOZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 11:16 AM   #3
pr1me
 
pr1me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 33

Prime WiiG's Gamercard
Yesterday i had the same problem: I used the function of the costume several times at different places, but the three hungry persons didn't move. At the end i erased my save and startet a completely new game - an had no futher problems with that.
pr1me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 11:25 AM   #4
Arenazombie
 
Arenazombie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Osnabrück/Germany
Posts: 523

Arenazombie's Gamercard
U have to hold down the button while moving towards where u want them to go.
Arenazombie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 02:54 PM   #5
Groudon199
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 83

Groudon199's Gamercard
Nobody reported this issue before yesterday, so it's likely a result of the update. I can't test this without going through the game a second time, but I think clearing the system cache (thus deleting the update) would fix the problem.
Groudon199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 07:15 PM   #6
JelDeRebel
 
JelDeRebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: belgium
Posts: 49

JelDeRebel's Gamercard
it's a fairly new issue. about 30 people have this problem since the update

I checked the DoubleFine forums. the developers are currently looking into it.


afaik, people who already had a save file before the 7th and started the french fries luring quest after the update, have this problem

clearing the cache or restarting the system won't work.
__________________


Last edited by JelDeRebel; 12-09-2010 at 07:25 PM.
JelDeRebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 10:59 PM   #7
gmadrueno07
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, California
Posts: 49

T0k1d0k1's Gamercard
ya i tried that n still nothing i tried the birds n well nothing ugh so annoying i dont want to start over
gmadrueno07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 12:15 AM   #8
Squalasura
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 126

SQUALASURA's Gamercard
Glad to see I'm not the only one. I thought I was missing something, like it was more complex than hold down B. Oh well.
Squalasura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 08:36 PM   #9
ufcmike1
 
ufcmike1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 17

ufcmike1's Gamercard
Yes, I'm stuck at this part as well, being as it's glitched due to the latest update. I use the power button near all NPCs, but they do not follow.
ufcmike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 05:46 AM   #10
NelsoMatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 16

NelsoMatic's Gamercard
Ok I just foun d out about this French Fry problem today and its really annoying me that I can't continue... Is there anyway I can bypass it? Can I just start over and be able pass this...

Please some1 hit me up if they figure out anything...
NelsoMatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:43 AM   #11
Mechy Tiki
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 15

Mechy Tiki's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by NelsoMatic View Post
Ok I just foun d out about this French Fry problem today and its really annoying me that I can't continue... Is there anyway I can bypass it? Can I just start over and be able pass this...

Please some1 hit me up if they figure out anything...
The word is that starting a new game should work out for you. This problem was only suppose to occur on games that were started before the update, and reached the Fry part after the update.

Supposedly you can also clear your cache and play offline as long as you don't have the DLC... but when I tried that it didn't work out for me. [Edit] I looked more into this, and apparently this can work as long as your saved game isn't in Fall Valley... which probably excludes everyone experiencing this issue. [/Edit]

I'll probably be waiting for a fix instead of starting a new game... hopefully it won't take too long...

[Edit]Here's the link to Double Fine's post about it. [/Edit]

Last edited by Mechy Tiki; 12-14-2010 at 08:51 AM.
Mechy Tiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 09:34 PM   #12
Andaus24
 
Andaus24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18

Andaus24's Gamercard
I just Experienced this Same Problem as well. I Cleared the Cashe and Tried to Play it Offline, but you still Can't do the French Fry Part.

It Seems Double Fine Isn't going to Make a Patch for it since it's been About a Month now since people have been having this problem. They are just saying "Too Bad, Start a New Game."

I Know it's a Short Game, It sucks to have to replay it anyway, all that work is for Nothing, Sure it was Fun. But Imagine if this Happened in a Halo or Call of Duty Game, There would be so much Outrage they would have a patch out the Next day. Oh Well What Can You Do.
Andaus24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 01:01 PM   #13
JelDeRebel
 
JelDeRebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: belgium
Posts: 49

JelDeRebel's Gamercard
there won't be an update, Tim Shafer posted this on the Double Fine Forums

http://www.doublefine.com/forums/viewthread/4107/

Quote:
Hi Costume Quest Fans,

There is a known issue with the December 2010 update to Costume Quest. People have reported that the French Fry costume in Fall Valley no longer performs its exploration ability, and therefore a game-critical quest cannot be completed.

-If you haven’t yet started playing Costume Quest this bug will not affect you. The costume will work properly.
-If you have played Costume Quest but have completed the quest using the Fry costume in Fall Valley, this bug will not affect you. The costume performs normally in combat and the “Lure” ability is not needed after that quest.
-If you have an in-progress save game and have not yet completed the quest using the Fry costume, you will experience this bug and will not be able to finish the game.
-This bug does not affect the Fry costume in Grubbins on Ice.

Unfortunately, the only work around for this bug is to restart your Costume Quest game. Does this make you super angry? I hear you. I am angry about it too. Unfortunately, it is the best option. There is currently no patch planned to address this bug because we do not have the testing resources to ensure that any patch would not introduce even more bugs. And if we introduced more bugs then we’d have to start more forum threads about it, and make more patches, and soon we’d all be caught up in an infinite loop of sadness and no candy.

We are very, very sorry about this bug. I hope that with an hour or two of playing you will be back where you left off and we can all be friends again.

Sincerely,
Tim
__________________

JelDeRebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 07:16 AM   #14
Sonic0967
 
Sonic0967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Idaho
Posts: 103

TBreit's Gamercard
Here is what worked for me -

1. Delete Grubbins on Ice DLC from system memory - you can redownload this later

2. Delete Cache on hard drive by going to memory and pressing (Y) on the device where your saves are located - Note! you will have to re download all of the updates for any games that you own, DLC stays but it can cause problems with games like Crackdown that will report your savegame as being corrupted if it is not the most recent update. This can be fixed by updating and 'broken' games

3. Play costume quest and DECLINE the update, you will be D/C from XBL but you should be able to proceed as normal.

Worked great for me was able to pass this part easily after following these steps! Hope that it can do the same for you!

EDIT: Apparently this will only work if you have not yet hit another checkpoint from when you installed the update. I guess if you had hit a checkpoint it in a sense corrupts your save file to match the bug permanently
__________________
Before you insult someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way you are a mile away and you have their shoes.



Last edited by Sonic0967; 02-10-2011 at 07:14 AM. Reason: Update
Sonic0967 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 07:24 AM   #15
I am the batdan
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 38
This is a bunch of crap. Game breaking bug that means I have to start over? Not fixing this is a bad move for a small game co. I won't buy DF stuff again.
I am the batdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:45 PM   #16
The Taymanator
 
The Taymanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Colorado
Posts: 118

The Taymanator's Gamercard
Well, for those who have had a problem with this AFTER the bug was fixed (like me), it too, me forever to figure out that you didn't TOGGLE the action button....you need to HOLD IT DOWN to lead people where they need to go. Lots of frustration for such an easy fix.
The Taymanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:20 AM.