PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Main Hub > Discussion Boards > Xbox 360
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2011, 07:42 AM   #1
bmstinton93
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 228

bmstinton93's Gamercard
Use laptop monitor to play XBOX 360 through

Is it possible to use your laptop to play your Xbox through as a replacement for a TV?
bmstinton93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 07:47 AM   #2
Veedrock
 
Veedrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alaska, USA
Posts: 3,543

Veedrock's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Micro Guide - Bronze   Genre Competition - First Place   2,500 Posts   Donator - Level 1   XBA Promoter
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
No, laptops aren't able to accept video inputs. They just aren't built to do it.
__________________
#postcount

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creech View Post
As a site, we don't support calling it "xbone" as that was a name that was used to refer to the system in a negative light. Since the site exists to support the system, being deliberately negative towards it seems counter productive.

tl;dr - Call it the Xbox One or X1.

Last edited by Veedrock; 10-06-2011 at 08:11 AM.
Veedrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 12:53 PM   #3
Elit3 m0nkey
 
Elit3 m0nkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,386

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
It's disappointing but at the same time it's not hard to see why.
__________________
Xbox LIVE: Elite M0nk3y
PSN: MrEliteMonkey
Steam: Elit3m0nkey
Feel free to add me, but make sure there is a message or else I will delete it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziva David
Well, you know what they say. You cannot make an omlette without breaking a few legs
Elit3 m0nkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 01:37 PM   #4
zippy100012
 
zippy100012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: England
Posts: 226

zippy100012's Gamercard
nope. just use your pc monitor?
__________________

10K GS - 7th November 2010

Thanks goes to xIIGriimZz for the sig ^^



zippy100012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 01:51 PM   #5
ofay
 
ofay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,225

Nopunchespulled's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Unless your laptop has video in then no, it probably doesn't. If you have an extra computer monitor you can get adapters if it doesn't accept hdmi are the other video cable
ofay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 02:20 PM   #6
Tatanko
Ductus Exemplo
 
Tatanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,642

Tatanko's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 4   Subscriber - Bronze   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   5,000 Posts   A+ Thread Award   XBA Promoter   Over Achiever - Bronze   Word of Mouth
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
My suggestion? Buy yourself a really cheap, small HDTV. You can get 24" 1080p TVs now for like $200 even when they're not on sale. I plan to get one myself just to take with me in the car to my friend's houses because my 37" is just too big to transport frequently.
Tatanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 02:39 PM   #7
bmstinton93
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 228

bmstinton93's Gamercard
Ok thanks. I can't use a computer monitor as I'm at uni with just my laptop. I guess I'll have to either buy a cheap tv or keep trying to go without my xbox but I'm starting to miss it.
bmstinton93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:20 PM   #8
ofay
 
ofay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,225

Nopunchespulled's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tatanko View Post
My suggestion? Buy yourself a really cheap, small HDTV. You can get 24" 1080p TVs now for like $200 even when they're not on sale. I plan to get one myself just to take with me in the car to my friend's houses because my 37" is just too big to transport frequently.
This is a great option as computer monitors usually don't have speakers
ofay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 04:25 PM   #9
Tatanko
Ductus Exemplo
 
Tatanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,642

Tatanko's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 4   Subscriber - Bronze   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   5,000 Posts   A+ Thread Award   XBA Promoter   Over Achiever - Bronze   Word of Mouth
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ofay View Post
This is a great option as computer monitors usually don't have speakers
Exactly! Small TVs are the new computer monitor, in my opinion (since you can use them as one quite easily). They've practically become synonymous, but the TV option is usually the better route in my experience.
Tatanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:37 PM   #10
Banes
 
Banes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 443

Banes88's Gamercard
If you have a savage ass laptop like myself, then yes. My Alienware has an HDMI-In port, so I often play 360 through my laptop. Is it sexy? As hell.
__________________
Hit 80,000 Gamerscore on 11/21/11
Hit 90,000 Gamerscore on 05/08/12
Hit 100,000 Gamerscore on 09/14/12
Banes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:43 PM   #11
Tatanko
Ductus Exemplo
 
Tatanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,642

Tatanko's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 4   Subscriber - Bronze   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   5,000 Posts   A+ Thread Award   XBA Promoter   Over Achiever - Bronze   Word of Mouth
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banes View Post
If you have a savage ass laptop like myself, then yes. My Alienware has an HDMI-In port, so I often play 360 through my laptop. Is it sexy? As hell.
I could really tear into you for even owning an Alienware laptop in the first place, let alone calling it savage, but I'll try and be nice for once
Tatanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:47 PM   #12
Banes
 
Banes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 443

Banes88's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tatanko View Post
I could really tear into you for even owning an Alienware laptop in the first place, let alone calling it savage, but I'll try and be nice for once
Hey bro, lash away. You just said to buy a small HDTV to use as a monitor. It's not my fault you don't have an HDMI-In port that came with your PC.
__________________
Hit 80,000 Gamerscore on 11/21/11
Hit 90,000 Gamerscore on 05/08/12
Hit 100,000 Gamerscore on 09/14/12
Banes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:50 PM   #13
Tatanko
Ductus Exemplo
 
Tatanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,642

Tatanko's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 4   Subscriber - Bronze   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   5,000 Posts   A+ Thread Award   XBA Promoter   Over Achiever - Bronze   Word of Mouth
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banes View Post
Hey bro, lash away. You just said to buy a small HDTV to use as a monitor. It's not my fault you don't have an HDMI-In port that came with your PC.
I was really just joking, take it easy For the record, I have a Macbook Pro from 2007. To some people, we both own overpriced pieces of junk
Tatanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:50 PM   #14
ofay
 
ofay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,225

Nopunchespulled's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banes View Post
Hey bro, lash away. You just said to buy a small HDTV to use as a monitor. It's not my fault you don't have an HDMI-In port that came with your PC.
Some of us prefer to not over pay for laptops

But you do what you gotta do Scarlett Brohanson
ofay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:53 PM   #15
Banes
 
Banes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 443

Banes88's Gamercard
I'm well aware I paid mostly for brand lol. It doesn't matter to me. I have a color customizing options for key layout, 3d gaming, HDMI-IN. I'm more than happy for what I paid for this machine lol.
__________________
Hit 80,000 Gamerscore on 11/21/11
Hit 90,000 Gamerscore on 05/08/12
Hit 100,000 Gamerscore on 09/14/12
Banes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 06:58 PM   #16
Anthonymrb
Banned User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 372

Anthonymrb's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tatanko View Post
I was really just joking, take it easy For the record, I have a Macbook Pro from 2007. To some people, we both own overpriced pieces of junk
I own a Macbook Pro from 2011, and in one month, a Macbook Air. Thankfully my job pays me enough! Lol
Anthonymrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:29 PM   #17
13ip0lar
 
13ip0lar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,519

Zweipolig's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmstinton93 View Post
Ok thanks. I can't use a computer monitor as I'm at uni with just my laptop. I guess I'll have to either buy a cheap tv or keep trying to go without my xbox but I'm starting to miss it.
I find this hard to believe unless you are using an old school monitor...like, non-flatscreen. I've found connectors for every plug via the Xbox's HDMI port. I even had one that was DVI.
__________________


I hate people... But don't worry, if you are reading this it likely means I don't hate you. Why? People can't read.


13ip0lar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 09:37 PM   #18
ofay
 
ofay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,225

Nopunchespulled's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 13ip0lar View Post
I find this hard to believe unless you are using an old school monitor...like, non-flatscreen. I've found connectors for every plug via the Xbox's HDMI port. I even had one that was DVI.
My dvi to hdmi has saved me many of times
ofay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:47 PM   #19
bmstinton93
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 228

bmstinton93's Gamercard
What dvi to hdmi?
bmstinton93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 11:50 PM   #20
Veedrock
 
Veedrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alaska, USA
Posts: 3,543

Veedrock's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Micro Guide - Bronze   Genre Competition - First Place   2,500 Posts   Donator - Level 1   XBA Promoter
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)


HDMI on one end, DVI on the other. Good for connecting things like an Xbox to a monitor that lacks HDMI input, or connecting a computer to a TV that doesn't have a DVI input.
__________________
#postcount

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creech View Post
As a site, we don't support calling it "xbone" as that was a name that was used to refer to the system in a negative light. Since the site exists to support the system, being deliberately negative towards it seems counter productive.

tl;dr - Call it the Xbox One or X1.

Last edited by Veedrock; 10-06-2011 at 11:57 PM.
Veedrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 01:51 AM   #21
NiteJokester
 
NiteJokester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 120

NiteJokester's Gamercard
Yes you can actually use your laptop as way to play your 360 you just need a usb video capture device such as things like this. http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...ture%20Devices Hope this helps...
__________________


NiteJokester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:25 AM   #22
PhQTwo
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8

KILLAchievement's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiteJokester View Post
Yes you can actually use your laptop as way to play your 360 you just need a usb video capture device such as things like this. http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...ture%20Devices Hope this helps...
Agreed, that is what I do for my laptop. I use the Hauppauge USB-LIVE2 ($46), which unfortunately is SD. If you want HD then the price goes up significantly and that is the Hauppauge 1212 HD-PVR ($189). I tried putting links to Amazon in the post, but for some reason they didn't work.

Last edited by PhQTwo; 10-07-2011 at 02:33 AM.
PhQTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 07:34 AM   #23
bmstinton93
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 228

bmstinton93's Gamercard
Thanks everyone. It looks like the hdmi to dvi cable might solve my problem then.
bmstinton93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 11:58 AM   #24
Tatanko
Ductus Exemplo
 
Tatanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,642

Tatanko's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 4   Subscriber - Bronze   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   5,000 Posts   A+ Thread Award   XBA Promoter   Over Achiever - Bronze   Word of Mouth
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmstinton93 View Post
Thanks everyone. It looks like the hdmi to dvi cable might solve my problem then.
Just so we're clear, a DVI port on your laptop doesn't mean it has a DVI input. A DVI port is usually a video out, so you can hook up a monitor or TV to use instead of your laptop screen.
Tatanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 12:36 PM   #25
Wait Who is Seb
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 8

known as seb's Gamercard
Doesn't Alienware do a laptop that can run video and audio for an Xbox 360? My cousin was telling me something about it recently.
Wait Who is Seb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 01:29 PM   #26
bmstinton93
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 228

bmstinton93's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tatanko View Post
Just so we're clear, a DVI port on your laptop doesn't mean it has a DVI input. A DVI port is usually a video out, so you can hook up a monitor or TV to use instead of your laptop screen.
Well my laptop actually has a vga socket instead and i found a vga to hdmi cable here: http://www.bestofferbuy.com/VGA-to-H...paign=gbase_uk

And its also available many other places. how do in know whether my laptop can accept inputs or not?
bmstinton93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 02:28 PM   #27
Tatanko
Ductus Exemplo
 
Tatanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,642

Tatanko's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 4   Subscriber - Bronze   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   5,000 Posts   A+ Thread Award   XBA Promoter   Over Achiever - Bronze   Word of Mouth
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wait Who is Seb View Post
Doesn't Alienware do a laptop that can run video and audio for an Xbox 360? My cousin was telling me something about it recently.
A few posts up...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banes View Post
My Alienware has an HDMI-In port, so I often play 360 through my laptop.
...
...
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmstinton93 View Post
how do in know whether my laptop can accept inputs or not?
More or less, you would know if it had video inputs. Can I ask what brand & model it is? We can probably figure it out for you just by looking.
Tatanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 03:31 PM   #28
bmstinton93
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 228

bmstinton93's Gamercard
Yes. It is a Compaq Preasrio CQ56 - http://www.google.co.uk/products/cat...ed=0CGUQ8wIwAA


Thanks in advance for all the help. As I haven't really had a lot of time of late to actually properly play on my xbox I've kind of been neglecting the forum on this site and I forgot how helpful everyone on here was.
bmstinton93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 05:20 PM   #29
Tatanko
Ductus Exemplo
 
Tatanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 4,642

Tatanko's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 4   Subscriber - Bronze   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   5,000 Posts   A+ Thread Award   XBA Promoter   Over Achiever - Bronze   Word of Mouth
Total Awards: 8 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmstinton93 View Post
Yes. It is a Compaq Preasrio CQ56 - http://www.google.co.uk/products/cat...ed=0CGUQ8wIwAA
Ok, if you expand the details on that page and look under Expansion/Connectivity:

Quote:
3 x Hi-Speed USB - 4 PIN USB Type A 1 x headphones - output - mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm 1 x microphone - input - mini-phone 3.5mm 1 x display / video - VGA - 15 pin HD D-Sub (HD-15) 1 x network - Ethernet 10Base-T/100Base-TX - RJ-45
It's kind of hard for a non-techy person to read that jumbled mess (or anyone for that matter), but you don't have any video inputs. If you did, it would specifically say "- input" after whatever it was. See where it says "- input" after the microphone but "- output" after headphones? Shame it doesn't say "- output" after where it says VGA, to avoid confusion, but I guess you're just supposed to assume since that's pretty much standard for a laptop.
Tatanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 06:42 PM   #30
bmstinton93
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 228

bmstinton93's Gamercard
Ah ok then no worries. I'll look out for a cheap tv. Or just get one for christmas then I suppose. I miss my xbox
bmstinton93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:03 AM.