PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Action > Grand Theft Auto V
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2013, 09:31 AM   #1
iBuzz7S
 
iBuzz7S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Down Under (Sydney, Australia)
Posts: 8,079

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Submit - Bronze   Donator - Level 2
Total Awards: 3 (more» ...)
Rockstar Don't Recommend Play Disc Installation

Umm, okay?



Either a misunderstanding, or Rockstar goofed like Bungie did with Halo 3.

Source: https://twitter.com/RockstarSupport/...34166086557696

Edit.
Optimal performance.

Quote:
For optimal performance, we recommend not installing that disc. We will have more info on our Support Site at launch.
Balls.
__________________

Last edited by iBuzz7S; 09-16-2013 at 09:37 AM.
iBuzz7S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:41 AM   #2
JORDAN K 95
 
JORDAN K 95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chester, England, U.K
Posts: 3,992
Send a message via Skype™ to JORDAN K 95

JORDAN K 95's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
ohhh. so disc 2 is an install disk. but they recommend not to install disc 1..

it seems theyre not giving us an answer until launch. but i usually install games i play a lot, i dont see why it would be worse if you installed it
__________________

Thanks for the sig Gackt



BF4 RANK:
JORDAN K 95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:41 AM   #3
Ethiebeefy
 
Ethiebeefy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tasmania, Australia
Posts: 539

Ethiebeefy's Gamercard
Was actually planning to install the play disc, but if Rockstar recommends not too, I guess I better no do it then.

Guess that will save some time.
__________________
Ethiebeefy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 09:44 AM   #4
xxJUSTINxx
 
xxJUSTINxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 2,180

OddFull Metal's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
When you install the 'Play Disk' it causes problems with ingame loading so you get a tone more pop ins, people found a work around with using a flashdrive instead of having it on the internal HDD.
__________________
xxJUSTINxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:01 AM   #5
shaunsuk03
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: scotland
Posts: 139

zvzsulleyzvz's Gamercard
im going to still install it to my hdd. i cant stand the noise my xbox makes when reading from the disk
shaunsuk03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:04 AM   #6
JORDAN K 95
 
JORDAN K 95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chester, England, U.K
Posts: 3,992
Send a message via Skype™ to JORDAN K 95

JORDAN K 95's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shaunsuk03 View Post
im going to still install it to my hdd. i cant stand the noise my xbox makes when reading from the disk
same. my 360 does the same. but if its not reccomended i may not do it
__________________

Thanks for the sig Gackt



BF4 RANK:
JORDAN K 95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:20 AM   #7
wo ai ni xx
 
wo ai ni xx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Scotland!! :D
Posts: 448

wo ai ni xx's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBuzz7S View Post
Either a misunderstanding, or Rockstar goofed like Bungie did with Halo 3.
How was that a "goof" by Bungie, Halo 3 was released long before the Install Game option, why should it have been specialised for something that wasn't even possible at first?

Rant aside, I don't have any space left in my old 20gb HDD to install anymore games XD fingers crossed I can even make room for gta!
__________________
smile!!

Wo ai ni!! ^.^

<3

wo ai ni xx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:26 AM   #8
Barad
I found some Exotic Socks
 
Barad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bristol, England Occupation: Student
Posts: 21,991
Send a message via Skype™ to Barad

Barad XBA's Gamercard

Awards Showcase The Sports Challenge Club - Tier 1   Community Gaming - Emerald   VGO Bronze Medal   VGO Silver Medal   VGO Gold Medal   VGO Team Award - Bronze   Road Map - Emerald   Achievement Guide - Platinum   Donator - Level 2   Staff vs Subscribers 2014 Winner   CABS Beta Tester   XBA Representer
Total Awards: 23 (more» ...)
If they haven't given a reason, I'm still going to install both discs. -_-
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by ShotyMcFat View Post
I bought destiny thinking it was a game, instead I got a Zoo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggnogga View Post
Bungie made a game where the most memorable thing about it is the constant spawning of enemies in front a small cave where people would stand and shoot endlessly.
Destiny is hands down best game in life.


Barad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:26 AM   #9
Veedrock
 
Veedrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alaska, USA
Posts: 3,543

Veedrock's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Micro Guide - Bronze   Genre Competition - First Place   2,500 Posts   Donator - Level 1   XBA Promoter
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
The Xbox probably multitasks better by only having to pull assets from one part of the HDD alongside the disc, rather than having two access two parts of the HDD at the same time.
__________________
#postcount

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creech View Post
As a site, we don't support calling it "xbone" as that was a name that was used to refer to the system in a negative light. Since the site exists to support the system, being deliberately negative towards it seems counter productive.

tl;dr - Call it the Xbox One or X1.
Veedrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:31 AM   #10
JelmerF
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 167

jelmerf's Gamercard
I installed both discs, I hate the noise the xbox makes otherwise. I have already played over 20 hours so far, not a single problem.

The game runs fantastic, no popups, smooth and responsive controls, and the graphics are just amazing. You'll see some viewpoints where you'll just be standing there enjoying the view, unbelievable what they have done, that this is possible with 2005 technology.

WHAT A GAME SO FAR, UNBELIEVABLE!
__________________
JelmerF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:36 AM   #11
Raven6009
 
Raven6009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 83

Ashamed Pegasus's Gamercard
If they didn't recommend it wouldn't they have told us not to install the disc? Just seems strange that the only notice we received from them about it was only after someone asked about it on their Twitter page.

Screw it, mines getting installed.
__________________
Raven6009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 10:44 AM   #12
JORDAN K 95
 
JORDAN K 95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chester, England, U.K
Posts: 3,992
Send a message via Skype™ to JORDAN K 95

JORDAN K 95's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
for anyone that diddnt click the links the OP put.

__________________

Thanks for the sig Gackt



BF4 RANK:
JORDAN K 95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 11:06 AM   #13
Lucky'Number'7
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 84

El Shawnny's Gamercard
I believe there is two discs
One disc which should be used for the install and the other to play the game
They dont recommend installing the play disc but the other disc with 8gb of data
Lucky'Number'7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 11:39 AM   #14
XoNiNjAlEoNoX
 
XoNiNjAlEoNoX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bat Country
Posts: 2,020

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Veedrock View Post
The Xbox probably multitasks better by only having to pull assets from one part of the HDD alongside the disc, rather than having two access two parts of the HDD at the same time.
That sounds reasonable. I think I'm gonna try out both options but if installing the play disc somehow causes damage to my xbox then I'm gonna go with not installing.
__________________

Just another freak, in the freak kingdom.
XoNiNjAlEoNoX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:02 PM   #15
nayR2012
 
nayR2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 444

nayr2012's Gamercard
Skyrim had a similar problem at launch; if you installed the play disc, the hdd was trying to pull too many resources from one source and caused texture issues.

I'd say Rockstar likely does sufficient playtesting to realize minor bugs like this. They didn't want to announce it day before release to cause any bad press, but they will likely make a statement on their support page tomorrow for people with texture/pop in issues on possible fixes.

Skyrim eventually patched it so that you could install without texture issue, but yeah, 8 year old tech functions a certain way, same as old pcs that require dual/quad ports to handle a lot of resources.

Either don't install play disc or like some suggest, install it to a separate usb hdd/high speed flashdrive you will keep plugged in at all times.
__________________
I took a stroll, and spied a maid,
but Matron's duty stayed my blade.
So busy now, I miss the thrill,
if only I had time to kill.
nayR2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:40 PM   #16
cjdavies
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Wales
Posts: 2,144

cjdavies82's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
With any game I know I will play a lot, I install it, saves the disc spinning, which I thought was safer.
__________________
cjdavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:43 PM   #17
Carpetfluff
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 19
Although I don't know if it's the truth, it's been implied that the disc is mostly just providing video and audio streaming; which obviously saves the hard drive having to do that on top of everything else (I also heard it may be spinning at half speed). The digital only versions are obviously all coming from the one device but probably have their files sorted differently - for Rockstar's sake here's hoping they don't have visual issues the disc based versions don't; that's not PR they need.
Carpetfluff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 01:56 PM   #18
BiggD
51 Days 'Til Halo 2
 
BiggD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14,623

BiggDope's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Community Gaming - Bronze   Achievement Guide - Gold   Road Map - Gold   10,000 posts   Submit - Diamond   Micro Guide - Diamond   A+ Thread Award   CABS Beta Tester   Staff vs Subscribers 2014 Winner   Donator - Level 2   VGO Bronze Medal   VGO Silver Medal
Total Awards: 16 (more» ...)
Eh, I'll install both anyways.
__________________

Thanks to Xerofox for the stunningly suave signature!
BiggD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:17 PM   #19
three15
 
three15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 247
It's already using the HDD for the 8GB mandatory install, loading textures etc I guess, so putting the play disc on the same storage device will cause problems with the slowish transfer rates of 360 HDD's. Should be fine if you install on a separate USB i'd have thought.


*edit*

Seems like no one told the support staff as this is posted in the knowledge base.

Quote:
Last updated 19 days ago
Question: Can I install Grand Theft Auto V to an external hard drive on Xbox 360 or does it have to be an internal Xbox 360 HDD or a USB flash drive?
Answer: For best performance, we recommend installing Grand Theft Auto V to either the internal Xbox 360 HDD or a USB flash drive.

Last edited by three15; 09-16-2013 at 02:21 PM.
three15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:19 PM   #20
xhunterrrr
 
xhunterrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,129

Hunter XBA's Gamercard

Awards Showcase XBA Representer   Road Map - Bronze   Achievement Guide - Bronze   5,000 Posts   x360a Representer
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
I'm installing both discs. If it looks and plays like shit, I'll uninstall the disc they tell me not to install.
__________________
xhunterrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:22 PM   #21
JuSt BLaZe
 
JuSt BLaZe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mystic Falls, Germany
Posts: 6,880

BLAZE VII's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Diamond   5,000 Posts   Over Achiever - Gold   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 4 (more» ...)

This doesn't even make any sense. What an idiot, he could at least explain why if so. I'm installing both discs right now, just in case anyone is wondering:

PLAY disc > 7,8GB (Grand Theft Auto V Disc 2)
INSTALL disc >

gtav - part 1 (downloaded items) - 2,0GB
gtav - part 2 (downloaded items) - 2,0GB
gtav - part 3 (downloaded items) - 1,7GB
gtav - part0 (downloaded items) - 2,0GB

That's what it all says in the storage section, whatever that means!
__________________

Last edited by JuSt BLaZe; 09-16-2013 at 02:48 PM.
JuSt BLaZe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:39 PM   #22
Creasy47
 
Creasy47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,343

Creasy47's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
So confused...
Creasy47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:47 PM   #23
SpinelesS
 
SpinelesS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Surfers Paradise, Australia
Posts: 3,010

Mr SpinelesS's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 2,500 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Just got my copy from the midnight launch here in Australia, Has anyone here who said they were going to install both discs noticed any problems?

I'm currently playing the install disc (so It installs itself) and I think I will install the play disc, unless I hear of any problems...

EDIT: Jelmer, missed your post the first time round. Install it is
__________________
[spoiler=uniquecode]This is how you use spoilers![/spoiler]
Spoiler! (click here to reveal)

SpinelesS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 02:51 PM   #24
JuSt BLaZe
 
JuSt BLaZe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mystic Falls, Germany
Posts: 6,880

BLAZE VII's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Submit - Diamond   5,000 Posts   Over Achiever - Gold   Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 4 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpinelesS View Post
Just got my copy from the midnight launch here in Australia, Has anyone here who said they were going to install both discs noticed any problems?
Man I'm only at the beginning of the game so I can't say much. I'm pretty sure this can't be true and was a joke. I've installed BOTH DISCS!!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by JelmerF View Post
I installed both discs, I hate the noise the xbox makes otherwise. I have already played over 20 hours so far, not a single problem.
THAT'S what I'm talking about, nice!!!
__________________
JuSt BLaZe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:23 PM   #25
Direkin
 
Direkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 香Hong Kong港
Posts: 2,277

Direkin's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Staff Club - Shinobi273   Arcade Crazy - Bronze   Over Achiever - Silver   Adhere to the Creed Franchise Club - Tier 1   Staff Club - Rajeanero   Staff Club - DEG23   Staff Club - DeekBoy   Submit - Bronze   Staff Club - Nozza x360a   XBA Promoter   1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 11 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JelmerF View Post
I installed both discs, I hate the noise the xbox makes otherwise. I have already played over 20 hours so far, not a single problem.

The game runs fantastic, no popups, smooth and responsive controls, and the graphics are just amazing. You'll see some viewpoints where you'll just be standing there enjoying the view, unbelievable what they have done, that this is possible with 2005 technology.
Yeah, I hate the noise too. Definitely will be installing both discs, as I do for all games.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shabba View Post
The mirror is staring right at the post which reads you are............. So hilarious that english makes them their posting.... Well done cheevo for confirming that you....... You must be drunk to not realise that or just another incoherent fool..
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gackt View Post
heh...don't try to reason with the masses my friend, tis a waste of time
Direkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:41 PM   #26
Raven6009
 
Raven6009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 83

Ashamed Pegasus's Gamercard
Not a huge difference.

__________________
Raven6009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:44 PM   #27
xhunterrrr
 
xhunterrrr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,129

Hunter XBA's Gamercard

Awards Showcase XBA Representer   Road Map - Bronze   Achievement Guide - Bronze   5,000 Posts   x360a Representer
Total Awards: 5 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven6009 View Post
Thanks for posting that. Maybe I won't install the second disc after all.
__________________
xhunterrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:45 PM   #28
Barad
I found some Exotic Socks
 
Barad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bristol, England Occupation: Student
Posts: 21,991
Send a message via Skype™ to Barad

Barad XBA's Gamercard

Awards Showcase The Sports Challenge Club - Tier 1   Community Gaming - Emerald   VGO Bronze Medal   VGO Silver Medal   VGO Gold Medal   VGO Team Award - Bronze   Road Map - Emerald   Achievement Guide - Platinum   Donator - Level 2   Staff vs Subscribers 2014 Winner   CABS Beta Tester   XBA Representer
Total Awards: 23 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven6009 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by xhunterrrr View Post
Thanks for posting that. Maybe I won't install the second disc after all.
Same here. Or I might and then uninstall it and see for myself. Didn't realise this was the reason behind it.
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by ShotyMcFat View Post
I bought destiny thinking it was a game, instead I got a Zoo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggnogga View Post
Bungie made a game where the most memorable thing about it is the constant spawning of enemies in front a small cave where people would stand and shoot endlessly.
Destiny is hands down best game in life.


Barad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:57 PM   #29
BiggD
51 Days 'Til Halo 2
 
BiggD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14,623

BiggDope's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Community Gaming - Bronze   Achievement Guide - Gold   Road Map - Gold   10,000 posts   Submit - Diamond   Micro Guide - Diamond   A+ Thread Award   CABS Beta Tester   Staff vs Subscribers 2014 Winner   Donator - Level 2   VGO Bronze Medal   VGO Silver Medal
Total Awards: 16 (more» ...)
Oh wow...good video!

I'm not going to install it then!
__________________

Thanks to Xerofox for the stunningly suave signature!
BiggD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 04:03 PM   #30
Platuni
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 54
So just install the first disk and leave the 2nd as normal I guess
Platuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:41 AM.