PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Shooter > Gears of War 3
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2011, 08:07 AM   #1
the emcee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 166

the emcee's Gamercard
Willi miss anything if I play campaign in arcade mode only?

I'm wondering if it's worth playing the standard mode at all? Is there anything i miss if I just head straight to arcade mode and complete the story that way? Thanks
the emcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:40 AM   #2
ChArG1nMaLAZ0R
 
ChArG1nMaLAZ0R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,153

ChArG1nMaLAZ0R's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
haven't tried it yet but i assume you miss the cutscenes
__________________
Retail Games Boosting
Mortal Kombat
Army of Two tfd
AVP

Arcade Games Boosting
splosion man
metal slug 3 & dx
ChArG1nMaLAZ0R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:53 AM   #3
imabhi
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15

abp slayer's Gamercard
Not that I know of.. the only difference I noted till now is in arcade mode, with the completion of every chapter, ur weapons are reset.
And also I believe I got all the cut scenes in arcade mode.
imabhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:57 AM   #4
the emcee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 166

the emcee's Gamercard
Seems like arcade is the way to go you probably get more exp too. Wonder what the point of standard mode is then?
the emcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 09:19 AM   #5
neeker75
 
neeker75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,075

neeker75's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
... because you can't do the casual-insane trick in Arcade.
neeker75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 09:22 AM   #6
mhkerr
 
mhkerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Belfast Northern Ireland
Posts: 106

mickerr's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Bronze
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Played arcade last night before touching normal campaign, so dont know if theres a difference but def has cutscenes, scoring adds a bit nore fun to playing with friends aswell
mhkerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 09:25 AM   #7
the emcee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 166

the emcee's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by neeker75 View Post
... because you can't do the casual-insane trick in Arcade.
That's hardly an issue really, since gow campaigns arent that hard on insane when you play co op. Thanks for advice guys, definitely going to hit arcade and bypass standard mode!

Cheers and happy gaming
the emcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 12:48 PM   #8
This be DMK
 
This be DMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to This be DMK

This be DMK's Gamercard
I played through the first 2 acts in standard and then restarted on Arcade on my other friends playthrough. hadn't noticed anything different storywise and no cutscenes have seemed to be cut out from it. Seems you do get a bit more XP and ribbons from playing it though and helps while playing on harder difficulty's due to it telling you that a enemy has been killed, just knocked down, and etc.
__________________
This be DMK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 01:05 PM   #9
shakesth3clown1
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 21

shakesth3clown1's Gamercard
The only real differenceis arcade is way more fun.
shakesth3clown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 01:15 PM   #10
the emcee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 166

the emcee's Gamercard
Cool! I haven't quite reached act 2 on standard so not much for me to redo, might even start arcade on the last chapter of act 1 so I don't have to restart at all. Thanks agAin
the emcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 03:23 PM   #11
CrownlessKing
 
CrownlessKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Cape Breton Island, Canada
Posts: 339
Send a message via MSN to CrownlessKing

FJMatlock's Gamercard
Oh, you can't set different difficulties in Arcade Mode? I was wondering why my buddy and I couldn't do that. Oh well, we're powering through on Hardcore anyway.

I don't think you miss anything. We still get all the story, all the cutscenes. But as someone else said, your weapons reset every chapter. Which is annoying when they're like "OH HEY HERE'S AMMO" and then immediately after the chapter finishes and it all resets.

But seeing those numbers flying? Glorious.
__________________
"Don't die on me too quickly. I want to gorge myself on this sense of fufillment until I vomit." - Dr. Peace, No More Heroes



CrownlessKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 04:53 PM   #12
upindat
 
upindat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 2,479

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Good info guys. about to tackle the arcade mode when i am done beating the game. Looking forward to playing with some buddies.
__________________
f
Sig by Alabastermatt
upindat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 04:55 PM   #13
fijigus
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5

AtLeastEight's Gamercard
Played both through act 1, both seemed about the same other than scoring and weapon reset.
fijigus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 05:17 PM   #14
Anthonymrb
Banned User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 372

Anthonymrb's Gamercard
I heard something about the checkpoints not working. You have to complete an entire Act for it to save. Is this true?
Anthonymrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 05:22 PM   #15
the emcee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 166

the emcee's Gamercard
Yes that is true you have to finish the act, so it will save after 1-1,1-2 etc
the emcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 06:13 PM   #16
13ip0lar
 
13ip0lar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,519

Zweipolig's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by neeker75 View Post
... because you can't do the casual-insane trick in Arcade.
What do you mean by this? Is there some way to get insane unlocked right away, or are you implying you can play the campaign on casual after insane is unlocked, and switch at the mission or act to insane? I'm playing Standard on Hardcore atm, because I'm assuming you need to beat it on HC to unlock Insane?
__________________


I hate people... But don't worry, if you are reading this it likely means I don't hate you. Why? People can't read.


13ip0lar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 09:00 PM   #17
xXImSoBalzyXx
 
xXImSoBalzyXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 132

xximsobalzyxx's Gamercard
Not that I have seen, I'm definately loving the campaign though
__________________

http://www.youtube.com/user/xXImSoBalzyXx
I do let's plays and stuff. Don't hate. Any tips would be great!
xXImSoBalzyXx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 09:16 PM   #18
Anthonymrb
Banned User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 372

Anthonymrb's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13ip0lar View Post
What do you mean by this? Is there some way to get insane unlocked right away, or are you implying you can play the campaign on casual after insane is unlocked, and switch at the mission or act to insane? I'm playing Standard on Hardcore atm, because I'm assuming you need to beat it on HC to unlock Insane?
Pretty sure beating it on Casual unlocks it as well. The trick their talking about is when one person has their difficulty on Insane, and the other on Casual. Let the Casual player go up and kill everything for you.
Anthonymrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2011, 02:27 AM   #19
skiscaraudio
 
skiscaraudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: west hazleton, pa
Posts: 540

BADGUYSKI's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by the emcee View Post
Yes that is true you have to finish the act, so it will save after 1-1,1-2 etc
whoa, didn't realize this...is this true you must complete the entire act
or you must complete it first on plain campaign
me n my wife just started arcade and did the last 2 chapters of act 1
instead of finishing in plain campaign.
damn i'm at work so i can't check if i got credit for them
__________________




I was up late last night partying until 6 in the morning, naked and with complete strangers. That was one hell of an Xbox live party.

OIIIIIIIO
skiscaraudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:28 AM.