PlaystationTrophies Got a news tip? tips@x360a.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   XboxAchievements.com > Xbox 360 Retail Games > Action > LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean
Subscribe    Donate

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2011, 11:32 PM   #1
musicman4523
 
musicman4523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 114

GNOMEassassin23's Gamercard
Game Freezing

Anyone else having issues with the game freezing a lot once you get a bit into it? I got to 43% complete in the first 2 days with no problems, then all of the sudden it has frozen 4 times on me today and I have lost a lot of time redoing things. I was in the 3rd level of the game just now with almost 1.5 million studs and all collectibles for the level and it froze on me for the 4th time today. The 3rd time it froze it bugged my game, I had just bought Treasure x4 and was almost finished with all collectibles in Port Royal when the game froze. When I booted the game back up Treasure x4 was no longer unlocked in my Extras, yet my 1 million studs I spent on it were gone. So I went back to where I bought the red hat and it was no longer there, making it impossible for me to ever buy the hat again even if I collected enough money again (and therefore unable to get the 100% or red hat achievements). So I had to grab an old save backup from my USB drive and lose hours of time. I have a friend who wasn't even finished with Film 2 and had already locked up this morning, so there seem to be some issues with freezing in the game. Anyone else having problems?
musicman4523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 12:53 AM   #2
NANOTRON
 
NANOTRON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16

NANOTRON's Gamercard
I have had several freezing issues. none as bad as yours but after one particular freeze the bridge in the far left that leads to the witches hut no longer works! I already bought the hat and opened the door with the second barrel so it doesn't matter but still...I have heard several people have simalar issues like yours!

EDIT***2nd to last level in the 2nd movie freezes at the end when playing freeplay only. and this happens when I still have 2 minikit bottles left! (THERE GOES 100%, UNLESS I WANT TO START FRESH), I really hope they do a patch...but they probably wont going by ALL the previous LEGO games and there issues never being fixed. =(
__________________
NANOTRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 01:30 AM   #3
musicman4523
 
musicman4523's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 114

GNOMEassassin23's Gamercard
I always back up my saves to a USB drive, so when my game got bugged I grabbed the most recent save from my backup and lost a little bit of time but at least I already had all of the story mode finished. I have 6 achievements to go now, hopefully nothing will get bugged form here on out. I think everything else is just collectibles from here on out.
musicman4523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 01:38 AM   #4
cod4maniac2692
 
cod4maniac2692's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6

ii Skuba's Gamercard
I have heard of this problem, but luckily, has never happened to me knock on wood.
cod4maniac2692 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 05:50 AM   #5
NANOTRON
 
NANOTRON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16

NANOTRON's Gamercard
I just don't understand why Travelers Tales never patches ANY of their games (LEGO games at least!)...many people still cant get 100% in harry potter, including myself! I'm 2 achievements away...find and save all students in peril and 100%...well I saved the student and he is standing in the same spot (not held captive) and that's it...it never gave credit and the game acts as though he is saved and not there! This was a glitch that happened to several people. All the money they make on a family rated game should allow for a team to iron out a patch...its sad really
__________________
NANOTRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 06:17 AM   #6
shinobigarth
 
shinobigarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,391
Send a message via Skype™ to shinobigarth

ShinobiGarth's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
all Lego games have a lot of freezing issues. not sure why, maybe slopping coding.
__________________
shinobigarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 11:19 AM   #7
Slayinfool
 
Slayinfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 108
Well, my game is offically broke thanks to freezing. On Stranger Tides, Chapter 2: Queen Anne's Revenge. My game freezes at the same spot every single time. As soon as I get up to the second level of the ship, it feezes. Done it atleast a dozen times already. Can't finish the game............
Slayinfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 06:47 PM   #8
shinobigarth
 
shinobigarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,391
Send a message via Skype™ to shinobigarth

ShinobiGarth's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
is the game installed or running on disc? could there be a small scratch on the disc possibly?
__________________
shinobigarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2011, 07:01 PM   #9
lostmotiv
 
lostmotiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 709

LostMotiv's Gamercard

Awards Showcase NBA Live 07 - 1000 People Online...Again
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
i had the game freeze on me twice, i installed disc and hasn't frozen since but there has been a couple of really long black loading screen where it looks like it came close. I refuse to go through the whole game again so i've been backing up my save file on usb.
__________________
lostmotiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 12:04 AM   #10
Thai J
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 654

Thai J's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Donator - Level 1
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
I may be in trouble as well. My game freezes at aprox the same time on Movie 1, level 3. It's towards the end of the level but I've tried 4 times now. Stupid question: where do you go to intall the game to the hard drive? Believe it or not I've never done it before but I'd like to try since this would screw me out of the 100%\100G achievement.
__________________
Retail 1000G+: 101 Titles
100,000G on 04/01/2011
Currently Playing: Zoo Tycoon, XCOM: Enemy Within
Next Up: Destiny

GT: Thai J
PSN: Thai1226
Thai J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 02:06 AM   #11
davehx
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 70
I LOVE the lego games in respect of their style, puzzle aspects, collectables etc, but is anyone really still surprised at the freezing??

The LEGO games (and therefore TT) have been glitchy on every single game they have made. TT obviously dont care one tiny bit as they have never patched a single thing. The workaround I had to use on LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy has STILL not been patched...and we are talking about almost 4 years. TT dont care at all about customer satisfaction. I have 9 lego games now (not sure that LEGO Rock Band was a TT game, doubt it was as it seems to work perfectly) and 8 of them (all except LEGO:RB) have forzen or glitched at some point. Harry Potter glitched for me on one of the gold bricks (room with clock where you can use time turner) and wouldnt unlock the brick. I was at 97% and had to start again. Pirates just froze on me now (film 4 - level 2)...i was merely running to the right and it just gave up.

As I said, I love the lego games so i continue to buy them, always hoping that they have finally decided to actually bother to test their games, yet I am always disappointed. When a level works, it is always fun to play but I always come away from the game feeling let down by their complete apathy towards the gamers and the quality of their products.

For shame TT, for shame.
davehx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 05:20 AM   #12
shinobigarth
 
shinobigarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 1,391
Send a message via Skype™ to shinobigarth

ShinobiGarth's Gamercard

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
^ thats one reason why i only ever rent Lego games.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thai J View Post
Stupid question: where do you go to intall the game to the hard drive? Believe it or not I've never done it before but I'd like to try since this would screw me out of the 100%\100G achievement.
on the game window thing on the dashboard simply hit and youll be given the options "play game" or "install".
__________________
shinobigarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 01:01 PM   #13
Slayinfool
 
Slayinfool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 108
Pffft, I have the game installed and it still freezes everytime I play it. Sending it back to Gamefly. Ain't worth the frustration. Tired of getting over 200,000 studs at the end of a level only to lose it all to freezing....
Slayinfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 08:22 PM   #14
Captainwizard
 
Captainwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bath Uk
Posts: 16

Captain Wizard's Gamercard
I wouldn't blame TT fully for it. They should patch things however time restraints push them too hard. They had to push HP out according to when warner brothers wanted to publish it and they had to force pirates through the door for disneys release, and inbetween make lucas arts happy with a 3rd starwars title. Their not the ones publishing it so they aren't necessarily the ones who say when it goes gold. The QA is most likely outsourced with the publisher therefore will generally be more sloppy.

I fully agree that things should be fixed, especially when Harry Potter had some major issues, however time will tell. They have no releases scheduled at the moment so maybe it their alloted time to fix everything.

As far as the freezing goes it has happened to me a couple times on HP and Star Wars but only after a none stop 3-4 hour session. I always install my main current games and make sure I have plenty of ventilation to my machine
and have no problems even though my 360 is 4 years old.

Bugs will always over rule the positive points of a game which is a shame because this is a great title.
__________________
go go magic pants

Captainwizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2011, 08:37 PM   #15
ponypo2001
 
ponypo2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wolverhampton,UK
Posts: 2,563

ponypo2001's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Achievement Guide - Silver   1,000 Posts   NBA Live 07 - 1000 People Online...Again   Road Map - Bronze
Total Awards: 4 (more» ...)
Just had my first freeze. They are using the same engine they've used for years now and it still has this same fatal error in the code which they STILL haven't fucking sorted. So, I would blame TTG for this totally.

It's such a fundamental issue, it really should have been sorted now. This is the last LEGO game I buy new, I'll go second hand in future as I'm not prepared to keep paying new price for these games when they are so obviously broken.

Looking forward to trying to actually play the pissing game rather than worry about freezes and glitches.
__________________





ponypo2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 02:24 PM   #16
MarvinTM111
 
MarvinTM111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 13

marvintm111's Gamercard
Locked up on me 3 times, just sighed and rebooted.
MarvinTM111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 02:44 PM   #17
SneakyofSneaks
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 709

Sneakyofsneaks's Gamercard
I had 1 freeze, which was a lot less than LSW3
SneakyofSneaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 06:34 PM   #18
perryrick
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9

Headbanging Man's Gamercard
I have too

Yea it froze on me several times too.. Right in the middle of a level I was almost done with. A couple of the Lego games have had this issue.
perryrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 06:37 PM   #19
ktmare
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 58

ktmare's Gamercard
Mine froze a couple of times but then I figured out that my power pack was tucked away behind my dresser and all I did was put the fan on it so it didn't overheat. X box's arent too happy when they get hot.
ktmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 07:00 PM   #20
The Kenz
 
The Kenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: North West UK
Posts: 139

The Kenz's Gamercard
Riddled with bugs, as usual with these games. Just got to the very end of the last stage of the first movie. The villain didn't follow me like he was meant to (just a jerking camera and a yellow arrow glitching around.

I couldn't make any progress, so I had to exit...I'm in no hurry to play that stage again.
__________________
The Kenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 07:02 PM   #21
olcha
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5
so far i have not had any problems with it =S hopefully it wont start to freeze.
olcha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 12:40 PM   #22
PuritanSoul
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1

PuritanSoul's Gamercard
Yeah, I find the freezing is taking the fun out of it. I'm starting to rush levels hoping it doesn't lock up, and cost me 30 minutes to repeat the level. I had the same trouble with Harry Potter and Indy, so it's not like it's new to the game. Shame, as this LEGO addition is the best yet, in my opinion
PuritanSoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:35 AM   #23
scrin
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1

xxxSCRINxxx's Gamercard
Freezing

Hi, just had same problem, restart xbox, and continue game with NO EXTRAS enabled, apparantly its part of a no cheat system that will freeze the game if any extras are enabled in story mode, hope this helps.
oh and same applies to lego harry potter too.

the scrin
scrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 04:11 PM   #24
TroubledReaper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 274

No Pants Evan's Gamercard
Lightbulb *sigh*

Yeah my game has frozen also. However, I can say it has only happended twice...which is way less than usual for a Lego game.
TroubledReaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 11:09 AM   #25
spook8604
 
spook8604's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 14

spook8604's Gamercard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thai J View Post
I may be in trouble as well. My game freezes at aprox the same time on Movie 1, level 3. It's towards the end of the level but I've tried 4 times now. Stupid question: where do you go to intall the game to the hard drive? Believe it or not I've never done it before but I'd like to try since this would screw me out of the 100%\100G achievement.
I just learned how to install games to the hard drive. And believe me it helps stop the freezing issues.

While on the dashboard you go My Xbox instead of A to play game you use Y to view details...and it pulls up another screen which has the options to Play Game or Install game...and once you install game it will stay on the system until you delete it....but you do still need to put the disc in the drive everytime you want to play.
spook8604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 11:35 AM   #26
paraffin
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Newcastle, England, UK
Posts: 46

paraffin's Gamercard
All Lego games have frozen at some point on me but Pirates only froze once and with no great loss at this time. I have always installed my games (since the option was available) and have still had multiple freezing issues on all other Lego games. Obviously some bug in their game engine used on all games but maybe I've just been lucky with this one.
paraffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 06:16 PM   #27
bLaKgRaVy
 
bLaKgRaVy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: East Coast, USA "Requiescat in Pace"
Posts: 2,646

bLaKgRaVy's Gamercard

Awards Showcase Road Map - Platinum   Achievement Guide - Platinum   2,500 Posts   XBA Promoter   Staff Club - Minty   Brick Builders & Busters Franchise Club - Tier 2   Brick Builders & Busters Franchise Club - Tier 1   Toilet Bowl Challenge Club - Tier 1   Over Achiever - Bronze   NBA Live 07 - 1000 People Online...Again
Total Awards: 10 (more» ...)
Quote:
Originally Posted by paraffin View Post
All Lego games have frozen at some point on me but Pirates only froze once and with no great loss at this time. I have always installed my games (since the option was available) and have still had multiple freezing issues on all other Lego games. Obviously some bug in their game engine used on all games but maybe I've just been lucky with this one.
If it was a bug with the game engine, it would freeze for everyone. It has not, and never, frozen on me. No Lego game has. It has for my brother-in-law though (SW: TCS, Indy 2 and Harry Potter), and we play single player from the same copy. Hence, it's not the game engine, it's how the individual console works with the game. Each part of a console, even if 100,000 were manufactured at the same time, varies from console to console; drives spin at different speeds, processor runs hot in some and not others, etc...
bLaKgRaVy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 11:37 AM   #28
Medrus
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 37

Medrus's Gamercard
I had no problems playing on my MW2 elite xbox but on my friends Halo slim it freezes every time she plays.

Which kind of xbox do the freezes occur most on? Could it be a hardware issue?
Medrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 07:31 AM   #29
DBR2k
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
This is the first LEGO game that has crashed on me--and it crashes a lot. Makes it really un-fun to play.
DBR2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 04:27 PM   #30
c88
 
c88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 345

c88's Gamercard
Mine was locking up every 10 to 15 minutes. I installed it to my HDD and the game operates flawlessly now.
__________________
Gamerscore Milestones:
10,000 - 12/19/2007 Splinter Cell D.A., Shanghai Assignment Completed
20,000 - 1/21/2009 Rock Band 2, The San Dimas 4th Annual Award
30,000 - 4/10/2010 EA Sports FN 3, Everlast Achievement
40,000 - 9/4/2011 Madden NFL 12, Arian Foster Award

100% Games:


I know that good help is hard to find. Message me if you would like to boost on a game.
c88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:07 PM.