PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 LIVE Arcade Games > Shooter > Duke Nukem 3D
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2011, 02:35 AM   #1
Delow317
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley, Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 914

Delow317 XBL's Gamercard
Thumbs down Absolutely aweful controlls..

Don't get me wrong, I played this on pc back in the day and loved it but man the controls in this game are absolutely aweful! There is no option to adjust sensitivity and auto aim doesn't help at all. Seriously when I get around to the MP cheeves, I'm definitely boosting.

To this day the only two games that have aiming controls that are near perfect for analog sticks on consoles are the Cod Series and the Halo series.

Anyone else feel the same way?
Delow317 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 04:13 AM   #2
McGoogles
 
McGoogles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 5,228

Ratify's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Staff Club - * Clueless *   Staff Club - Grifter Reborn   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   5,000 Posts   Over Achiever - Silver   Staff Club - DEG23   XBA Promoter   Submit - Silver
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Maybe you're just too attached or familiar with the PC controls that you have a hard time playing the Xbox 360 version of it.

For a person who hasn't played Duke Nukem 3D on any other console, I thought the controls were fine. Accurate and responsive.
__________________
141/142 games completed (including DLC)
Completion percentage: 99.49%
Latest retail completion: Destiny
Latest arcade completion: Motocross Madness




McGoogles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 06:14 PM   #3
JAW LV
 
JAW LV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: In the GYM!!!!!
Posts: 1,648

JAW LV's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Over Achiever - Bronze   1,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
The only thing I had difficulty with in the beginning is the delay between when you push the fire button and your weapon actually fires. Other then that I haven't had issues with the controlls thus far and I'm getting close to the end now.
__________________
Retired completion whore as of 10/1/12. My retired completion stats per TA: JAW LV has won 3,957 Achievements out of a possible 4,167 (94.96% Completion - 210 remaining)

PROUD MEMBER OF
NUTRITION/EXERCISE QUESTIONS? ASK ME!
TRYING TO MAKE THE GAMING COMMUNITY A HEALTHIER COMMUNITY... EVEN IT TAKES ONE GAMER AT A TIME!
JAW LV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 12:45 AM   #4
Delow317
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley, Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 914

Delow317 XBL's Gamercard
Well guys, I repect your opinions but I think you guys are crazy. I don't suck this bad at fps games, and the controls (namely the aiming), is nowhere near perfect in the same sense that Halo and Cod. Anyways, no way am I playing this legit. Thank god for boosting for those last 3 mp cheeves!
Delow317 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:22 AM   #5
Danny Dibo
 
Danny Dibo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 327
Send a message via AIM to Danny Dibo Send a message via Yahoo to Danny Dibo

Danny Dibo's Gamercard
While you are correct that the controls are awful for this game, you really don't have to worry about accuracy in any way...I used the shotgun for the entire game minus boss fights, and even if you don't put the cursor on enemies you will still blow them away. It becomes real easy after that.
__________________

Danny Dibo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 03:26 AM   #6
Delow317
Banned User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Fernando Valley, Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 914

Delow317 XBL's Gamercard
I'll give that a shot, and thanks for the reply.
Delow317 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 05:39 AM   #7
Destro
 
Destro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Québec
Posts: 2,947

Destro WOD's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
back in the day i loved duke on n64, as goldeneye and others, but today i could not even play them anymore with 1 joystick, thanks the video game god for 2 joysticks control, this is awesome on every fps i played exept the few "errors of nature" like turning point...

as for computer, you see, personally i could never play with a keyboard and a mouse for an FPS, i just dont even understand how people do... i would had to see people play to know, cause personally i can finish quake 3 on consol at harder difficulties but on PC i can barely beat sarge at the minimal difficulty...

mouse is correct for point and click(diablo for exemple) but for FPS its horrible.
__________________


Gears of War Legend
Destro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 02:18 AM   #8
ToCliche
 
ToCliche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Virginia USA
Posts: 54

to cliche's Gamercard
Like any arcade game the controllers controls will take time to master.
ToCliche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 05:32 AM   #9
Voytek
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 100

xTMx Voytek's Gamercard
It was originally for the N64 so of course the controls are going to be weird. I like how they kept it true to the original and didn't screw with the old formula.
Voytek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 01:13 AM   #10
theirishmagnum
 
theirishmagnum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 72

xx Decipher's Gamercard
Control's are decent in this game.

Last edited by theirishmagnum; 01-06-2014 at 09:13 AM.
theirishmagnum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 AM.